We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to end our perfect honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here for the last 2 days of our 2 week honeymoon to Brazil after being told it was the best place to stay when visiting the falls and boy were they right! I had been tempted to book the sheraton as it had great reviews and was a bit cheaper but having seen it in person Im so glad we didnt, it looks like a 1970s prison whereas this place is a colonial palace!
There is nothing negative I can say at all, the hotel is beautiful and immaculately kept. The staff are wonderfully helpful and knowledgeable and the service is second to none.
As it was our honeymoon we were given a free upgrade to a Superior room which was gorgeous and very spacious, the bathroom was gorgeous!
Luxury toiletries, free pair of havianas flip flops each, chocolates & bottles of water daily and lots of lovely wee nibbles and drinks brought to us by the pool.
The bar was lovely in the evening and although the drinks are not cheap, youre in a 5 star hotel and you pay for quality! The pianist was fantastic, real old school elegance.
You can tell this is an Orient Express hotel as it feels like what I imagine the train is like, classic, beautiful and all about the quality.
If anyone would like to know anything else please dont hesitate to drop me a message, I could wax lyrical for ages! I will try to post photos soon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,916)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,361 - 2,365 of 3,916 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

Our two days in Das Cararatas in Iguacu Falls were very good. The guide/driver, Felix, was friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and humorous, whilst managing to avoid being intrusive - impressive skills.
The hotel itself is airy, spacious and well-maintained. It is a five star hotel in terms of service, staff and facilities. Our room was small, and the lack of a bath surprising for a hotel of this standard. Water pressure in the shower was poor. The room cleanliness and maintenance was faultless and the room was quiet and had a very comfortable bed. Only one restaurant was open, the poolside restaurant; breakfast was fine, dinner very disappointing. The standard of the food was not five star at all, but the prices were. The bar and bar staff were great.
The grounds and pool area were immaculate and attractive. Being in the park is a major advantage - the ability to see the falls very early in the morning or late at night is a benefit not to be underestimated. The guided day excursion to the Argentinian side was very good - whilst the views from the Brazilian side are superb, there is more to see and do on the Argentinian side. The walks from Das Cataratas are beautiful, but a half day is sufficient for this. On the Argentinian side, you could easily spend two days to make sure you saw and did everything.
It is important to get to the Argentinian side early, before the crowds arrive and our guide knew all the best places to go whilst they were still relatively empty. A boat trip under (yes, under!) the falls is a must - but, you cannot buy raincoats at the piers, so for goodness sake get them at the entrance to the park - or you WILL be absolutely soaked to the skin, as we were! Great fun though!
All in all a super place. Fantastic scenery, wildlife and flora on both sides, a real paradise; only downer is the poor hotel food given the hotel standing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StigB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

My husband and I just got back from Brasil and Iguassu Falls was one of the highlights of our trip and staying at this hotel made the falls really enjoyable. Being able to wake up early and visit the falls before the park opens and the loads of tourist buses arrive make this hotel a must stay while visiting. It is quite expensive but when you consider the location and the great service you get I think it is money well spent.
The hotel was very clean, the staff was friendly and very accomodating if we needed something, the food was all really good and the pool is great if you just feel like relaxing for an afternoon. Overall a fabulous hotel to stay at and visit Iguassu Falls!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxyroxy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Amazing location right next to the falls. Just incredible really.

The building has a great old colonial feel we loved.

The food was spectacular. A fantastic buffet for breakfast and the Brazilian BBQ in the evening was probably the best we had in Brazil. Great salads, pasta and dessert too.

It is an expensive place to stay (especially as there are no options for eating out of the hotel really) but given it only takes 2-3 nights to see the area well and have a great time, this is probably the best place to be spending the 'splurge' dollars. A hotel in town just couldn't compare and it's a fair trek in and out of the park each day!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveryOtherNameTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We originally wanted to stay at the Sheraton on the Argentinian side, but unfortunately it was booked out. We decided to spend the day on the Argentinian side anyway and went to the Sheraton for lunch, which was lovely. The views of the falls from the lobby, restaurant and bar were spectacular and the buffet lunch was extremely good (approx. USD32 per person without drinks). We then got a transfer over to the Hotel das Cataratas and were pleasantly surprised on our arrival. The decor of the hotel was colonial and very nice and the room and bathroom (although small) were very pleasant. We also enjoyed a few very tasty caiparinhas in the bar. BUT the hotel is very quiet - hardly any atmosphere - there are no direct views of the falls (although if you walk out of the hotel and across the road the view of the falls is spectacular) and worst of all the food is TERRIBLE. We paid approx. USD 60 per person without drinks for the buffet and the salads were bland, the prawns and beef were overcooked, the chicken was undercooked and the deserts were simply disgusting. This completely ruined our stay, especially as we were trapped in the hotel and had no alternative food option. When we complained to the hotel we were told that we were the only people ever to have complained about their food and there was nothing they could do.. We see from having read a few reviews on this website that this is not true.

If we return to the falls we will definitely be staying at the Sheraton. It may be an ugly building from the outside, but the inside is pefectly pleasant, the food is excellent, the views from the hotel and the pool are amazing and the price of the rooms and the food is far cheaper than at the Hotel das Cataratas.

The Orient Express brand should be ashamed.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
7  Thank MICA22London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,628 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,355 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#42 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $464 - $786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - PR

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing