We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
554
159
11
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
159
11
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Certainly the greatest discovery of our trip to Brazil. My friends and I booked 3 rooms right after Christmas and wanted a change from the classic near beach accomodations to something a bit more special or exclusive. We opted for Caminho do Ouro as it seemed more in touch with the local culture and located just outside central Paraty which tends to be too much of tourist hotspot and tends to be noisy at times. We definitely did not regret our decision! It was the best of both worlds and at the fairest budget in town, we spent our day in cultural visits and were a quick 5min taxi ride away from our Pousada which was simply a little paradise. Located on a steep descent and bordering a fresh river water source, the Pousada is the beautiful result of the collaboration between Christophe and Adriana who have truly created a little gem. The decor and architecture is very tasteful and you can really feel visually and by speaking with our hosts that this little paradise was built with love and passion and certainly a lot of hard work! The breakfast served every morning is certainly the most delicious weve had. A true experience in itself. We also dined once at the Pousada's award wining restaurant, Voila Bistrot, Christophe amazed us with his cooking skills and we can clearly see why his restaurant is definitely in the top 3 in all of paraty. I would definitely recommend it to all travellers without a single shed of doubt whether it be to spend the night or to enjoy a meal and simply to meet Chirstophe and Adriana who are simply wonderful human beings and make you feel truly at home. Thankyou once again for your hospitality, we look forward to visiting you again!

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ismail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Dear Smail,

What a delightful words to read! We do thank you for the friendly visit that you and friends made us in last December. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality. We know you are on the other side of the Atlantic, but if one day you come back to Brazil, think of to visit us again. It will certainly be a great meeting!

Best regards,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We choose this B&B because of the great tripadvisor ratings. Maybe that's why we were a little disappointed.

Positive points
The accommodation was nice, if a little basic. The breakfast area was on a wooden deck above the secluded leafy edge of a river and the breakfast was good and very satisfying. The restaurant (usually weekends only) is highly rated and we enjoyed our meal on the first evening.

Service
We were warmly received upon arrival.
Breakfast is 8.30-10.00am. I like a coffee when I wake up and they prepared a thermos to be left in our room each evening.
There is no cellphone signal, but they were happy to give us full access to the hotel phone in case of emergencies at home.
Some clothes that I had hand-washed and left to dry in our room were taken, cleaned and returned without us needing to ask.
The toilet wasn't flushing correctly when we arrived. It was fixed within two hours. You may consider that a positive or a negative point.
There was wifi in our room, but not in the communal/breakfast area. The router was broken and was fixed the day we checked out. It represented a minor inconvenience.

Negative points
The B&B is 4 miles from the town centre. I was very happy with the distance, until I arrived and found that the immediate neighbourhood of the B&B offers nothing of interest. It's old, untidy, dusty, full of half-built houses, and the only access road is full of potholes. I would not recommend the area.
But our biggest disappointment is that we were basically left to fend for ourselves during two of the three days of our stay. The owners had business away from the hotel and left us in the hands of a friend of the family and a young niece. Result : on the first day of our visit, when we would have really benefited from some tips about activities, we were on our own. OK, maybe a good guidebook would have solved everything (!), but somehow, in a small hotel or B&B, I would expect a little more personal attention.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Dear Nigel,

Thanks for your comments, even though not all of them are as good as we would appreciate hearing or that we do not fully agree with your views. In fact, we regret that you did not understand our proposal and have been led to believe that you would find here some kind of therapy (applied by the owners), beyond the areas available for relaxation, which unfortunately you had not enjoyed and had preferred to stay in your room, practically almost throughout your stay. Your check-in had lasted 1: 30h, well short of the usual 15 minutes with other guests and you told me just before your check-out (sweaty and panting, while squeezing a wet shirt after your race morning) not was able to retain 1% about the tips and information that I kindly had passed for the couple, even ignoring that we would not be present in the next day for medical reasons (and not by outside businesses, we definitely do not have). I honestly believe that your ability to assimilate was bigger, so I'm sorry.

Best,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

It was a magical weekend. Calm and comfortable place. The French restaurant is magnificent. Highlight for the excellent care given by the owners. Recommend for couples seeking tranquility and good food.

Room tip: all rooms are comfortable and calm.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EDUARDO V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Eduardo,

Thanking you so much for your wonderful review. It was a great pleasure having you stay with us and we're so pleased you enjoyed Pousada Caminho do Ouro. We hope see you again soon.

Our best wishes,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My experience:

A quiet and charming place. The water river sound embrace your sleep. The warm and simpatetic welcome of the owners was completed by the delicious meal offered by the Cheff of the Le Bistrô.

Voilà.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juarez F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014
Google Translation

Prezado Juarez,

Obrigada por sua visita e, também, por esta gentil avaliação. Foi um prazer ter recebido vocês em nossa casa, que, apesar de não ser perfeita, tem atenção de sobra em alguns detalhes, um deles é o próprio atendimento, reconhecido aqui pelo senhor.

No entanto, ficamos em dúvida se o preenchimento das bolinhas foi feito corretamente. Para o TripAdvisor, sua classificação 'razoável' (3 bolinhas) quer dizer lugar NÃO RECOMENDADO. Esperamos que tenha sido um erro e não seja o caso. Se sim, se apreciou nossa casa como parece em seus comentários e não deseje que sejamos rebaixados, pedimos gentilmente que retifique suas notas.

Saudações,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I went there last weekend with my husband, and everything was perfect. Marvelous place, perfect food, and best treatment by owners. And Paraty is very close, and very easy to leave your car in a parking area, so you can stay there, and enjoy your stay, and will not be a problem to go to downtown.
The restaurant was amazing.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Giovana2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Giovana,

It was very nice meeting you at last week-end. Thanks for you visit and also for this kind review. We hope to have another chance to welcome you into our home one day. It will be a pleasure!

Kind regards,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews