We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absaloutly brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The hotel was brilliant it was so relaxing it was not so big so kids could walk round thereselves to the pool and the tower the food was very nice but I was not empressesd with the Christmas gala because we didnot want to do and they said you have to

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77,777,777,887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, General Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to learn that you and your children enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,917)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,174 - 2,178 of 3,918 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is an amzing hotel in an amzing location. I would definitely advise anyone travelling to Iguazzu to stay at this property for its amazing service and most important its location! Smack right next to the falls. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite. It had one of the most comfortable beds i ever slept on. The pool area is to die for! This hotel is located in the National Forest, so you can imagine the type of scenery. We went to the Bird park which is definitely a must do and then the boat trip to the falls, what a trip it was!

The service at this hotel is at a very high standard. they will make sure you are having a good time. The food is amazing and the whole setting is gorgeous. You can walk to the falls at any time, something you wont be able to do if you stayed anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be great, the suites are worth the extra though
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildmandxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, General Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other readers.

We are very happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with.

I have forwarded your review to all our staff members, and they were very happy to know you left the Hotel das Cataratas feeling you were well looked after.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to South America.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel is situated in an excellent spot for viewing the Iguacu Falls from the Brazilian side. There are easily accessible walks for closer views. Our room overlooked the back garden courtyard and pool which was actually better in February as the sun beats down in the front most of the afternoon and might make those rooms too warm [there is AC, no worries]. Our superior room was comfortable though a bit small and there wasn't much room to put clothes away. That said, there is evening freshening of the room, NY Times digest delivered under your door each morning if you request it and free WIFI [though slow]. The staff was very pleasant at all times. Suggest getting a guide to take you to the Argentine side of the falls where you actually follow catwalks right up to them and can take a boat ride under them.
The pool is pleasant, staff available to bring drinks and poolside dining as well as on the terrace in the front for sunset/falls views. The poolside restaurant [in or out] is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner - always a buffet, terrace is a menu [expensive!] Our best meal, however, was at the luncheon spot overlooking the falls [not the snack bar - keep walking]. This was also buffet but very delicious and plentiful. No major complaints or problems other than the size of the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, General Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

I am glad to learn that you did enjoy your stay and our services. Our main goal is to deliver the highest level of service and to provide our guests with a unique experience whilst visiting the Falls.

We remain looking forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A gorgeous property, breathtaking views, impeccable service, subtly addictive caipirinihas -- this place has it all. If you're debating between this and the Sheraton on the other side, realize that they don't allow visitors into the park after hours. At das Cataratas, you essentially have the run of the park between 6 p.m. and 8 a.m. Besides twilight lighting and a degree of solitude, that means a lot better chance of seeing wildlife.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbeck03SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, General Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and our services.

You are completely right when you say that having the park just for yourself before opening and after closing makes the experience of visiting the falls unique.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel das Cataratas on your next trip to South America.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The understanding of great service is very different in most Brazilian restaurants compared to international standard, however not here: every detail is absolutely exceptional: the restaurant, housekeeping, and front desk staff. The hotel has an incredible location, allowing to still stay in the park after 5:00 pm, when all other tourists have to leave. The afternoon sun however offers the most stunning views, without the crowds of people. The pool area is nice, the restaurant by the pool offered one of the best barbecues I had in Brazil. One day we showed up for breakfast shortly after 10:00 am (after they officially closed), and they still served very friendly a phantastic breakfast. Apart from visiting Iguaçu National Park, the hotel would be a great place to just spend a day at the hotel to chill out.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GermanWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, General Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time and sharing you experience at the Hotel das Cataratas with us and others.

Your review has been forwarded to our entire team, and all where very pleased to hear that you did enjoy all of our servies and your stay.

Our team is highly committed to deliver the highest level of service and to provide our guests with a unique experience whilst visiting the Iguassu Falls.

Reviews like yours makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to South America.

Sincerely yours,

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,632 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,355 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#42 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $460 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - PR

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing