We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Over the Chrismas holiday stayed in a King Suite. Hotel is located right across from train station and Metro, parking at the hotel. Very convenient. Room was very spacious with full dining room area. Sitting area had pull out double size sofa. Went with two teenagers. If my husband came with us, the 12 and 14 year old would not have had enough room on the pull out couch, but for the 3 of us it was spacious. Atrium was lovely and the hot breakfast was amazing. Indoor pool with jacuzzi was a good size and a real plus. Ate a Joe Theismann's and was disappointed. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor near the elevators,but did not hear much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wmgrad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for your review. It is always satisfying to have guests enjoy their stay with us. Our rooms with two double beds would easily accommodate 4 persons, although the use of the sofa bed in the living room provides more privacy. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here at Embassy Suites Old Town and experience first- hand our new restaurant, bar and exercise room scheduled for completion by mid 2012. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    648
    215
    71
    38
See reviews for
874
283
45
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I was there five days for work and found this hotel to be very convenient to the Metro (King Street, Yellow/Blue Line). Old town Alexandria has a variety of old fashioned shops and restaurants to go through. There is also a free trolley bus between the Metro and the hotel that goes up and down King Street until 10:00 PM. There's other bus transportation and taxi's available as well. The hotel is pretty average for an Embassy Suites but they just started a remodel in the center area of the hotel as well as in the breakfast area, so breakfast is now served in the restaurant. Their breakfast was pretty good and the managers reception was average. I was disappointed at the fact that there was a $2.00 charge for well drinks, when other Embassy Suites don't charge for that. The beds and pillows were pretty comfortable. The sound from the Metro woke me up a few times, but overall it was pretty quiet (I was on the 6th floor).

Room Tip: I was inexplicably put into a handicap room that I didn't request as was the other person that I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supersport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you noted Embassy Suites Alexandria is finalizing several major public area renovations that are scheduled for completion by mid 2012. I do wish that we could offer more than complimentary beer and wine however, due to the State of Virginia ABC laws we are obligated to follow the guidelines stipulated by the liquor license. We hope to welcome you back at the reveal of our new restaurant, bar and exercise room. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown Square, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My husband and I, along with other band members, stayed at the hotel in December for the Scottish Christmas Walk. (Shamrock and Thistle Pipes and Drums) We were just disappointed we didn't have more time to enjoy our room and the hotel in general ! It is just wonderful...clean as clean can be, spacious,well decorated, excellent comfortable bed and lovely linens, and sooo quiet.

Breakfast is amazing! Anything you would like is available at no cost, it's included in the price of the room. There is also a very nice Manager's cocktail hour with lots of good munchies, also included.

If you desire a ride into the heart of town there is a shuttle at the door. The Metro is right across the street and a lovely restaurant right next door.

Seriously.....it doesn't get any better than the Embassy!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybug41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable, peaceful stay and hope to welcome you back at the reveal of our new restaurant, bar and exercise room sometime in May 2012. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The Embassy Suites was a great choice for our family vacation and day trips on the metro into Washington. To avoid parking costs, if we had it to do over again we would probably fly into National rather than Dulles and take the Metro to the hotel which is just across the street.

The Whole Foods is also very convenient for picking up snacks.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanstaafl75034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for your review. Our hotel is very conveniently located only 2 stops from Reagan International airport and directly across from the King Street metro station. This offers the opportunity for our guests to see the sights of Washington DC without the parking headaches. For those guests hoping to stay closer in, the Old Town shuttle and the Embassy Suites hotel shuttle, both offer transportation to Old Town Alexandria and its varied shops and restaurants. I look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I took my wife and three sons (6,4,and 1) for long weekend trip to DC. We were looking for a nice location with easy access to public transportation. Thsi hotel was closer to the metro than most hotels in DC. The hotel is in alexandria but the metro station is right accros the street. We were able to leave the car in the garage at the hotel. We spent 2 whole days at the Mall exhibits as it was 20 minutes by train. Also, this is in the old town of alexandria with nice shops and restaurants within walking distance. As always, you get the breakfast in your rate. Some are better and this one was better than most. The family really enjoyed our stay and we caught a deal on the room under $100 per night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigMacII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy both Washington DC and Alexandria Old Town VA during your visit. How fortunate that you were able to avail yourself of a discounted rate, making your stay even more advantageous. We look forward to servicing you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,425 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,271 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price range (per night): $184 - $434
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing