We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unfriendly but good food selections”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nickell's & Scheffler
Ranked #373 of 878 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: American, Deli
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Reviewed 11 March 2016

I've taken out lunch from Nickell's but always found the deli unfriendly. They have some nice dishes, but none that I would go back to immediately. There are better places in Old Town

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank zahav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2015 via mobile

This place is ok. It wasn't particularly clean when I went, and a lot of their food seemed to have been out for a while. I probably won't be back.

1  Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Susan and Louie are delightful, will work with you on a lovely catered dinner, and will also provide you terrific sandwiches and the best vichysoisse you have ever had. Their meats are home cured, and their soups are divine. A go-to caterer and eatery

Date of visit: June 2014
1  Thank Dressygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I ducked in here as it was raining. I decided to get a quick bite. I read the chalkboard and one caught my eye "Cajun Chicken Sandwich." I asked what makes it Cajun? They guy at the stove said chipotle and wasabi. I replied those aren't Cajun ingredients. To which he SNAPPED "No ones complained before." I said I was just asking don't need to be rude. He harumphed. I never encountered that before!

The gal at the register was much nicer, every time I asked a question about the ingredients he would snap "that's how we make it." Fine and good, but I didn't care of any of the flavor combinations or ingredients they offered. I was about to leave when the downpour began so I decided to just bide my time and get something.

BIG mistake. The Ham and Cheese panini was horrid! Half a sandwich! with gristly, fatty meat and hard cheese. There was a smear of mustard on the bread. I ate only the bread slices and the two cornichon pickles they considered appropriate. I've been in the restaurant industry since I was 13 and this was the worse excuse of deli food I've EVER encountered.

Perhaps I had high expectations due to the fact I grew up in New Orleans and was stationed out side of New York for true deli's but Subway was so much better! Even with their yoga mat bread!

Bad attitude, bad food; just bad all around. I tell EVERYONE at the bar I work at DO NOT GO! As a bartender, it's my duty to inform my guests and protect them

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank atasteofcreole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Susan and Louie, the owners, prepare excellent, fresh food. They take great pride in their preparation and freshness and the prepare specials each day. You can stop by and get take out for prepared dinners for one or two, which are excellent. The sandwiches are fresh, the meat is fresh, and they are made to order. Her soups are very good as are her salads. I've never had a bad meal there and there's always a smile for you when you go through the front door. It's a small place, so get there early for lunch, or get take out. Or stop by on the way home and grab your dinner.

Date of visit: June 2012
1  Thank LadyAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nickell's & Scheffler also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Nickell's & Scheffler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing