We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lower than the average Westin.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Alexandria
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Port Orange
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lower than the average Westin.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I have stayed at Westin's all over the United States and this one definitely appeared like it was in need of some updating and TLC in the rooms and in the hallways to the rooms. The carpet looked like it was from the 80's or 90's and the bathrooms looked like that of a 1 or 2 star hotel. I am not sure why this hotel has a 4 star rating, it should be closer to a 3 star. The lobby is definitely nice and clean looking, but it ends there. The staff were courteous and professional. I was on a high floor, but my room overlooked the roof and what looked like the garbage area. Like I said I have stayed a lot of places, and this is not one to right home about.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spagoer2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Spagoer2001,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay. While we were pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our staff and service, we are disappointed to learn of some of the other inconveniences you experienced and will react accordingly. The hotel is four years old, we are always on the look out to insure the property is looking fresh and up to date so we appreciate take your comments concerning the bathroom and carpets. Most of our rooms have very nice views of the area and we will be concious of that need your next time in if you could give us advance notice. Thanks again for staying with us.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    337
    113
    45
    27
See reviews for
175
169
52
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights For a training session. The rooms were extremely comfortable. They even provided free water! Hotels usually make you pay, this was a nice benefit. The workout facility was well equipped. The restaurant was a little overpriced, but decent. There are options within walking distance. The best options are on King Street. The hotel offers a shuttle to King Street but I didn't take advantage. All told, it was a good stay. I would stay again and recommend other to the property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear tbtrips<

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We were delighted to learn of your overall satisfaction, particularly given that you had a long term stay. I do hope we will have an opporutnity to be of service again in the near future.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
288 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is in an office area a few blocks to the yellow/blue Metro. Hotel is nice, with a noisy lobby, indoor pool, and good rooms. Beds are great. Internet policy is lousy - charge for each device, so we checked email on the free accounts in the lobby. Don't know why hotels do this. There are limited dining options nearby, but a Whole Foods is about 4 blocks away. So if affordable email and convenient dining isn't a problem, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swl781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Swl781,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and particularly our Heavenly Bed. Given that we are bordering Old Town, in addition to the Whole Foods you mention, there are many lunch options in a few block radius of the hotel and many wonderful dinner options within a few minutes reach by use of our shuttle. This is a convenience often overlooked but yet readily available on demand for your next time in. Hoping to have an opportunity to be of service again in the near future.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I have recently switched to Starwood properties from Marriott properties because a friend told me they were better. After having stayed at several Sheraton and Westin properties I have to agree. A recent stay at The Westin Alexandria in Virginia will have me coming back for more. The staff there, Robin, John, and Kenny were amazing from check-in to check-out. They were everything you would want in a friendly and accommodating staff, not to mention just genuinely nice people. Kudos to you all and keep up the good work. Everyone reading this review, stay at The Westin Alexandria and you'll never stay anywhere else while visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staySPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear staySPG,

Thank you for your comments comcerning your recent stay was us. Needless to say, we were delighted to hear of your satsifaction with all aspects. We will be sure to pass your comments on to Robin, Kenny and John to insure they recieve appropriate recognition for their service. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Excellent location, far better than staying in Crystal city or in the district. Regardless of whether a business trip or weekend getaway. This Westin is a refreshing newer property with all the necessary supporting aminities within 5 minute walk or $10 cab ride.

The BIGGEST problem besides traffic in DC area is $20-40 parking fees. It's common for the hotels to rely upon external parking lots with no free parking for guests. Westin's location eliminates most rental car requirements. Just 2 metro stops south of Reagan National Airport.

Westin has a fresh modern theme with plenty of daylight. My room on the fourth floor was very well appointed, common areas are spacious in this hotel. Unlike other hotels nothing was never tight or crowded and I could get all my errands run without a car. Exceptional very friendly staff was always prompt.

I was able to get to my morning meetings on time without rushing. Just a short walk or cab ride to the King Street metro, then back again in the afternoon. We invited our clients to join us for Happy hour in the Westin Patent Bar, which went absolutely wonderful. Our clients complimented us on the location, wonderful setting, and overall image. Two nights included clients meeting us for dinner. Once at the Westin, second client dinner was Ted's Montana Grill nearby only 3 block away. Relaxed, Fun, Home run both times.

As business traveler I try to get as much work done in my room as possible. The AMC theater nearby with a short outdoor walk provided a welcome relief one night. This is a fabulous hotel in a fantastic location but as the saying goes "every dog needs to get out of the kennel" from time to time. I suggest booking Westin as part of a hotel+airfare package on Travelocity.

Nearby in walking distance:
. King Street Metro (north 4-5 minute walk) or Eisenhower Metro station (south 4-5 minutes)
. VRE Virginia Rail Express (north+west 5 minute walk)
. World Market supermarket (north+west 3 blocks)
. Fed-Ex Kinkos copy center (7am-7pm, 2-3 minutes south)
. Drycleaner next door to Fedex Kinkos if you are in a rush
. Shopping center with several nice restaurants: Steaks, Italian, Tex-Mex. (south+west, total of 3 blocks)
. Historic Old town Alexandria is next door with trolley and bus service along King Street.
. Staples office supplies (by cab 3 miles west)

I have been traveling to DC for business on regular basis for 5 years. Republic Airways (US Air) flight attendents recognize me as a regular. Alexandria Westin beats Embassy Suites, far better than Old Town Alexandria Hilton, better stay for the money than the economy Hampton Inn on King Street. I prefer this area in Old town for the amenities. Far better choice than being in the district or fringes of Virginia off the Metro rail.

Semper fidelis,
Dave

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davecannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear davecannon,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on yur recent stay with. It was wonderful to hear your thoughts about the many advantages to staying at our hotel and how enjoyable your stay was. There is little I can add in terms of thoughts to enhance your experience. Again I want to thank you for taking the time to share and for staying with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Alexandria

Property: The Westin Alexandria
Address: 400 Courthouse Sq, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price range (per night): $184 - $453
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing