We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Rio Vermelho, Salvador”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Bahia Lodge
Ranked #59 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Hello, we just stayed at this hotel in Dec 2015 for 4 nights 5 days and enjoyed our stay. Taxi from hotel is about R80 and is in the Rio Vermelho area of the city. View is fantastic, rooms very clean and spacious. Breakfast was included for our plan and there was lots to chose from. Check in was good but a bit old fashioned as some of it was filling out forms by hand.y only complaint was that neither pool was very clean, water not very clean and smaller pool had stuff floating in it. Tour bus to major attractions is R55 per day and well worth it. Hotel close to a few decent places to eat and beach nearby small and safest to go earlier as weird teens loom around later on. Staff friendly and good stay overall.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Bahia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Bahia Lodge and for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn about the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us. Your information regarding our levels of service were worthy of our utmost attention, and the necessary actions are being taken in order to prevent similar situations from happening in the future. We hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back when you next visit Salvador .

Kind regards,

Vitor Veiga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2016

I spent 5 days in Salvador with my family. I honestly have to state it was a nightmare. Unreliable people since we didn't get what we had paid for. I booked (and paid) a suite room 7 months before and when we arrived our room was not available and they gave us a level down one. Room was pretty dirty. Several services promoted on the web sites (hair dresser, nursery) where not available at all. Extremely unprofessional and impolite employees (I called the lobby at 2 PM for towel replacement and they came at 5.30 PM). Many food menu' options were not available. At the check out they wanted to charge us and extra bed which has never been placed in our room. Shameless. Don't try it.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Bahia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Bahia Lodge and for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn about the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us. Your information regarding our levels of service were worthy of our utmost attention, and the necessary actions are being taken in order to prevent similar situations from happening in the future. We hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back when you next visit Salvador .

Kind regards,

Vitor Veiga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

As a business traveller I stayed in this hotel for two nights over a weekend. The room was good with excellent views. But what could be a top class hotel is spoilt by lack of staff and attention to detail. For example: breakfast is chaos with not enough staff as a result plates, cutlery and food all run out and you have to wait around for them to be resupplied; the gym is a good size but it is let down by the fact that some of the equipment is broken; checking in and out can take ages if you hit a busy time. It is however close to some good local restaurants and in a reasonable area.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hoofedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

This hotel has great views...that's about it. The hotel is old, the reception looks like the computers are from the 1980's, the elevators are rusty, the rooms and old. The breakfast is good, but the window look like they have never been cleaned.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

This is not my first time at this Pestana unit, and a return there would have as sole objecting acquiring stays to keep my Gold status with them, and one who has seen the hotel in its golden years, when once regarded a top-5 in Brazil, misses that time badly!
The building itself is deteriorating very fast, maintenance is non-existing: everyting rusts or crumbles or puffs with humidity, windows have a thick layer of crust, common areas aren't properly clean, the lift sounds more like a container closing, water takes ages to heat up, furniture is tacky and cracks up - and I stayed in their alleged honeymoon suite, which is nothing but two attached rooms with minor adaptations!
One regular complain which was at last improved was internet, which is now free of charge and reaches the whole hotel, excluding some corners of your own room!
One expects the suite to have high quality and more amenities, that is so not the case with Pestana! The bathroom is tiny and never cleaned properly, the shower has no pressure, the floor is slippery, the toilet is shaky, what a risk!!
Breakfast at Pestana was once regarded as the best in the whole Salvador, now it has drastically decayed, and it should be regarded as a major insult to offer artificial oversugarred juices in a 5* hotel - go next door to Mercure and you'll have a proper breakfast!
Staff is lazy and unmotivated, they seem overwhelmed and are certainly under pressure; who wouldn't be after dozens of your colleagues being fired in the previous week?
Our package included dinner and they had no idea whatsoever what teh details related to it were!
Honestly-speaking, for the hotel to bring back its prestige, it has to close down for a year or more, get completely destroyed and rebuilt! In the meantime, so your time, money and patience won't go wasted, choose another place to stay or hold your congress!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitorbabrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Gerente at Pestana Bahia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing the Pestana Bahia Hotel and the feedback after your last stay.



His comments were analyzed and steps are being taken to improve our services, we will improve the breakfast, and also our facilities. We will begin the recasting some apartments (equipment and decoration) to become the most modern and updated environment.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit.
Cordially,

Rodrigo Mendes | Operations Manager - Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
1.2 km away
Zank by Toque Hotel
Zank by Toque Hotel
#29 of 110 in Salvador
308 reviews
5.8 km away
Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Fera Palace Hotel
Fera Palace Hotel
#35 of 110 in Salvador
154 reviews
4.9 km away
Sheraton Da Bahia Hotel, Salvador
2.9 km away
Bahia Othon Palace
Bahia Othon Palace
#23 of 110 in Salvador
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Salvador

Been to Pestana Bahia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Bahia Lodge

Address: Rua da Fonte do Boi 216 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41940-360, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $99 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Bahia Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Bahia Lodge is a hotel located in the bohemian district of Rio Vermelho, in Salvador, Bahia, Brazil. With a stunning view of the sea, it is the ideal location for your holiday in Brazil. It is located in Brazil's happiest city, with streets bustling with people and markets that bubble with life, São Salvador da Bahia. During your stay you can enjoy the panoramic swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and fitness centre. The apartments feature plenty of space and are equipped with Wi-Fi, a flat-screen TV, and some also have direct access to the swimming pool. The rooms can accommodate extra beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Prestigia, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Bahia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bahia Salvador
Hotel Pestana Bahia
Pestana Bahia Lodge Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing