We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Classy Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Alexandria
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Classy Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel offers quality at a resonable price. From the bellmen to the front desk to all the little extras, they provide a relaxing experience. Such things as Starbucks coffee and bottled water in my room, to the robe on the back of the bathroom door to the quality soaps and shampoo all made the stay enjoyable. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. The ever present taxis made getting to Old Town a breeze.

About the only complaint I have is no free wifi. Why is it the least expenses motels everywhere have free wifi now, but large more expensive properties charge for it. I mean come on, free wifi should be a given these days.

Room Tip: My room didn't have a good view - you may have to ask for a better view. I see other reviews tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Chuckh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    330
    112
    43
    26
See reviews for
171
165
52
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Pros....bellmen, housekeeping, concierge, receptionists top knotch, free bottles of water each day in room, nice size room, safe in room
Cons....a bit out of the way on a very quiet street, bathrooms are unusually small with one sink and small countertop (seemed dated).....i wouldn't stay here again due to bathrooms however tubs are clean and nice showerheads, overpriced restaurant, pillows uncomfortable, high priced parking (24 dollars per day), metro several blocks away

There is a Starbucks next door and a Thai restaurant across the street with fabulous food. It's quite a walk to the metro but shuttle service is available. If you get the 99 dollar per nite rate it's a fine place to stay, but if you get the 200 or so rate, stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: I think all are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie_M_of_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Sherrillmills,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I was delighted to learn that you were impressed with our staff as our service is first and foremost. Your other comments are much appreciated. We had not heard much previously concerning the size of our bathrooms. Although we cannot change that, we do feature the Heavenly Bed and Bath as signature Westin items for your comfort and wellness. I do hope we will have an opportunity to be of service again soon.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Pros:
- modern look
- quiet, comfortable room
- decent gym
- good restaurant

Cons:
- housekeeping needs some work (large cobweb in bathroom and hair on sink)
- not many nearby dining options
- fairly long walk to Metro (but I believe shuttle is available at certain times)

Overall, very nice hotel. This was the first time I've stayed at a Westin, and I have to say that I was impressed. The desk clerk was friendly and the room was large and modern. The gym was not bad and looked like it was recently remodeled. The housekeeping issue noted above was the only negative, but is something the management should address as it was a club level room and showed lack of housekeeping supervision and inspection of rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get on the club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustangcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Mustangcop,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are very pleased to learn of you satisfaction with so many aspects of that stay. We will certainly react accordingly to your comment about housekeeping. Also, reagrading the metro, even though it is less than a ten minute walk, we do attempt to have our shutlles running on demand to get everyone to and from as needed. Look forward to being of service again.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I have stayed at Westin's all over the United States and this one definitely appeared like it was in need of some updating and TLC in the rooms and in the hallways to the rooms. The carpet looked like it was from the 80's or 90's and the bathrooms looked like that of a 1 or 2 star hotel. I am not sure why this hotel has a 4 star rating, it should be closer to a 3 star. The lobby is definitely nice and clean looking, but it ends there. The staff were courteous and professional. I was on a high floor, but my room overlooked the roof and what looked like the garbage area. Like I said I have stayed a lot of places, and this is not one to right home about.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spagoer2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Spagoer2001,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay. While we were pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our staff and service, we are disappointed to learn of some of the other inconveniences you experienced and will react accordingly. The hotel is four years old, we are always on the look out to insure the property is looking fresh and up to date so we appreciate take your comments concerning the bathroom and carpets. Most of our rooms have very nice views of the area and we will be concious of that need your next time in if you could give us advance notice. Thanks again for staying with us.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights For a training session. The rooms were extremely comfortable. They even provided free water! Hotels usually make you pay, this was a nice benefit. The workout facility was well equipped. The restaurant was a little overpriced, but decent. There are options within walking distance. The best options are on King Street. The hotel offers a shuttle to King Street but I didn't take advantage. All told, it was a good stay. I would stay again and recommend other to the property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear tbtrips<

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We were delighted to learn of your overall satisfaction, particularly given that you had a long term stay. I do hope we will have an opporutnity to be of service again in the near future.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Alexandria

Property: The Westin Alexandria
Address: 400 Courthouse Sq, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price range (per night): $193 - $476
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Starwood so you can book your The Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing