We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
32
24
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
24
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Comfortable spot, steps from the main square in Pelourinho. I really appreciated Cesar and Edina's warm hospitality. Don't miss the record shop across the street, and Geronimo's performance nearby on Tuesdays.

Simple rooms without A/C, but the breeze in the evening and a fan kept the room comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GutootuG, Gerente at Pousada Aquarela do Brasil, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hello! Thanks for staying with us and sharing! It’s a pleasure for us to have such a great opportunity of working with well-being of many good people coming from so different places. We always try to provide useful information when we see the person wants or need it.
On the future we may be installing A/C, but its a long way that must be walked step by step.
For the records, the Record Shop is named Canabrava Records, and the owner is Mr. Pardal who knows many many treasures of our Popular Folcloric Music.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Pousada is very well located if you want to be located in the old part of Salvador. It's a couple of hundred yards from the Pelourinho square and close to everything you would want to see in this fairly compact part of the city.

The people who run it are very friendly, very helpful and easy to communicate with - Cesar speaks English and his wife French in addition to their native Portuguese.

The Pousada is kept clean and tidy. Breakfast was good with fruit, cheese, ham, bread, ham and juice, with eggs cooked as you want them - but ask for no salt if you don't want your egg covered in it.

We had two rooms - No 4 on the first floor and No 8 on the second. No 4 was a simple double with a smallish bathroom while No 8 had one double and two single beds in it, a shower and separate toilet. All was in good working order and, although a street runs along the back of the property, the rooms are quite quiet as most of the noise comes from the front which is a fairly busy street.

We all enjoyed our stay and would happily go back and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: All rooms look out on a street that is quite quiet. The ones on the top (2nd) floor are family rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GutootuG, Gerente at Pousada Aquarela do Brasil, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hello!
Thanks for sharing your experience with us and the community.
Sorry for the salty eggs! I had it too, thought it was just an error on mine, but we have warned Ninha again to avoid excess on salt and sugar. (By the way our juices are made from the fruit, with no sugar added).
Waiting for you next year! This time luckily will be 3 rooms just for you and your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This B & B is right in the heart of Pelourinho and an easy walk (wear good shoes as it is all cobblestones) to all the attractions. Edina and Caesar were good and helpful hosts. Caesar spoke English, Edina spoke Spanish and French or we often used the translator on the PC which worked quite well. Our room was basic but bright and very clean - only a small double bed 4ft 6in but we had a good shower. There was no airconditioning but the fan worked well and we could open the windows wide when it wasn't raining. The breakfast each morning was good with juice, fresh fruit, eggs, ham, cheese, bread and tea/coffee.

When we were there the city was being given a makeover and the lovely buildings were being given a paint in some lovely colours. The square just up the road is very pretty and there are some quite good cafes in which to eat.

We visited the church of the Rosary of the Black Men of Pelourinho - built by slaves and also a very interesting museum where we learnt about the 4 million Africans who became slaves. You must also visit the St Francis Church which is literally a "gold church".

Also do make sure that if you are there on a Tuesday you go and listen to the drummers - it will definitely get your feet tapping and if you have time one evening you can go to the little theatre just down the street where you can see a live show of dancers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2BISCUITS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

A really comfortable place in the heart of Pelo with caring owners and very reasonable rates, which are hard to find in this area if you wish to have a certain standard.
The beds are new and very comfy, room is clean, tv and fan available; though the decoration is quite simple, the room feels cozy. You can close the shutters to avoid the street noise (basically people partying and talking), which at the end was not an issue for a person who is quite sensitive to that... The owners are very friendly and speak very good english and french. Staff very attentive. Good breakfast. To recommend if you wish to have prime location, good service, good prices!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zazabelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We were lucky, we met the owner who was very kind. Eventhough they were renewing the hotel, they received us and treated us family. Delicious breakfast and located in the center of Pelourinho. The street at night was amazing. Im definitevely coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinaDavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews