We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy water falls without other tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2015

The location is perfect. Although at several rooms you can see some falls from room window, the falls are far back, however, so I don’t think the fall view from hotel room can be big advantage. However, when you walk through trails just in front of hotel, outside of park’s opening time, you can enjoy Brazilian side of Iguazu falls, quietly without interruption from other tourists, and it is the most important advantage of this hotel. Room furniture was a little aged, but actually we liked a little old style of furniture. Room cleaning was done TWICE a day. During our two nights stay at this hotel on late August 2015 (several days earlier), the most important FLAWs that I felt, was the food quality. Simply speaking, I was better served from other hotels on this summer. Fruits and Jamón were a little worse than other hotels I stayed (It is not bad, and I am just saying that I was better served at other hotels). But what makes me furious, was the quality of bread, especially croissant, particularly, served at second morning breakfast. Inside of the croissant, there were full, hard lumps of not fully baked bread (I am sorry that I cannot express my experience properly since I am not a native speaker). At first night buffet dinner, the grilled meats were too cooked, and were not juicy. The quality of white rice was also poor. I feel that the quality of food should be improved for this level of luxury hotel. If you booked a room from trip advisor related site, like the way that I did, you may get a small room a little far from reception. I was introduced a better room AT ADDITIONAL 100 USD when I checked in. I have to say that it was not good that “originally assigned room was one of the farthest, and you were recommended a better room at additional more than 100 USD (including tax) during check in”. Although, the hotel provides complimentary WIFI, the internet speed was very slow (generally speaking, below 100 kilo bit per second), even high speed service with additional cost was generally the same speed compared with complimentary WIFI (I complained about this, and they refund the additional cost though). And you should reconnect WIFI every day. Hotel personnel was very kind and tried to help. Hotel provided shuttle bus service to park entrance every 30 minutes. But at the second night, we waited for the shuttle bus more than 40 minutes (We arrived at park entrance around 7:40 PM, a hotel personnel said bus would take us hotel at around 8:00 PM, but bus arrived at 8:20 PM. When I made a complaint about quality of croissant and other things, general manager was showed up, and listened what I said, and apologized for my inconvenience, and provided complimentary Airport shuttle service.

Room Tip: Without additional cost, fall view room. However, Hotel's Pro is not the view from the room, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank flyhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We were disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your last visits and with the issues you experienced. Please rest assured we took your comments on board for training and improvements purpose.

If you would like to share more information about your recent stay, please do contact me directly on juliana.lacerda@belmond.com.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back, at which time we will make every effort to ensure you have a perfect visit.

Yours sincerely,

Juliana Lacerda
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 949 of 4,079 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2015

Waking up to the view and the sound of the waterfalls is what makes this hotel unique. Like other reviewers has described, you can access the falls when it is quiet. We got up early, walked down to the falls and there was nobody there but us (my mother and I). The pool was heated. Wonderful breakfast. Very attentive staffs. Everybody speaks English.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room with the falls view. There are rooms in Garden and Forest wings where yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Orn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

It delights me to read about your experience with us, especially the service your received from all our team. All feedback is greatly appreciated so I will make sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Juliana Lacerda
Rooms Divison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Living up to the Belmont fame, this hotel is in their unique collection. Located right near the Igazu falls, it offers unparalleled views of the falls. What more you ask? You can access the park outside of the public hours since you are living inside the park. You can wander on your own or opt for the guided walking tours at 8 AM or moonlight tour to get some really cool pictures without hordes of crowds.

The amenities are awesome, the swim up pool is really cool & food is great. At night, you can opt for live music at the bar restaurant with some stupendous caipirinhas.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sona_G81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host you on your recent visit to Cataratas.
We would like to thank you for the feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you very much for your gracious comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Juliana Lacerda
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

By being so close to the waterfalls it allows you to go see them even before the parks open, that way you can avoid the crowd of people gets there after 8.30 a.m.

Close to the airport is the hotel where everybody would like to stay at and is furnished with everything you may need.

Suggestion: go see the sunrise from their tower, the view is beautiful.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank fabianif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Juliana Lacerda
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

A beautiful majestic hotel right next to falls. Grand entrance. The cleanest property I have ever been in, just immaculate, plenty of friendly helpful staff who speak English.had an evening by pool cocktail bar and one in piano bar, excellent cocktails and prices reasonable.buffet breakfast, too much to choose from, even champagne if you wanted.ala carte dinner beautiful, and buffet dinner beautiful, great variety of foods and exceptional service, we had a late departure, staff were accomodating to let us have a late check out, beauty spa excellent and prices reasonable.transport back to national park visitors centre free,and runs frequently. Highly recommend, can not say enough about this hotel

Room Tip: Back room looks over jungle, front rooms you can see falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.
Our main aim at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention to our guests. Feedback such as yours make us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.
Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Juliana Lacerda
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,724 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#40 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,277 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#16 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $429 - $882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - PR

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing