We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very much ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlelight Motel

Candlelight Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candlelight Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arlington
Arlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very much ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Times change, I don't know what it was like in 2006 but I spent here two days and found it an excellent, quiet place, beautifully located, spacious room, spotless clean. Slept like a log in a comfortable bed. Staff was just normal and polite, the English not always clear but I got what I wanted (= the lowest price as shown in the AAA tourbook, which is really great value for your money). I'm a seasoned budget traveller of the US, and know of many not-so-good motels runned by people from India but this place is the proverbial exception. Check it out!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loesje2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    5
    3
    9
See reviews for
6
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

I don't understand the negative reviews the candle light got. My wife and I stayed there with our two large dogs for a ski weekend. We found our room to be very clean, the bed comfortable and the owners (who are not middle eastern by the way, if that matters to anyone) to be friendly and eager to please. Not only did they NOT require us to crate our dogs, they even let us stay past the check out time so we could get in an extra day of skiing for a very modest fee. I would recommend this inn to anyone, especially dog owners who like to travel with their pets.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkdoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, VT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

The Candlelight offered an efficient no frills place to stay for a really excellent price. We were checked in and then we were checked out. Stress free and unremarkable. But I didn't sleep a wink. The bed must have been very old because it was more uncomfortable than the floor. If I went again I'd take some foam with me. Other than that it's a deal for this part of Vermont!

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
Thank theshiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

We had reservations for two nights. On the way to the hotel, our car caught fire and was totalled. When I called to cancel the reservation, the person I talked to said it "wasn't his fault" and that they'd have to charge us for the night. I explained again and he said "these are tough times" . He was possibly going to be out $79, I was out a car. Bad attitude, bad business, don't stay there.

  • Disliked — Rude treatment
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBaldMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arlington hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Londonderry, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

We were booked to stay at the Candlelight Inn for the nights of July 19 and 20, 2008. We were on our way to the hotel when we had serious car trouble (the car actually caught on fire!). Needless to say, we could not get to the hotel for our weekend. We called to cancel the reservation and were told we would be charged for one night, since we did not cancel 24 hours in advance. I understand cancellation policies in most cases, but this was an emergency situation and it was not like we just decided not to go or found a better rate somewhere else. I consider this to be very poor customer service. We will most likely be going to the same area of VT next summer, but we will absolutely not stay at the Candlelight Motel.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiliLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
10.7 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
15.3 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
14.7 km away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Weathervane Motel
Weathervane Motel
#13 of 15 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
13.0 km away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
11.2 km away
Governor's Rock Motel
Governor's Rock Motel
#2 of 3 in Shaftsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Motel

Property: Candlelight Motel
Address: Historic Rte 7A, Arlington, VT 05250
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arlington
Price range (per night): $101 - $102
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlelight Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Candlelight Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlelight Hotel Arlington
Candlelight Motel Arlington, Vermont - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing