We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
356
243
51
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
243
51
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar star resort laguna state housekeeping brazil beach
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We spent the May 1st holyday in the hotel in one of the water villas. The property is beautiful, with a nice pool and beach (but with waves). The hotel is very far from everything, (R$120 from the airport) but we just stayed there and enjoyed the good weather. The food is simple but nice. The only problem in the lunch, since the hotel is distant from everything you have to eat there and it is quite expensive (R$65 per adult for simple buffet). Anyway I would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This last Carnival (2012) has been the second time my family and I have been to D. Pedro Laguna. it seems that the team is better trained and efficient but do not raise your expectations too high - sometimes it takes forever for a waiter to come get your drink order either at the bar or at the restaurant... my wife mentioned it would be worth the management setting sales targets for the team in order to motivate them reach more customers throughout the day (at least at the pool...). We were pretty happy with the upgrade we got ending up at a villa instead of an apartment. The infrastructure remains spotless and in excellent shape. I agree with the comments from "clara 50" on this hotel: You have no alternatives for shopping or anything else in this hotel unless you take a cab and go somewhere else and the prices for food and drink at the hotel are outrageous - the food buffet at the pool restaurant is too expensive for what it offers! Not at all worth it. If you are in a party of 4, it is worth paying R$150 for a buggy and go to any beach restaurant nearby with a much larger alternative of sea food and still pay less in the end! Another opportunity area is the grill/past buffet at the white restaurant which could never keep up with the number of clients - definetely not prepared for a full house. You have to wait up to 10 min in line to be served a simple plate of pasta!!!
On the other hand there is a good availability of fresh towels at the pool.
Beware of the cars and quad bikes cruising at the beach - especially if you have children! Drivers do not respect any speed limit and may be a hazard to your safety!
This is definetely the hotel to go if you are looking for isolation and have no problem with waiting long times to be served.

Room Tip: The villas are nice if you do not mind not seeing the beach - you'll have an artificial green lagoon as alternative.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed last week with my husband at the D- Pedro Laguna for a short holiday. I am portuguese but I write my review in english in order to allow for tripadvisor readers to get acquaintance with this new resort near Fortaleza,
The Hotel is from a portuguese hotel chain and is really very nice. I had booked a sea view room but they uprgraded me to a laguna villa that is really nice, with 1 room and sitting area and a lovely varanda overlooking the lagoon.
The resort is 45 minutes taxi drive from the center of Fortaleza (if you want ti go in the afternoon you need a taxi and for 4 hours in Fotaleza you pay 200 reais!!!) and has a beach just in front where you can walk, 5km to the right and another 4km to the left to get to the nearest beach and see nobody around. A real retreat for those who look for rest and no diversion.
The employees are very nice, people from brasil northeast are very kind and humble people and that makes a pleasure to speak to them (I am portuguese so this is very easy...)
But the hotel has some downsides and needs improvement at different levels:
1º you have no options for meals outside the pool restaurant for lunch that is expensive and nothing special at all and the white restaurant buffet for dinner that becomes boring 3 days after
2º there is no place in the hotel where to buy a sun cream, a newspaper or a bottle of water outside the bar, but this is not an option!
3ª no cash dispenser in the hotel, so I needed to change money and the change rate was incredible: for 100 euros they gave me 180 reais, and for the same amount in an exchange bureau in Fortaleza I got 210 reais!
4º You are limited to the resort area, besides the beach and the pool there are nothing to do: of course you have the golf and a tennis court but nothing else. At 9 in rhe evening you see nobody in the lobby, you think you are the only guest that is awake!
In rwo words, a veru nice resort that needs improvement and that is to expensive for the price you pay!!

Room Tip: Villa room
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clara50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The resort is quite new and still has construction (i.e. tennis court etc) on going. The villa has two bedrooms and they are very nice with a small pool outside. The beach is very nice and not crowded at all. This is the place for "do-nothing-kind-of-holidays". The staff is friendly but relatively inexperienced. It took us very long time to check out and sort out the bill. Not much English speaking either. There is only one restaurant for dinner in the hotel and the hotel is far from any other place (e.g. Fortaleza) just in case you want to go out to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LaskoSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We got a good deal to come to this hotel. The rooms and infrastructure are good but service and food still need a lot of improvement. The hotel is new and this may explain some of its opportunity areas. There are not too many dish alternatives at the dinner buffet - if you are a fan of deserts bring your own. Wine choices are also poor and not kept at right temperature. I also suggest you ask for your water jar to be left at your table because it does not come around oftenly - same for coffee. Creativity during breskfast and dinner can be highly improved. Don't expect you'll be surprised by different dishes every night. Most certainly you'll see old friends every night!
On the other hand the hotel has a great clown who made our daughters stay a very happy one. This has really comped for all the other hassles - tio Palhaço is a keeper! Same for two staff members who are concerned about the hotel image - Fabiano and Albano.
Management should also plan better the hotel replenishment as many items went out of stock during our stay.
My recommendAtion is training, training and training and you'll do well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelFreitas, Manager at Dom Pedro Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2011

Dear Sir,
First of all thank you very much for your opinion and the time that you take to post yours thoughts.
I take your recommendation, and i improved the training to all members of my team, and also the choices of the menu's.

I hope we can welcome you back to the Dom Pedro Laguna again very soon. Kind regards, Emanuel Freitas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews