We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Morrison House, Autograph Collection
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Impeccable hotel, excellent service. My favorite feature? Definitely the chocolate chip cookies that they leave on the bed. My parents and I stayed here, and this is definitely the sort of place that is only suitable for mature, calm children. The mature setting and fine decorum are perfect for anyone's vacation to Washington, D.C. or Virginia.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKG1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear AKG1996,

I’m very excited that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you found our service to be excellent. It sounds like you really enjoyed our homemade cookies. Do you miss them?
Do you want more? We have two options!
Nr.1: Come back as soon as possible.
Nr. 2: Contact me directly at the Hotel at 703.838.800 and I will send you a box of cookies.

Talk to you soon!

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    136
    43
    20
    16
See reviews for
91
334
62
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

excellent concierge...they lent me two umbrellas during a rain storm. This hotel is in a great location for visiting both old town and even for DC. The street is quiet at night but still just steps to the main street. easy walk to the water front, all kinds of restaurants nearby, the public transit is just at the other end of the street and is inexpensive and feels very safe.
The nightly wine party was very 'stuffy'. several people attended that has a very high opinion of themselves which provided some entertainment for my wife and I - we love watching people make fools of themselves. Same thing at breakfast the following day...lots of people with ego.
We had a king room which was small - dont get anything less than king. I didnt like that the bathroom had no exhaust fan particularly during shower time and potty time. We had a bad view but it just could have been the room, I am sure there are better views than we had.
We stayed three nights and it was very nice. It was a business trip so the company paid...dont know if we would even look at this place if paying ourselves.
It was our first time in Alexandria so have nothing to compare it to but was still a very nice place when considering other locations we have stayed at.

Room Tip: make sure you get at least a king room if there are two of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Real_Duke_of_Hockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear travelersK&W,

Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad that you were pleased with our concierge service and that you enjoyed our convenient location. Our complementary, manager hosted wine reception that we fetcher every evening from 5pm to 6pm is available to all of our guests every day. I host at least one of the seven weekly wine receptions and I must have missed the day you are referring to. I truly enjoy the conversations I have with our guests during this time and I have not had the same experience you described.
We have three different room types at the Morrison House and our King Deluxe rooms and of course our Deluxe Suites are the most spacious rooms we have. Many of our rooms have great views overlooking Old Town and some of them even overlook a part of the George Washington Masonic Memorial which was built in the 1920s.
Please contact me directly the next time you are planning to be in the area. I will personally take care of your room assignment and I will try to host the wine reception on that night to loosen up the crowd a little bit for you.

Yours,

Tobias Arff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I have stayed here multiple times over the years.. This hotel has always been a great place to enjoy the Alexandria area. Great location, nice clean rooms and common areas.. I did eat at the piano bar restaurant and the staff there couldn't have been nicer. When I couldn't find anything appealing to me they offered to make me something I wanted.. so a nice turkey sandwich was prepared for me which didn't even appear on the menu.. Some may think that's a small thing but simply demonstrates their dedication to customer service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersK&W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear travelersK&W,

Thank you for being a frequent guest of the Morrison House. I’m very grateful for the nice feedback and I like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with other travelers. I agree with you that sometimes small things can make a difference and I’m glad that our team listened to you and got you what you wanted. A Turkey Sandwich!
Let me know when you will be back and the next Turkey Sandwich will be my treat for you!

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Morrison House is a wonderful hotel tucked away in beautiful Old Town Alexandria, VA. Though it is part of the Kimpton Hotel chain, you will feel as though you are a guest at a wonderful country estate; even the outer façade looks more like an elegant home than a hotel.

We stayed at the Morrison House on a whim; we were attending an evening event in Old Town and we thought it would be fun to stay away from home for just the night. Our deluxe king room was wonderful, with a beautiful large four poster bed, chandelier, cozy bath robes, and a fairly large bathroom.

The location of Morrison House is perfect; just steps from King Street (the main street that runs through Old Town) and right around the corner from the Majestic Café (great food, a bit pricey) and the Red Rock which is a little more laid back and has very unique and tasty pizzas and calzones. Two shopping recommendations on King Street: don’t miss European Country Living, I’ve been going there for years for distinctive accessories; and Olio, a new store that specializes in olive oils and balsamic vinegars – you must try the fig balsamic vinegar.

There are few additional complimentary touches that make Morrison House especially unique:

• It’s pet friendly; and at no additional expense!

• Though we missed the wine reception at 5 PM daily, we have heard from others that it is quite nice.

• If you join the Kimpton Guest Loyalty Program (there is no cost to join) you have access to free Wi-Fi in the guest room.

• There is a free shuttle to and from Ronald Reagan National Airport. We’re local so we didn’t use this service, but trust me this is a nice perk and money-saver.

There is one small issue I would change/address during our next stay: our 3rd floor room was located next to the storage room for the cleaning carts and supplies. It was a bit noisy first thing in the morning when we were trying to sleep in and enjoy the room for a little extra bit of relaxation.

One last tip: watch for specials. We booked our stay at Morrison House through a social media website and friends have done the same and saved 20 to 30 percent on the room price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalferes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The charm of this beautiful hotel pours from the design of the room and the smiling and extremely courteous staff. I recently hosted a baby shower/tea party for about 15 guests in the parlor and was incredibly impressed with the food, the beautiful decor, and the royal treatment from the staff. Everyone who attended had a lovely time and I have no doubt will return to stay/eat. Although I did not spend the night, I plan to book a room on my next trip to DC. I highly recommend the Morrison House if you want to throw a private party or event. From start to finish I had a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you so very much from The Grille at Morrison House. Every Saturday we offer Tea and I am so glad that you and your guests were pleased. We certainly look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,
Dan Underwood
General Manager
The Grille at Morrison House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,273 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison House, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, Autograph Collection

Property: Morrison House, Autograph Collection
Address: 116 S Alfred St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3002 (Formerly Morrison House)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price range (per night): $192 - $387
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, Morrison House, Autograph Collection is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named Morrison House, Autograph Collection one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation's capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. On-site restaurant, Ashlar, named as a nod to Alexandria's rich Masonic history, is a warm and timeless spot with polished, engaging hospitality and a well-appointed bar room. Under the helm of Chef Bobby Surdam the kitchen offers tavern classics rooted in the bounty of the Mid-Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Morrison House, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing