We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Hamamatsu
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Hamamatsu
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This is a typical Japanese hotel located on top of a hill about 1.5 km away from Hamamatsu Station. The breakfast is excellent and the rooms are clean, though a bit dated, but quite spacious by Japanese standards.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HandOfGuido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2016

I was invited for a business dinner to the restaurant of the hotel. The staff was really nice and polite, the table (in a private room) was also nice and fancy. I can't speak about the prices because I haven't seen the menu nor the prices since the dinner was on the other company. The food was really good, we had at least 8 courses (small portion from everything). It's a chinese restaurant and I think this was one of the best chinese food I've had so far. Shrimps, mashrooms, beef slices and so on...
Perfect place for business lunch or dinner. But you can skip the sweets, nothing speial can be expected.
I didn't stay in the hotel so I can't talk about that.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

It has been a long time since I have had the chance to stay at such a retro, unkept, outdated, smelly hotel.

Transistor radio and all built into the furniture. The only thing upgraded was a small LCD TV. The only reason we stayed here is the tour group said it was a 5 star hotel and it may have been 30 years ago.

Even if the stained carpets had been replaced I might have given a better review. 30 years of neglect.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank BillDzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

i stayed only for one night for an official gathering & dinner. the service is efficient and staff is helpful,

The buffet dinner at our event was good with good Japanese and well prepared Indian Menu.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arunbhati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

+ good selections of breakfast with western and japanese style and in a newly renovated restaurant on top floor + dinner can be inclusive at additional charge, quality and service top notch + staff eager to please but english speaking limited - needed desperate refreshment to bring back the golden old days - hotel looks quite lifeless and occupancy is low - car park is opposite the other side of the hotel but free of charge - air condition filtering system is bad as can still smell of smoke although it is a non smoking floor and room

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamamatsu hotels
Richmond Hotel Hamamatsu
#2 of 96 in Hamamatsu
376 reviews
Hotel Concorde Hamamatsu
#11 of 96 in Hamamatsu
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamamatsu Station
Comfort Hotel Hamamatsu
Comfort Hotel Hamamatsu
#13 of 96 in Hamamatsu
124 reviews
Hotel Crown Palais Hamamatsu
#12 of 96 in Hamamatsu
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Hamamatsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hamamatsu

Address: 1-3-1 Higashi Iba, Naka-ku, Hamamatsu 432-8507, Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Hamamatsu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hamamatsu
Price Range: AU$85 - AU$287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hamamatsu 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand Hotel Hamamatsu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamamatsu Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing