We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, beautifut settling, confortable spacious chalets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mystica Eco Chales & Pousada
Ranked #29 of 294 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a lovely time here with our two children (11 and 8 years). The chalets are spacious (we were in a superior) and you feel really away from it all as they are set 6km from Paraty itself and in the stunning countyside.
Only 6 chalets on a very large area with a lovely pool and fast running river on boundary.
Breakfast was served on the balcony - no restaurant on site but great little kitchenette in chalets with all you need (except food!)
Beds and bathroom all good too.
No wifi or cellular here - so a real retreat.
Drive to paraty in 15mins (easy to park in the town), nice restaurants 5 mins along the road.
Finding it is tricky first time. When you reach roundabout on the main RIO to SANTOS road - paraty is towards the coast and the pousada is inland - so head for CUNHA. Takes about 15 mins - over a little bridge and up the hill past Shamalyan restaurant (nice food and outdoor seating area).
Take horses to the water falls and day trip on a boat.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior chalet near to the river - stunning - called FOGO I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 67sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

The separate chalets are clean and in a beautiful natural setting with beautiful birds and flowers. The breakfast is delivered to the chalet and is large (cheese, ham, bread, cake, juice, coffee). Our house had a fridge, which you need because you are a car ride away from everything. You need to bring drinking water and anything you will want to snack on (no drinking water or snacks available). You also need to bring your own shampoo. If your intention is to visit Paraty, know that this is 6.5 kilometers outside of the historic center. There is a hammock to lounge in. Bring a book or games or topics of conversation, as there is no TV or WIFI or, in our case, not even phone reception. We liked it but probably will stay in the historic district if we return.

Room Tip: The beds are super but you may want to bring your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissAnnieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This place is a true gem. We only stayed for a couple of days here in September but wished we could have stayed longer. The property is very large, next to a river and lush of vegetation and bird life. The property itself is behind a gate, which may add an extra feeling of safety. Throughout the property, six chalets are situated, three small and three larger cottages.

We had one of the smaller chalets, the 'agua chalet'. This chalet is located in the farthest corner of the property and is very private and perfectly situated if you like complete tranquility. The only thing you will hear out here are the river and the birds chirping. The chalet itself is very complete and clean, it has a fireplace, kitchen, large refrigerator, modern bathroom and porch with hammock.

The property also features a swimming pool which is well kept and a path to the river that was well maintained. Overall. the whole terrain is very well maintained and looks more like a botanical garden. We even saw monkeys and monitors roaming the terrain. Breakfast is delicious and plentiful and served at your cottage every day. Owners are very friendly and helpful and speak English well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The ´agua chalet´ is in the farthest corner of the property. If you want full privacy and are with m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JefTerpstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We went to Brazil for a holiday in July this year and to visit our son who lives there. My son had previously stayed at the Mystica and we had seen photographs he had taken which were beautiful and he promised to take us there when we visited. We were not disappointed when we arrived at Mystica to stay for three nights. It was a tropical paradise and the grounds were beautifully kept. Our chalet had all the facilities for self catering if needed and very spacious with lots of light from the windows giving great views of our surroundings. Our chalet was cleaned everyday and there was plenty of hot water to shower too by means of a gas boiler. Sensor lights lit up your pathway at night when you arrived home in the dark which was very useful. The Mystica is a little way out of the town of Paraty but a short journey by car and a lovely haven to come back to afterwards. The fresh breakfast delivered to your chalet each morning was delicious with fresh bread, cake, yogurts, cheeses, ham coffee etc. Our bed was a little on the hard side compared to our son's chalet and had we been staying longer we may have brought it to the attention of the owner Marcelo but it was not a problem for the three nights we stayed. If I could make one recommendation, it would be to provide a mosquito net over the bed which I find very comforting as a visitor to Brazil and a victim of bites generally. Overall a wonderful memory of our trip to Brazil and Paraty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lind45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Mystica and we had a similar experience as our first trip, it was fantastic! We really love the place and the surrounding environment. Marcelo and his wife are such amazing people and they always make you feel welcome. We are already planning another visit, we really love this place that much!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TimDJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
7.3 km away
Pousada da Condessa
Pousada da Condessa
#6 of 28 in Paraty
362 reviews
6.1 km away
Pousada Aguas de Paratii
10.7 km away
Santa Clara Hotel
Santa Clara Hotel
#24 of 28 in Paraty
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Recanto da Praia
Recanto da Praia
#8 of 28 in Paraty
208 reviews
7.6 km away
Pousada do Sandi
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
558 reviews
7.7 km away
Hotel Boutique Carpe Diem
Hotel Boutique Carpe Diem
#12 of 294 in Paraty
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystica Eco Chales & Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystica Eco Chales & Pousada

Address: Estrada Paraty-Cunha km 6.5, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 294 Speciality Lodging in Paraty
Price Range: $107 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mystica Eco Chales & Pousada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Serra da Bocaina forest with 30,000 m2 of tropical gardens between the Atlantic forest and the river with its falls. You can bathe in natural pools, enjoy an ecological whirlpool and take in the most beautiful sights of nature! Six romantic chalets, cozy and totally independent, offer privacy, comfort and charming views in the middle of the exuberant Atlantic Forest. Complete with kitchen, fridge, stove, flatware & dining table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mystica Eco Chales & Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystica Eco Chales & Pousada Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing