We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro(Foz do Iguacu)
USD 45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 56/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wish Foz do Iguacu(Foz do Iguacu)
USD 141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Del Rey Hotel(Foz do Iguacu)(Great Value!)
USD 106
USD 56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colonial Iguacu(Foz do Iguacu)
USD 43
USD 37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 169
USD 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Canzi Cataratas Hotel(Foz do Iguacu)
USD 47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,458)
Filter reviews
4,458 results
Traveller rating
3,781
519
103
34
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,781
519
103
34
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinside the national parkpark opensfull moonorient expressfalls viewitaipu restaurantipe grillworth every pennyfabulous hotelgarden wingexclusive accessunique locationa la carte restaurantplace to staycolonial styleonce in a lifetimeiguassu falls
Filter
Updating list...
2,685 - 2,690 of 4,458 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Our two days in Das Cararatas in Iguacu Falls were very good. The guide/driver, Felix, was friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and humorous, whilst managing to avoid being intrusive - impressive skills.
The hotel itself is airy, spacious and well-maintained. It is a five star hotel in terms of service, staff and facilities. Our room was small, and the lack of a bath surprising for a hotel of this standard. Water pressure in the shower was poor. The room cleanliness and maintenance was faultless and the room was quiet and had a very comfortable bed. Only one restaurant was open, the poolside restaurant; breakfast was fine, dinner very disappointing. The standard of the food was not five star at all, but the prices were. The bar and bar staff were great.
The grounds and pool area were immaculate and attractive. Being in the park is a major advantage - the ability to see the falls very early in the morning or late at night is a benefit not to be underestimated. The guided day excursion to the Argentinian side was very good - whilst the views from the Brazilian side are superb, there is more to see and do on the Argentinian side. The walks from Das Cataratas are beautiful, but a half day is sufficient for this. On the Argentinian side, you could easily spend two days to make sure you saw and did everything.
It is important to get to the Argentinian side early, before the crowds arrive and our guide knew all the best places to go whilst they were still relatively empty. A boat trip under (yes, under!) the falls is a must - but, you cannot buy raincoats at the piers, so for goodness sake get them at the entrance to the park - or you WILL be absolutely soaked to the skin, as we were! Great fun though!
All in all a super place. Fantastic scenery, wildlife and flora on both sides, a real paradise; only downer is the poor hotel food given the hotel standing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StigB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

My husband and I just got back from Brasil and Iguassu Falls was one of the highlights of our trip and staying at this hotel made the falls really enjoyable. Being able to wake up early and visit the falls before the park opens and the loads of tourist buses arrive make this hotel a must stay while visiting. It is quite expensive but when you consider the location and the great service you get I think it is money well spent.
The hotel was very clean, the staff was friendly and very accomodating if we needed something, the food was all really good and the pool is great if you just feel like relaxing for an afternoon. Overall a fabulous hotel to stay at and visit Iguassu Falls!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxyroxy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Amazing location right next to the falls. Just incredible really.

The building has a great old colonial feel we loved.

The food was spectacular. A fantastic buffet for breakfast and the Brazilian BBQ in the evening was probably the best we had in Brazil. Great salads, pasta and dessert too.

It is an expensive place to stay (especially as there are no options for eating out of the hotel really) but given it only takes 2-3 nights to see the area well and have a great time, this is probably the best place to be spending the 'splurge' dollars. A hotel in town just couldn't compare and it's a fair trek in and out of the park each day!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveryOtherNameTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We originally wanted to stay at the Sheraton on the Argentinian side, but unfortunately it was booked out. We decided to spend the day on the Argentinian side anyway and went to the Sheraton for lunch, which was lovely. The views of the falls from the lobby, restaurant and bar were spectacular and the buffet lunch was extremely good (approx. USD32 per person without drinks). We then got a transfer over to the Hotel das Cataratas and were pleasantly surprised on our arrival. The decor of the hotel was colonial and very nice and the room and bathroom (although small) were very pleasant. We also enjoyed a few very tasty caiparinhas in the bar. BUT the hotel is very quiet - hardly any atmosphere - there are no direct views of the falls (although if you walk out of the hotel and across the road the view of the falls is spectacular) and worst of all the food is TERRIBLE. We paid approx. USD 60 per person without drinks for the buffet and the salads were bland, the prawns and beef were overcooked, the chicken was undercooked and the deserts were simply disgusting. This completely ruined our stay, especially as we were trapped in the hotel and had no alternative food option. When we complained to the hotel we were told that we were the only people ever to have complained about their food and there was nothing they could do.. We see from having read a few reviews on this website that this is not true.

If we return to the falls we will definitely be staying at the Sheraton. It may be an ugly building from the outside, but the inside is pefectly pleasant, the food is excellent, the views from the hotel and the pool are amazing and the price of the rooms and the food is far cheaper than at the Hotel das Cataratas.

The Orient Express brand should be ashamed.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
7  Thank MICA22London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We have chosen this hotel with our high expectation given great comments and hefty price. Yet we are pleased with everything there especially the unmatched service and location. We walked to the falls to see the sunrise without any people and that alone is worth the price. Since I have to work during the night the wifi didn't work properly and when we calked the desk they sent someone right away to fix it. Impressive! Breakfast is also good but still less than expectation for me. For the room it is very clean and majestically decorated in colonial style which I personally really love it. Also one good thing to stay here is that you get a free entrance into the park and no transportation is needed. My estimate indicates that these alone will save you us$40 to 50 per person.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suwatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews