We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Want to Stay in a 1st Gen HI&S then Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

First of all, beware of the temptation to purchase advance reservations because the room rates are seemingly too good to pass up. It's one thing if you've been to this hotel before and were satisfied with the stay, it’s another to have never stayed here and find out that it’s a big disappointed and then not be able to cancel your reservation or get your money back because you got suckered into "the deal". Even as a Hilton Diamond member, which usually affords one some perks when dealing with hotels, couldn't get me out of this obligation. Read the fine print of the advance reservation purchase agreement or accept your lumps when you end up with buyer’s remorse like me. I would gather that Hilton offers these "specials" to those hotels that are harder to fill because believe me they don't have to offer them at the Hilton brand hotels that are newer or newly renovated.

I am a business traveler and I am a Hilton Diamond member. I accidently purchased advanced reservations at this hotel because of the price and because I thought the hotel I selected was a HI&S that I had stayed at previously -which was actually the HI&S Mt. Vernon/Belvoir, Alexandria South about 7 miles SW of this hotel.

As a business traveler for the past 5 years I have stayed in a variety of Hilton brand hotels but mostly Hampton Inns (HI's), Hampton Inn & Suites (HI&S), Hilton Garden Inn's (HGI's), Embassy Suites, and Hilton's. Hilton, like Marriott, has a list of differnt brands under its name sake and are tier-structured based on a standard variety of choices and amenities that the hotel offers. I listed the above from the lowest to highest tiered chains -although Embassy Suites are by- far my favorite. There has been a burst of new Hilton hotel construction and renovation of older Hilton brand hotels in the past 5-10 years so I have had the pleasure and some displeasure of staying at new HI&S hotels and unfortunately this hotel, which is obviously in need of a major room lift. Right now the lobby is undergoing a renovation and as much as I like entering a HI&S with the new modern clean style look, I would much prefer the money be spent on the rooms where it is definitely needed here.

I stayed in room 217 and the first thing I noticed was the old HI&S decor. It looked worn and outdated compared to the new HI&S standards. Most new and renovated hotel rooms have the room temperature controls via a thermostat on the wall. This room still has the push-button and dial controls on the AC unit mounted below the window.

Looking at the walls and ceilings you notice signs of damage that had been covered up with spackle or popcorn ceiling spray. There are old wall and ceiling outlets and switches that had been removed and covered with blank panels. Cigarette burns in the carpet or places where the carpet has bunched together.

Most new and renovated HI&S rooms have the dial-adjustable or memory foam mattress' on the beds. This room still had an old box spring and mattress set. You could actually feel the springs crinkle underneath you as you shift on the mattress. In fact, the mattress springs felt worn out and seemed to slope to one edge of the bed.

The furniture and bed linens, with the exception of the duvet, looked outdated compared to new and renovated HI&S's I have stayed at. The wall outlet cover nearest the desk was broken off and hanging by the power cord of the desk lamp that was plugged in and I experienced an electrical short when I moved the desk over to retrieve the trash can. There was only one phone in the room on the coffee table between the two queen size beds. Most of the newer hotels have another phone on the work desk.

Another pet peeve I have of most Hilton hotels is the hotel provided high speed Internet service and this hotel was no exception. It is so slow that I had to use my corporate aircard plugged into my laptop to get better service. An aircard uses the cell phone towers for Internet connectivity was almost 3 x faster than the Internet service the hotel provides.

Most newer Hilton hotels provide wired and wireless connection choices, my room at this HI&S only has wireless. I used SpeedTest.net and SpeakEasy.net to test the speed connection in my room and I got a measly .5Mbps or 512Kbps -which in this day and age is the equivalent to a dial up connection. As a business traveler I rely on the Internet to reach back to my corporate network through a VPN to do email, download presentations, documentation, and files necessary to do my job and at these paltry connection speeds I might as well not have any Internet service provided by the hotel. I would rather pay for a substantial connection then use what the hotel provides for free.

Unfortunately, this is problematic across most Hilton brand hotels. Most hotels purchase an already undersized Internet connection from an Internet Service Provider and then that bandwidth has to be shared amongst the number of rooms the hotel has. On top of that, to keep users from hogging bandwidth from others they put caps on the download speeds to each room.

If the Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South says they’ve recently renovated the rooms, then they must be talking only about the bathroom which does resemble the same style and décor of newer HI&S’s with marbled sink basin and counters, tiled floors and bathtub/shower.



Unlike Embassy Suites and Hilton Garden Inns which have cook-to-order full kitchens for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, HI&S’s serve only breakfast and it usually consists of the usual continental breakfast fan fare of dried cereals, juices, and fruits but they also have waffle irons to make your own waffles, some kind of processed egg product, bacon, and sausage. It also serves muffins, bagels, toast, and a small selection of yogurts.

I highly recommend that if you want to stay in the Alexandria area that you stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria about 7 miles up the road.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. Try to get into the Hampton Inn & Suites Mt Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stsabrmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

We appreciate your comments on your recent stay at our hotel. The advanced purchase discount program you booked your reservation through does not allow hotels to cancel or change reservations and this is the case with all Hilton Hotels. We are currently renovating our lobby and it will be complete very soon and pictures will be posted once it is done. In regards to your comments on our bedding, we have the same beds as in all Hampton hotels. They are "Hampton Bed by Serta". The mattress type you described is used by the Hilton Garden Inn hotels.

The entire hotel offers wireless internet service with the studio suites and one floor of the standard rooms offering both. If we know someone requires a wired connection, we surely try to accommodate them.

Our hotel offers many services and anemities that sets us apart from others such as our 24 hour shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station.

I hope you will consider giving us another chance when you travel to the Alexandria area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,008 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Tough to find entrance at night even with GPS. Large breakfast area and rooms clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thecip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel and I hope you will consider us on any return trips you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Straightforward hotel with no surprises. There's nothing to complain about. Here's what we liked the most:

1) Extremely Convenient Location: A simple drive to DCA (Reagan National Airport), Old Town Alexandria, National Harbor and anything else on the beltway. Even the most directionally challenged won't get lost.

2) Clean: After searching the net for a clean, reliable hotel in National Harbor, I booked here instead. I wasn't disappointed.

3) Spacious well lit parking surrounds the hotel so there are no long walks to the car.

4) Rooms: We booked a double with fold out couch and it was spacious spacious spacious.

5) Kitchen: A small kitchenette was stocked with paper towels. The refrigerater got cool, not cold. We would have appreciated a small freezer in the refrigerator for our ice cream!

6) Well built and Quiet. Even though the hotel was packed, we felt like we were the only ones staying there. The rooms are well insulated and quiet. There hotel is bounded by a parking lot and beyond that a golf course, a body of water, and highways -- it's extremely quiet inside and out.

7) Beds: Like sleeping on a cloud. Sheets very very soft.

8) Closet: For once, plenty of closet space with a double wide closet with two hanging racks and shelves.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Even though our room was directly across from the elevator, it was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Thank you very much for all the nice comments on your stay at our hotel. We strive to make all of our guests happy and comfortable and feedback from our guests helps us in working towards our goals. I will forward your comments to the rest of the staff and please stay with us again when returning to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

It hotel itself is excellent but the entryway is very poor for the Handicap with walkers and wheelchairs. It is a long walk from the car to the entrance plus the doors do not automatically open. If the handicap person is by themselves, I do not know how they get into the property. Someone must open and hold the door for the person to get into the lobby. We were given a handicap room with a tub which my husband couldn't use very easily. I know in the future to request the "shower handicap room". This is vital information when dealing with the handicap. Every major hotel or motel should make this known to anyone requesting a handicap room. They were very responsive when we questioned the lack of accessibllity, but the access to this particular hotel is not the best for handicap individuals.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom situation for bathing if you have a handicap person in your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Clean facilities with good service.
Breakfast was ok.
Washrooms were small but clean

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerDhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,475 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $136 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing