We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Lisetonga Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lisetonga Hostel
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We started our 3 month trip through south america in Rio and decided to stay at Lisetonga Hostel. We were a bit afraid when we read about the hostel being down a favella. In cooperation with this Hostel we booked an economic airport pick up and arrived savely. Finally I think this is one of the safest neighbourhoods you can stay in Rio. It is very close to the beach, to public transport and the hostel is situated in a really nice colonial building, cordially decorated and it offers a nice patio as well as a tower lounge equipped with two hammocks. Staff was really friendly and helpful, breakfast was what you can expect for the price and facilities were in good condition. I really can recommend you this hostel and hope you are going to have such a great time as we had!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonrisa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    92
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
67
173
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Originally, I was supposed to stay at the hostel for two weeks, but I continually extended my stay until the end of my visit to Rio de Janeiro. Staying at the hostel was one of the best decisions I have ever taken. It is my family in Rio: they made sure to help me in any and every way possible. Also, being so close to the favela allowed me to see the hidden face of Brazil. The beach is no more than five minutes from the hostel and oftentimes I would go there to read. Transport is nearby, shops, supermarkets and entertainment is often around the corner. After a while the hill becomes nothing to climb and I've even toned my legs a bit. I really recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Akilah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We booked the hostel for one night, but kept extending our stay, because of the great city and besides that because of the great hostel. We were a bit afraid when we read about the hostel being down a favella, but I think this is one of the safest neighbourhoods you can stay in Rio. We travelled through Brazil for 1,5 months and this was definitely the best hostel we stayed. It's clean, safe, people are very nice and helpfull, breakfast is ok and you're at the beach in a 5 min walk. The guy from the reception even gave us one night for free, because we stayed more than 6 nights (we didn't ask for this).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cachoeiras de Macacu, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I have been visiting Lisetonga no a regular basis over the last three months and have to say that I'm very happy with the services provided. I really like its location. Although a bit on the hill, the atmosphere of the place is very authentic and makes one feel like a part of the local community. Morover, the hostel is still very close to beach, bars and restaurants. I think the most amazing about the places is a very friendly staff that runs this place. Thanks a lot. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

we have stayed in lisetonga for one week and decided to stay more. hostel is located about 10-15 min. by walk from copacabana, situated in wonderfull colonial building. there are 2 hamakas on the top, where u can relax.it is great after busy day in rio.
staff is very nice and helpfull, breakfast is one of the best we ever had in south america.
we appreciate comfortable beds, cleaness and family atmosphere.
really recommend lisetonga !
katka and zdenko from slovakia

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Zdenko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Leme
Golden Tulip Rio Leme
Golden Tulip Rio Leme
#64 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,155 reviews
Le House Hostel
#34 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
87 reviews
Leme
Chill Hostel Rio
Chill Hostel Rio
#44 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aquarela do Leme
#18 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
49 reviews
Botafogo
BotaHostel
BotaHostel
#29 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
64 reviews
Pousada Estrelas da Babilonia
#31 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisetonga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisetonga Hostel

Property: Lisetonga Hostel
Address: Ladeira Ari Barroso 15, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-060, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 783 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price range (per night): $19 - $78
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated, chalet-style house, just three blocks from the beach. We have spacious dorms and private rooms and four beautiful social areas. Come and join us for breakfast on the terrace or chill out in a hammock in the tower lounge with a spectacular view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lisetonga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisetonga Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing