We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, impeccably decorated and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed in a suited with a breathtaking view of the falls. Despite the beauty of the rooms, there was an insect problem. The management handled it with the utmost professionalism and conscientiousness. The food was excellent. The pool beautiful and perfect for small children. Staying here enabled us to hike the national park trails after hours, once the crowds left. It was, on balance, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eveonleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to learn that you did enjoy your stay with us.

We would also like to thank you for your understanding with the insect issue. Although all the efforts are made to minimize this kind of incident to happen, due to our location there is always the risk that insects could enter the room. All of our rooms are equipped with double glass and mosquito nets, but wildlife is wild after all.

We would be most pleased to welcome you back at the Hotel das Cataratas in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,918)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,141 - 2,145 of 3,918 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel is located inside the park and in very close proximity of Iguazu Falls on the Brazilian side. We had a conducted 'moon walk' of the falls at night and the only sound you could hear was that of water cascading down. In the daylight the falls appeared altogether different and made realise the awesome power of nature,

The hotel with lagre rooms, two restaurants, swimming pool and gym is luxurious but on expensive side probably because of its prime location. The staff are polite and very helpful.
We had a wonderful time and felt thorouhly pampered and spoilt.

This hotel was recommended and booked by Imagine Latin America and without local knowledge it was unlikely that we could picked this hotel mainly because of the price. But in the end was worth it because of unique experience.

Room Tip: Book in advance to get a room with the view of Iguazu Falls from your room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelerglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thak you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are all vey pleased to hear that you did enjoy your time with us and that you felt that the experience was woth it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were looking for a luxury escape in the jungle. We were prepared for higher than average prices for excellent accommodation, service, and food -- if you are looking for a bargain don't stay in this hotel. We didn't expect nature to stop at the boundary of a hotel in the middle of the jungle -- if you can't stand tiny ants don't visit the jungle, do not even come to Brazil, at least not in the spring or summer time.

Having set expectations right, the Hotel das Cateratas fulfilled all of our desires, from arrival to departure. Many of the concerns and claims that I came across in the reviews before booking the hotel are just because some people apparently do not read. For example, you pay the entrance fee for the park only once. When re-entering you just need to show your room card. Upon arrival, I'd recommend you take the separate entrance for hotel guests and park workers, that's it. Advise your taxi driver if you don't prefer to be picked up and brought by a comfortable hotel car, which clearly is a bit more costly than a cab.

After check in, the receptionist guided us through the hotel, explaining all of its services, to our room in the garden wing. We booked a superior room, actually the lowest available category of rooms and suites available, but higher category rooms don't really add much value. It was beautiful decorated, colonial style, with lovely details. And calm. No noise from the outside, no noise from the room above, no noise from the air-conditioning. If you are only used to US American hotel chains you would most likely consider room sizes small, but it was spacious enough for the three of us.

As a nice detail, the hotel offers free Havaianas in each room, hence we had to check out the pool right after unpacking. A servant immediately placed bath towels on the sunloungers of our choice. The kids pool was just perfect for our 3 toddler. Pool service was excellent, executed orders promptly, offered cool towels and fruits once in a while.

In terms of food, you have the choice between two restaurants. One at the pool side that offers an a la carte menu or buffet, the other one with a view at the falls and a nice terrace, offering an a la carte menu only. We chose the buffet that varies daily but comes with a churrasco that includes various delicious cuts. Prices are a little bit higher than a Fogo de Chao, so not really exceptional if you compare it to top quality churrascarias in Brazil. Afterwards, you can have your sundowner either at the pool or on the terrace of the bar.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant at the pool side and starts with champagne. It is very rich in choice but if there is anything you miss, plenty of helpful waiters are around, trying to fulfill your wishes.

Unfortunately we had to leave after 3 nights. Checkout was super fast, uncomplicated and friendly. Try to get on top of the tower if you haven't already done so during the earlier days, to catch some of the beautiful views of the falls and the hotel resort that makes the good-bye even harder. And if you have a little bit of time left and booked the transfer to the airport through the hotel, the driver would drive you for a final view of the falls.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ickinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

Our main goal is to provide our guests with the highest level of service and a unique experience whilst staying with us.

Your review made us feel that we are on the right way to achieve that.

I have forwarded your review to all of our staff members, and all are very pleased to hear that you felt well looked after during your stay.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Wonderful location and if you make the trek to Iguazu I think this is the only place to stay. Definitely don't bother upgrading rooms, the standard ones are fine and the better ones are not close to being cvalue for money. Views of the waterfalls form the windows are limited at best.

Breakfast and dinner at the buffet area near the pool is very good. The a la carte restaurant tries to be something but fails miserably. I would avoid it. The tourist centre that arrange s trips is excellent and arranged our pick up and drop off at the airport. Well worth doing this, much easier, and rental car not needed while staying here.

Pool area is great and service is good here. Don't get up too late or you won't find a sunlounger!

Room Tip: don't waste money on rooms with views as they are limited at best. Standard rooms are best value
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suanderez07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other Trip Advisor readers.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your time with us and that you took advantage of the hotel's location to visit the Falls.

Your comment on the Itaipu Restaurant has been forwarded to our Food & Beverage Manager and he and his team are looking into it.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel das Cataratas in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel was wonderful, a real oasis in a tropical setting. Being able to view the falls in the evening after all the tourists have gone home - priceless. It was a truly magical place. The only issue with the hotel rooms was the really noisy air conditioning units that clunked off and on at all hours of the day and night. It would wake the dead from a sound sleep. But other than that, the food, the pool the view, all excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

Your comment on the air conditioning has been forwarded to our Engineering Department and measures are being taken to correct this

We would be most pleased to have you back at the Hotel das Cataratas during your next trip to South America.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,632 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,355 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#42 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $460 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - PR

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing