We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful walking trail and pool area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful walking trail and pool area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The hotel is on a large property with a nice large pool and a very excellent ecological trail, which we spent about 45 minutes walking both nights we stayed there. We did not have children with us, but it did look like an ideal place for families, with many things for children to do. The interior hallways had a tropical feel to them. Our room however faced another building and could best be described as average. The food was above average in the buffet and there was a large selection. The breakfast room had a large selection and offered individually cooked eggs and omelets. The restaurant is not open every night and the staff was not sure if was open the night we wanted to go there, it was however and did happen to open that particular night and the food was good. We did have one incident when a group was going up in the small elevator and the lights when off when the door closed, the elevator did still get us to our rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool. It ;can be noisy, but our room just overlooked another buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    655
    144
    30
    8
See reviews for
1,129
211
31
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The resort is rather large with very nice lobby. Ther are 3 dining rooms. Bedooms were comfortable. We enjoyed the garden walks especially seeing the huge vegetable garden and Bird Aviarywhich included Macaws, Toucans, Parrots, etc. The pool is beautiful with large area for lounging. There is a childrens pool and play area. This is definitely a resort geared to families so don't expect quietness. We had to change rooms on arrival even though it was quite a large room. The loud noise from the musicians in one of the bar areas near the lobby was so loud that it was very disturbing and it was to last until 11pm. The hotel did change the room for us.

The breakfast buffets offerred a large variety. No need to go away hungry.
There was a nominal fee for internet use. No tea making facilities in room.
In the afternoon they put out juice drinks in the lobby to refresh you from an active day.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter. Rooms around pool have large balconies. Ask for a lockbox ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzyheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
168 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed here for a two nights whilst visiting the Brazilian side of the Iguassu Falls. This is an old hotel and whilst the rooms are comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly, there were a couple of issues that certainly irritated. Firstly (and this really drove us crazy) is that if your room faces the pool area, you will be disturbed the whole day by very loud awful piped music played over a really bad fuzzy speaker. Complaining fell on deaf ears, no pun intended! Secondly, only side plates are used to serve breakfast, a really bizarre practice, which means you first eat your egg, then you go and get some sausages, and then a third time for the tomatoes etc etc. Thirdly, the hotel does not change money but has a travel agent on site that does, but they only work office hours. Fourthly, when in desperation for some peace and quiet you retire to the indoor heated spa pool, you find that it is not supervised at all. There were a bunch of badly behaved kids jumping, splashing and screaming. Needless to say our visit to this pool lasted 5 minutes. Finally, there was only one restaurant open for dinner on a Monday night but it would only accept smartly dressed people . (Sorry, we left our office clothes back home and only had jeans and shorts.) We did not eat that night. Our recommendation would be to stay on the Argentinian side of the falls and do a day visit to Brazil to see their view of the falls and visit the Parc des Aves. Would really not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet, do not get a pool facing room. They play awful piped music from a real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LinSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

I was astonished by the great service provided here. Our 2 1/2 year old fell terribly sick, with a 102 degree temperature. We were naturally worried. The hotel staff called a pediatrician, and stayed by our side translating back and forth between us and the local pediatrician. They also then facilitated getting the medication necessary for our toddler. They went over and beyond what a normal hotel staff does. In addition, the night before this, our baggage was lost from Rio to Iguacu. The staff was relentless in calling TAM airlines, and making sure our baggage arrived that day at our doorstep. Simply amazing service.

Service aside, the hotel is about 22km away from the falls. There's a bus stop right across the hotel, which charges only a simple R4 each way, and comes every 20 minutes or so. Probably the most convenient way to get to the falls.

Also, I'd recommend going for the breakfast and dinner option. There's nothing in town. Absolutely nothing...the hotel food is far better than what you'll find in town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbutala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed here for one night. It is average at best for the price. The rooms need to be updated, as well as the bathrooms. They are clean though. On the night we stayed, one of the restaurants was closed so the only option we had was a buffet that 56 reais a person, and it didn't look very good. The front desk staff didn't seem to know much about the restaurants in the area, there wasn't really a concierge or anything. I didn't have any problems with service or anything with the hotel but I just think for how much we paid it was not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Bogari Hotel
Bogari Hotel
#3 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort

Property: Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort
Address: Rod. das Cataratas, Km 2,5 | Vila Carimã, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#2 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#3 Green Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#3 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price range (per night): $174 - $467
Hotel Class:4 star — Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourbon Cataratas Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Bourbon Cataratas Convention Hotel
Hotel Bourbon Cataratas Convention
Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - PR

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing