We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
552
159
11
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
159
11
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful find! The location was breathtaking, whereby they served amazing morning breakfast along the veranda overlooking the river. The rooms are charming, clean and very comfortable. We sensed the owners love what they do as all the little details made our stay most delightful. We hope to return.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kubaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2016

Dear Jason,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us here at Caminho do Ouro and we're very happy that you enjoyed you short visit to Paraty. We look forward to seeing you again maybe in the future.

Our very best regards,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

If you're looking for a nice and pleasant stay in Paraty, the Pousada Caminho de Ouro offers exactly what you need. Clean and cozy room, amazing breakfast, and a very gentle staff. It's not in a posh area of Paraty, so if location is a "must" for you, please choose another b&b in the city center. This one is located about 2km from Paraty, but we didn't bother to take our car to go to the city to have dinner or to walk in the end of the afternoon.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank cjgmoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2015
Google Translation

Prezado Carlos,

Muito obrigada por dividir sua experiência com outros usuários do TripAdvisor. Ficamos felizes que tenham apreciado sua estada com a gente, mesmo que não estivéssemos presentes naqueles dois dias de maio. Bom saber que a equipe deu conta do recado e pode fazer as honras da casa. Tomara possam voltar novamente um dia!

Aproveitamos para informar que o banheiro do apt 2 (Suíte Cannes), passou por um reforma completa e agora está bem mais bonito e agradável. Tem luz natural (teto com telhas transparentes), paredes claras, pia em mármore, ducha higiênica e box blindex. Antes havia um problema de cheiro, proveniente da madeira da pia e do teto, que acabou completamente.
Inclusive todo o quarto tem ambiente mais leve, ar mais puro.

Enfim, venham conferir as mudanças que fizemos pra você! Será um prazer tê-los novamente!

Au revoir!

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Exceptionally well maintained posada perched on the side of a beautiful riverside.
We arrived just before dinner and what a surprise we discovered. The French chef/owner creates a world class dining experience. It is no surprise the restaurant has
Been cited previously for the great meals he prepares. Additionally, the breakfast was a meal for immense as well as very tasty. The owners are exceptionally nice and eager to please. We were in room 3 and it met our expectations and was a very affordable price.
We went for a hike and discovered many interesting places nearby for dining or sleeping.

Room Tip: Rooms near the river are quieter
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marc122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Dear Marc,

Thank you for your visit and greetings. We do everything to please our guests, so we are very happy when they feel satisfeids. When we return to Paraty, come to visit us again. It will be a pleasure to see you!

Au revoir!

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Certainly the greatest discovery of our trip to Brazil. My friends and I booked 3 rooms right after Christmas and wanted a change from the classic near beach accomodations to something a bit more special or exclusive. We opted for Caminho do Ouro as it seemed more in touch with the local culture and located just outside central Paraty which tends to be too much of tourist hotspot and tends to be noisy at times. We definitely did not regret our decision! It was the best of both worlds and at the fairest budget in town, we spent our day in cultural visits and were a quick 5min taxi ride away from our Pousada which was simply a little paradise. Located on a steep descent and bordering a fresh river water source, the Pousada is the beautiful result of the collaboration between Christophe and Adriana who have truly created a little gem. The decor and architecture is very tasteful and you can really feel visually and by speaking with our hosts that this little paradise was built with love and passion and certainly a lot of hard work! The breakfast served every morning is certainly the most delicious weve had. A true experience in itself. We also dined once at the Pousada's award wining restaurant, Voila Bistrot, Christophe amazed us with his cooking skills and we can clearly see why his restaurant is definitely in the top 3 in all of paraty. I would definitely recommend it to all travellers without a single shed of doubt whether it be to spend the night or to enjoy a meal and simply to meet Chirstophe and Adriana who are simply wonderful human beings and make you feel truly at home. Thankyou once again for your hospitality, we look forward to visiting you again!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ismail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Dear Smail,

What a delightful words to read! We do thank you for the friendly visit that you and friends made us in last December. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality. We know you are on the other side of the Atlantic, but if one day you come back to Brazil, think of to visit us again. It will certainly be a great meeting!

Best regards,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We choose this B&B because of the great tripadvisor ratings. Maybe that's why we were a little disappointed.

Positive points
The accommodation was nice, if a little basic. The breakfast area was on a wooden deck above the secluded leafy edge of a river and the breakfast was good and very satisfying. The restaurant (usually weekends only) is highly rated and we enjoyed our meal on the first evening.

Service
We were warmly received upon arrival.
Breakfast is 8.30-10.00am. I like a coffee when I wake up and they prepared a thermos to be left in our room each evening.
There is no cellphone signal, but they were happy to give us full access to the hotel phone in case of emergencies at home.
Some clothes that I had hand-washed and left to dry in our room were taken, cleaned and returned without us needing to ask.
The toilet wasn't flushing correctly when we arrived. It was fixed within two hours. You may consider that a positive or a negative point.
There was wifi in our room, but not in the communal/breakfast area. The router was broken and was fixed the day we checked out. It represented a minor inconvenience.

Negative points
The B&B is 4 miles from the town centre. I was very happy with the distance, until I arrived and found that the immediate neighbourhood of the B&B offers nothing of interest. It's old, untidy, dusty, full of half-built houses, and the only access road is full of potholes. I would not recommend the area.
But our biggest disappointment is that we were basically left to fend for ourselves during two of the three days of our stay. The owners had business away from the hotel and left us in the hands of a friend of the family and a young niece. Result : on the first day of our visit, when we would have really benefited from some tips about activities, we were on our own. OK, maybe a good guidebook would have solved everything (!), but somehow, in a small hotel or B&B, I would expect a little more personal attention.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Dear Nigel,

Thanks for your comments, even though not all of them are as good as we would appreciate hearing or that we do not fully agree with your views. In fact, we regret that you did not understand our proposal and have been led to believe that you would find here some kind of therapy (applied by the owners), beyond the areas available for relaxation, which unfortunately you had not enjoyed and had preferred to stay in your room, practically almost throughout your stay. Your check-in had lasted 1: 30h, well short of the usual 15 minutes with other guests and you told me just before your check-out (sweaty and panting, while squeezing a wet shirt after your race morning) not was able to retain 1% about the tips and information that I kindly had passed for the couple, even ignoring that we would not be present in the next day for medical reasons (and not by outside businesses, we definitely do not have). I honestly believe that your ability to assimilate was bigger, so I'm sorry.

Best,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews