We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Nega Maluca
Nearby Hotels
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 85
USD 72
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 143
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Inglesa Boutique Guest House(Salvador)(Great Value!)
USD 32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
A Casa das Portas Velhas(Salvador)(Great Value!)
USD 48
USD 46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villa Bahia(Salvador)
USD 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Cocoon(Salvador)(Great Value!)
USD 39
USD 38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 94
USD 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hostel Salvador(Salvador)(Great Value!)
USD 28
USD 26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bahia Othon Palace(Salvador)(Great Value!)
USD 72
USD 67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
30
21
9
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
21
9
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat recommendationscommon areasuseful informationguesthousecarnivalpelourinho
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

The staff is very friendly and the common area outside is beautiful. Also breakfast is ok. But the rooms are very smelly dirty run down. Not the right surrounding to feel relaxed. The hostel is not far away from the city and even not expensive. But as the shower even doen't have hot water it is just not suitable as a room for guests.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This hostel and it´s staff made my expeirence of salvador that much better, it would have not been the same without them!! the location is great, footsteps away from the historical center, making it quiet at night but convienient when wanting to head out. the hostel has lovely terreces to chill out at. breakfast is abondant and Eva, Diego and gostavo are always willing to help and give information about salvador, without them i would have not expeirenced salvador.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naomisez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

The hostel is in a great, central location of the historic center of Salvador. Beautiful architecture surrounding the streets of the hostel so lovely to walk around in although relatively quiet. Some interesting cultural music performances tho. Hostel could use a cleaning but otherwise chilled out and very friendly, helpful staff.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Khushnam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

I stayed twice with my 2 daughters in Nega Maluca many years ago. The first time was in 2005 and the second time was in 2007. In 2005 we only stayed for 2 nights in a dormitory but in 2007 we stayed for 5 nights in a triple room with private bath.

I loved the location and atmosphere of NM, in Pelourinho, so close to all the events. The roof terrace was a cool spot to chill out and enjoy our breakfast which was very good. The staff were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. Inbal the owner at that time, I don't know if he still is the owner today, was very cool and social, and made us feel very comfortable.

We had a fantastic trip to the spectacular island Moro de Sao Paulo. Highly recommended.

However, my daughter's bag was stolen from the room. There was a sign not to leave any valuables close to the window! Her bag was in the middle of the bed, and in spite of the window bars, the thief managed to take her bag out of the window, probably with a long stick. Fortunately, she had no money in the bag. Our room faced the street, so I was surprised how the thief managed to steal it without people noticing it passing there.

Anyways, it sucked, but didn't destroy our stay in the guesthouse. We enjoyed very much and I will definitely look forward to returning :):)

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SusanEspergaerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InbalTubi, Owner at Pousada Nega Maluca, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Hey Susan,

Tks for your great review. Yes, I'm still the proud owner of the Nega.....:-)) Sorry to hear about your daughters bad being "fished" from the windows. it sucks. If only this people would put half the energy they put into fishing others people bags into fishing real fish, their belly would be much fuller......

Next time you come hope we can share a caipirinha on the balcony (caipi on me...:-))

Big hug

Inbal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

Location is perfect and right in Pelhourino historic centre, a few minutes walk to restaurants, live music and bus stops to nearby beaches and other neighbourhoods.
We were in a dorm but got upgraded to a private room at a discount by the owner Diego because the place was quiet. The rooms are basic and not the cleanest but have air-con or a fan. Only two bathrooms in the place so had to wait sometimes.
Staff were really friendly and told us about all the live music going on in town each night. If you want to see music there is something different every night. They also suggested a brilliant free walking tour and offered a taxi service from the airport.
Good but small kitchen and great terrace with hammocks and a pretty nice view. Decent supermarket 5 minutes away. Breakfast was excellent and changed each day - toasties, cake, pancakes, fruit and coffee.
Atmosphere was really sociable with both guests and staff.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews