We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Solid Choice”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have stayed here twice over two different school vacations and each time we received good service. The location to the metro is excellent and is in a very reasonable walking distance. The hotel also provides both drop off and pick up. Just get your driver's card and you can call to be picked up right at the metro. This is a great service when the weather is bad or if you are just too tired from walking the DC area throughout the day. We loved having a kitchen so we could spend more of our vacation time sight seeing and not trying to locate food. We simply walked or drove to the Whole Foods around the corner and were set for the week.

I would also like to mention that one time, after having already made our reservation, we read quite a poor review on TA and we were concerned about visiting so we chose to contact the hotel directly. The staff addressed each of our questions in a kind, non defensive, professional manner and went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. Quality hotel with quality staff. Would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: The city view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pab34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for posting a review for our hotel. We are glad you came back for another vacation. I am happy to see you had such a positive experience and memorable interaction with the staff. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    223
    68
    10
    5
See reviews for
286
174
39
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is above average has good service clean rooms and nice Breakfast in the mornings. A great location near Old Town Alexandria

Room Tip: Expect a $18 a night for parking and upon arrival home expect a surprise charge on your credit card...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbond00796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for your review! We will share your comments with the staff, particularly housekeeping...they will be excited to hear your comments!

M. Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland area
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Arrived at 2am on a Friday to find that the garage was filled and I would need to park a block away. Mike the only Front Desk Clerk on duty took the initiative to go move his car, so we could park at the hotel.....a great start to the trip. They do a nice job cleaning the rooms. We were in a two-bedroom suite on the 15th floor and it was very quite. All interaction were very positive. The only knock was the chairs in the rooms were looking a little worn. The hotel is about 4 years old, so everything else looks new.

Room Tip: The metro is next to the building, we did not hear it but you may want to ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize you had a parking challenge and pleased that our associate went above and beyond to assist. We appreciate you staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The hotel room has nice amenities for families. The kitchen and large fridge is useful for families.

The sofa bed which we needed to use to accommodate our family of 4 in the room, was old and uncomfortable. My back can feel the metal parts quite uncomfortably.

Breakfast fare was larger than most continental breakfast including eggs and waffle irons.

Staff was friendly in every way.

The $18 per nite parking was a surprise. So include that when comparing total costs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyGuy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel was a short walk from the center of Old Town. The hotel was very clean and the rooms very spacious. Breakfast was much larger than your standard continental fare and included many healthy choices. And the staff was genuinely friendly, helpful. Over all, one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaBandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,370 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,229 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price range (per night): $164 - $439
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Marriott, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing