We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
268
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sitting room three rooms historic house local fruit school fees personal guide bathroom toiletries local art cake beautiful orchids rio airport world heritage site wood floors coffee table books brazilian hospitality the entire staff the owner
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Absolutely lovely place. From the street, you can’t imagine and fabulous little oasis that is Casa do Simon. The house is traditional, pretty and unassuming, but inside the space feels seriously luxurious. The small pool is beautiful, surrounded by carefully maintained tropical plants, a perfect place to relax. Breakfast on the terrace is a cracking start to the day, with wonderful prepared tropical fruits and freshly baked bread and cakes. A real highlight was private boat trip to deserted beaches and turtle watching, avoiding the terrifying commercial party boats! All arranged through the wonderful Casa Colonial. I wouldn’t dream of staying anywhere else having discovered this gem!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank povcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

This is already my second visit to Casa Colonial, and yet again it confounded my expectations. It is the perfect place for a long weekend getaway from São Paulo. The historic house in the centre of Paraty is decorated with impeccable good taste, the rooms are well equipped and have incredibly comfortable beds. The place feels less like a hotel and more like the beautiful home of a friend, we felt completely at ease there.

A special mention must go to Dani and Cleber, and the other staff who are always on hand with just the right level of attention and helpfulness- we were never hassled, but never left waiting or wanting for anything. The breakfast is excellent, and sourced from local producers, served in the beautiful tropical garden, and was served for as long as we wanted.

I am looking forward to my next opportunity to visit!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank justin981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

The Casa Colonial was recommended by our friend Ceri Pritchard as a charming and sophisticated place to stay. The deceptive doorway was access to a hidden oasis. The room was very comfortable, the Manage (Joao), had great personnel skills and all his staff showed great hospitality. The wifi had good speed, the open rooms to have coffee/tea and cake were very relaxing. The breakfasts were great. We had a great stay here.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

This was our second stay at Casa do Simon (part of Casa Colonial, but a separate building) and every bit as good as our first visit 3 years ago. The building is beautifully restored (fabulous wood floors!) and tastefully furnished, with local art in every room and coffee table books to browse in the elegant sitting room. Dani, Cleber and the team provided excellent service throughout with great attention to detail. Breakfast (fresh fruit and juices, eggs, breads, home baked cake, coffee) is served in the inner courtyard with its little pool surrounded by tropical flowers and greenery, after which it is tempting just to move onto a sun lounger/ take a dip in the pool. But highlight of the visit was a boat trip round the bay with Cleber in his speedboat - finding secluded beaches, snorkelling, watching turtles, benefiting from his local knowledge, and generally managing to avoid the noisy party boats!

Room tip: Julio Paraty suite - looks over inner courtyard, bright art, extensive cupboard/hanging space, ensuite with shower and bath. Perfect!
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judynluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Casa Colonial was a perfect setting for our stay in Paraty. The house is beautiful, comfortable, spotless and well located in the heart of the historical part of the city. A delicious breakfast is beautifully served daily in the garden and a freshly backed cake awaits for you in the living room by the end of the day. Daniela manages the place very well, and has a wonderful staff always willing to attend to any guest needs. Kudos to Joao for his genuine interest in makes us happy, going above and beyond to attend to our needs and desires with a big smile in his face, We can't wait to be back as we felt at home right upon our arrival.

Room tip: Last room on the left
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LibrianaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews