We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and chic guesthouse in Santa Teresa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros
Ranked #11 of 340 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I spent two days in Casa Amarelo and enjoyed every moment of it.

The location is fantastic - the bonde (quaint tram) stops on the street outside the guest house, as do frequent buses that will ferry you down into Lapa and Centro.

The house itself is beautiful and very tastefully restored. As well as original tiles, filttings and furniture there have been sympathetic addtiions from Robert le Heros in terms of the colours, texture and fabrics used throughout the house. There is a small pool, with a great view of the night stars.

Our room was comfortable, clean and stylish - not overly large but with a great shower anbd bath, large comfortable bed and plenty of room.

We took breakfast on both mornings. You can eat wherever you choose - in the garden, by the pool or in the house, which we did, overlooking the viaduct and the city. Breakfast is filling yet simple - rolls, coffee, cheese, cake, juice etc. The service is friendly and efficient.

I loved my time in Casa Amarelo and would definitely stay again when back in RIo. Mattieu is helpful and charming, yet discrete, and very concerned to help you make the most of your stay in this charming place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarabellestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

Again...I dont like to write these kind of reviews but sometimes you have no choice. On my recent trip to Rio I stayed at Casa Amarelo but also stayed at Mama Ruisa earlier that same week and thats why I think the say was enjoyable fro the most part.
There were lots of problems and very few good things unfortunately. First, the room was substandard for what is considered a premium trendy bed & breakfast. The bed was small...the sheets had a funny smell and there was only one side table? The room was really dark and full of mosquitoes. Only one window and we couldnt really keep it open because of the mosquitoes. There is a dengue problem in Rio. They should take care I think. The bathroom was really bad. I mean..just painted walls with mildew stains at edges. The towels were all different sizes and textures & hard..? There was no wardrobe or closet for our clothes. There was a hanger trolley which I assumed was supposed to look cool but really did not at all.
The second issue was that even though Mathieu & Luciana were really nice and tried in every possible way to be helpful that just doesnt make it a good place to stay if your not around which they werent most of the time except for the mornings or evenings. The rest of the staff there was good and really tried to do everything you required of them but its not the same.
Thirdly, you can hear everything throughout the apartment and there were lots of people talking very loudly most of the time. Its kind of annoying.
Last, there was a 10% extra charge on top of what Hotels.com price was which in my confirmation stated "was the total price"? After making the booking and being charged I received an email from casa amarelo that there is a 10% extra service tax/charge. I dont know, maybe I missed the fine print but be aware. It puts the price over what I considered the stay worth on the overall.
The good things were mostly the common areas...living room decor was lovely and again coming from the designer point of view...lovely. Very quirky and yet very french maison in feel...New Wave! The breakfast was also better than Mama Ruisa's but I couldnt enjoy it because the mosquitoes kept landing on my ankles.
In every other aspect than the staff the place was a real disappointment. I have stayed in the Standard LA & the Majestic Singapore as well as other really cool bed & breakfast/hotels around the world and paid much less than I what I did here and gotten much , much nicer accommodations. I cant understand why it has a higher rating than the other place I stayed..Mama Ruisa? The guest sign book also had glowing reviews but then again...interesting people do have a great effect on ones experience. Although its nothing personal...I did pay for that experience so it wasnt the least bit worth it in my books.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at the Casa Amarelo! Your opinions are really important for us. It represents a real reward for the team.

Our project proposes an unconventional hospitality with personalized services and a warm atmosphere. Our goal is to give our guests the feeling of "being at home" even when they are far away from home.

You have stayed in Rio during Carnival, when things can be a little more difficult and expensive. All the rooms are very diferent from each other and we are sure we could have showed you other decorations if we had availability.

Regarding questions concerning the physical structure of the house, we would like to remind that it is an old house from 1904 which became part of the historical and cultural heritage. Therefore it is sometimes difficult to do structural intervention. However many improvements have been implemented in the last years, such as: installation of air conditioning in all suites, modernization of the elevator, garden landscaping, electrical works, upgrading the pool, renovation of the kitchen and painting the facade. We also have never had any Dengue problem among the employees or the guests.

With regard to the training and composition of our team, we inform you that our service at the reception is currently trilingual, the cleaning staff and the waiters are fully trained to interact with guests, even without speaking another language than Portuguese. We also recall that our team is accessible at any time during your stay, and that our services are customized.

Regarding the charge of 10%, we inform that we now only work with tax-included prices. Much better for our guests, we undertand.

The rates we practice, take into account the variations of periods of high and low season and are suitable to the standards of the city and the neighborhood in which we operate. Rio has become na expensive city. Here are some factors that distinguish our standard of hospitality: the exclusivity of having just 6 suites in a renovated 1904 mansion, finely decorated spaces (including suites), a substantial breakfast, trained staff and personalized service.


Thank you once again.

Kind Regards,

Luciana De Lamare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This place is situated in hills of Santa Teresa, its good area, very good area, actually, but near couple of favelas that you dont wanna visit. (And positive side: nice little walk and you reach Rios great party area number one, Lapa). All taxis dont wanna come here! We were told twice that they dont wanna took us in there, dependinding reasons we did not understand. Breakfast was excellent and its beautiful place where you enjoy it! Although if you pay 330 euros for night, you would think breakfast would arrive in seconds. Not here... Sometimes it tooks half an hour to get our brekkies done or something is missing - salt, jelly, coffee milk, depending the day. Room was high with ceiling, with old school bathrooms, shower and bathtube is there too.. You dont usually get TV or hair dryer, or minibar. You get only one soap, things are limited here. But of course you have the most important - air con. If you want ironing board, it is not there. But... There was construction site going on in place next to us and they started working at 7:00 clock - in the morning, couple meters from our window. Very loud... It was not that nice to woke up with sawing noice in the morning. And it continued until 8 pm. which we felt bad, that nobody told us about, before paying over 1800 euros for 6 nights. Bed is allright, but the blanket is... too... special. Its part of the decoration that is made by famous designer (beautiful!), but it feels like plastic. Let me tell one bizzarre small thing more: the shower gives you cold or hot water, nothing between. And we had two sinks, but either did function well enough. You could not wash your teeth without causing a flood... OVERPRICED, but somehow nice bed & breakfast place. And anyway something different if you are bored with hotel living - as we are, after 2,5 months travelling,

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamiSeppala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucianadelamare, General Manager at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is always very important for us to know our guest´s opinion.

We would like to inform that we have been investing on trainning and infrastructure. Our main goal is to keep a homey environment with more comfort and service for our guests. This is also a 1904 house and we like maintaining the History of the neighborhood alive within our walls.

We try to invite our guests to take the time to relax during breakfast. We understand that sometimes our guests do not wish to have an easy morning and for this reason we offer some quick fix options.

You have stayed with us during Carnival holidays, period in Rio when the rates are indeed very high.

Some extra services such as ironing, washing machine, meals and even taxi reservations can be arranged by reception desk. We always try to minimize any extra effort from our guests by talking to them and understanding their expectations and needs. I am sure we could have helped you much more with a little more communication.

Unfortunatelly we do not have control over the construtions or the taxi drivers, but we can offer help and other large range of service no other standard hotel could do.

Thank you once again for sharing your opinion.

We hope you can check some of the improvements we are working on in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Luciana De Lamare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Maria & I were very pleased with our stay in Rio for our honeymoon, really very nice hotel to stay, good breakfasts, quiet and safe at night. Matthieu was a great host indeed, helped us every time we needed his advice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbdonMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at the Casa Amarelo! Your opinions are really important for us. It represents a real reward for the team.

Our project proposes an unconventional hospitality with personalized services and a warm atmosphere. Our goal is to give our guests the feeling of "being at home" even when they are far away from home.

We know that there is always room for improvement. As we strive for excellence, we are not content with only positive reviews. For this reason, we continually invest in upgrading our infrastructure, the training of our staff and the quality of our services.

Best Regards,

Luciana De Lamare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Casa Amarelo is a delightful and very elegantly renovated old house in one of the most interesting areas of Rio. Its magical atmosphere and the quality of the service provided contributed to the wonderful time we had while staying there. It is a very rare and special place, perfect for who is in search of a different experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirin75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#12 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
115 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#8 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
117 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#2 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
804 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
216 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#3 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Rio de Janeiro

Been to Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros

Address: Joaquim Murtinho, 569 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-320, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $115 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The French designer Robert le Heros has created a place of festivity, both poetic and colourful, thus inventing a seductive "art de vivre". Casa Amarelo is a beautiful home, refined and authentic, built in 1904 on the heights of Santa Teresa, an historic area, where artists' studios border beautiful Brazilian homes and museums. It is a magical place, a mixture of the charm of an ancient building and the modernity of contemporary fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Amarelo By Robert Le Heros Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing