We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, very economical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Would not say no frills but had added value. Room was kinda basic but clean, flat screen, plenty of channels, micro, fridge and a REALLY comfy bed. Brekky OK (free), basic but re-stocked regularly. Within walking distance (like minutes) McD's, Subway, Dominos but first and foremost you HAVE TO TRY the Peruvian chicken spot right next door to the right when you walk out of the hotel...EXCEPTIONAL taste that makes you forget about the simplicity of the restaurant itself and it if very affordable as well (called El Pollo or something like that).

Location for shopping is great if you have a car. Plenty of stores nearby (including SafeWay, Walmart, Target, etc and a few malls). Metro to get into DC is about a 15-20 min drive depending which station you prefer.

The hotel was quiet, safe and plenty of well lit parking.

One BIG suggestion for the hotel. Add some benches and ashtrays outside for us smokers (even by the front corners of the building, away from the entrance or in that little grassy area opposite of the entrance, by the shuttle bus) and one on either side of the entry for those that just want to sit outside resting after a long day of sightseeing. There is NOWHERE to sit outside currently and it would not cost much to do this upgrade!

Overall, I'd give the hotel 4 out of 5 based on it's affordability. They lost 1/2 star for no benches (see above) and another 1/2 for no restaurant/bar on site. Keep in mind, I have stayed in many 5+ star hotels before and am rating based on 'bang-for-the-buck'. If and when I come back to the area (quite a few things I did not have time to do/see), I leave a note to front desk...fluff up my pillows 'cause I'll be back!

Room Tip: We had 420 (4th floor). No complaints at all! Everything worked, steps from elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2016

Hotel needs repairs water leak is in ceiling and i heard a crackling noise when i turned on the bathroom light scary. Some of the air conditioning units do not work on high. Staff is wonderful, but the hotel needs repairs and sprayed for spiders. They gave me another room 137 was in need of repairs.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This hotel was very nice and clean with a friendly staff. It had an excellent hot breakfast selection. When we checked out, Stacey (the gentleman at the desk) was extremely helpful in directing us to Mount Vernon and even provided us with a map and discount coupons.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and it was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Liked how clean and simple the room was. Plenty of clean linen too. Great hotel for business travelers.

However, it's on the highway, so not much to do around here. They don't have room service, so meals can be an issue.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dhvani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Spent Saturday night with three girlfriends for a Girl's weekend. We had connecting rooms. The desk clerk greeted us with a hearty welcome every time we entered the lobby. There was a problem with the lock on one connecting door but the maintenance man arrived promptly and made the repair. The rooms were basic and clean. The bathroom was large with good water pressure. The ac worked well. One of the rooms was missing pictures on the wall.The hot breakfast buffet was nicely done with fluffy biscuits, sausage gravy, link sausage, yummy scrambled eggs, potatoes, "make your own waffles" with all the toppings and add ins, pastries, breads, cereals, hb eggs, yogurt, fruit, juices, etc. (everything one could want for breakfast).

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesliekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Belvoir Alexandria South
0.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
8.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 54 in Alexandria
239 reviews
0.4 km away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Alexandria Fort Belvoir
13 km away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#24 of 54 in Alexandria
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Address: 8751 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22309-4223 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: AU$108 - AU$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing