We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unforgettable -”
other travellers have booked this property
Main Deck and View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Deck and View
Hammock on Main Deck Sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Main Deck and View
Hammock on Main Deck
Sunset
Casa Tartaruga
Main House Entrance
Sunset
Main House deck
Sheltered beach by dock
View from private dock
Main House Living Room
Main House Living room
Main House - View from Living Room
Main House Master Bedroom
Main House - Living Room
Main House - View from Master Bedroom
Main House Bathroom
Inside Dining Area
Dining under the trees
View from deck
View from the sea
Stone House - Blue Bedroom
Stone House - Turquoise Bedroom
Stone House
Stone House
Fisherman's House Living Room
Fisherman\'s House Bedroom
Local restaurant
Nearby Beach
View from decks
View from deck
View from deck
Sunset from the dock
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
Paraty
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Silvia M
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Unforgettable -”
Reviewed 19 March 2013 for a stay in December 2012

The house is awesome, the support staff are extremely helpful and friendly, and the overall experience is unforgettable. The view from the Master bedroom and the veranda are out of a movie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and amenities
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2013
So pleased you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for the enthusiastic review. Hope you will be able to return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedScot10...
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We got away from it all!!!!!”
Reviewed 18 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We had a good idea about how Casa Tartaruga might be but, on arrival, it far exceeded our expectations. We were late on our arrival, no thanks to Air France, but the house manager, Yara, waited patiently for us telling us not to worry all would be fine. The beautiful house set in the jungle with a stunning sea view immediately grabbed us and made us feel completely at home. Indeed, so well equipped and furnished was the house, after 24 hours we felt as if we had been there a week. Yara was terrific. Always on hand should we need anything. We spent most, if not all of our time, on the huge deck overlooking the sea surrounded by the sounds of the cicadas and every other jungle sound one could imagine. Such a great space for being with friends, chatting, eating, drinking and relaxing. It took us a million miles away from London! Much needed! The fact that the property is spread out over three buildings meant that no-one in our party (including two friends from Rio) felt in any way claustrophobic. The space meant that people could do 'their own thing' without worrying too much about others. Everything was spotless and to a very high standard. Beds were comfortable with quality linen. The kitchen was fully equipped and of a size to allow us all to chip-in with the food prep.

It really felt like a home from home, but in the jungle! It was one of the most beautiful, relaxing places we've ever stayed in. We'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the house
Liked least: Cost of additional boat transfers seemed a little on the high side
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Reviewed 9 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 3 November 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lori218
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 23 January 2012 for a stay in November 2011

My friend and I had the privilege of staying at this fabulous property in November 2011.

The booking was done very easily and all communication was dealt with by the owners Sue and Wendy quickly and efficiently.

The house is well appointed with all the rooms being furnished to a very high standard, the property benefits from a fully equipped modern kitchen and all rooms are bright and airy, we especially liked the way the owners had used local art work in their choice of decoration.

Leading from the lounge and bedroom there is a beautiful deck area where we enjoyed our breakfast each morning while taking in the amazing view of the bay. There is a small beach right by the house where you can swim but if you feel a little more energetic there are some very good local walks you can do to reach more beaches. The locals are very friendly and will give you directions should you need them, we found a perfect little beach where we enjoyed an amazing lunch in one of the restaurants.

Paraty is a short boat trip away from the house, Yara the friendly and helpful house manager is always on hand to arrange transfer by boat to the town, where you can enjoy all the many shops and restaurants.

We had a wonderful stay in a very special location the property was amazing we could not have asked for more, we would love to go back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the privacy
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 406
/ Night
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing