We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repairs needed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin University Area
Ranked #159 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Needs repairs! First thing I saw was the huge area of burgundy paint that was scraped off wall. I would not put a guest in that room looking like that! The carpet was also covered in stains. I'm not picky but I was disgusted. All it needs is paint touch up & new carpet. Easy fix!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank ashley00024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you for letting me know about your issues during your stay. I will be sure to work with our maintenance in taking steps to work on our issues. I appreciate your attention and will take everything you stated into consideration. We hope to see you again in your future travels ashley00024.
Olga M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Loyal LQ Returns Member. Taken my issues up with corporate. Too numerous to go into here. The hotel does not meet what I expect from LQ. Needs a major Reno or rebuild in addition to several other major issues. Normally stay at LQ Domain, LQ Airport but this facility was closer to my work related business. It just doesn't meet LQ standards. I would not recommend staying here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank essaylandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raynell M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Guest: I’ve received your review of La Quinta Austin - University Area. Sorry that you had problem with our location. Certainly we are not the same us Domain or Airport location, they are 3 1/5 hotel category full suite service/ full breakfast (higher price) , we are 2 1/2 hotel category continental breakfast/inn (lower price) . However, I appreciate your feedback; this is definitely not the experience we want you to have when staying with us! Your feedback will help us improve. Thanks again for your time, and hope we’ll see you back with us at La Quinta Inn once again. Sincerely, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Front desk clerk practically announced my room number to everyone in the lobby, and not just once. She said it loudly 4 TIMES. I'm an older woman and I had to haul my heavy suitcase up a flight of stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raynell M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017


I’ve reviewed your stay at La Quinta Austin - University Area. Thank you for letting us know about your concerns. I want to apologize personally to you about not meeting your expectations and I want you to know that we value your opinion.
I appreciate your feedback; this is definitely not the experience we want you to have when staying with us! Your feedback will help us improve our operation.

Rest assured your comments will be shared with our team, and with this will be able to correct any mistakes. Thanks again for your time, and hope we’ll see you back with us at La Quinta Inn once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

This hotel is tired and needs to be torn down. The repairs made over the years are shoddy. The parking lot is covered in trash and pot holes. Everything about this hotel says "old and worn" Breakfast offerings are anything you can put in a toaster or microwave. Nothing fresh. The staff is nice, but cannot make up for the condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raynell M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017


I’ve received your review of La Quinta Austin - University Area. Looks like we dropped the ball on meeting your expectations.
I appreciate your feedback and will do our best to improve on our room repairs. Your feedback will help us improve our operation and want to thank you for them. Sorry about the breakfast selection not meeting your expectations and we hope you will give us another try.
Thanks again for your time, and hope we’ll see you back with us at La Quinta Inn once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Stayed there because it was close to UT. Room was not clean and poorly maintained. AC either froze you or was too hot. Woke up every morning with red eyes and allergies. One day housekeeping didn't even clean room and management staff would not make it right. Parklng lot covered in trash and had huge potholes. Vending machines empty and only took credit cards if there were things in it. Ice machine always out of ice. Felt like a truck stop kind of place, not a LaQuinta.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank parkhopper1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raynell M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017


I’ve received your review of La Quinta Austin - University Area. Sorry we did not meet your expectations.
I appreciate your feedback; this is definitely not the experience we want you to have when staying with us! We strive to exceed customer expectations and hope that you will visit us again soon.
Rest assured your comments will be shared with our team, and it’s through comments such as yours that we’re able to improve. Thanks again for your time and want you to know we value our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#137 of 203 in Austin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Comfort Inn Austin
Comfort Inn Austin
#144 of 203 in Austin
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin University Area

Address: 5812 I-35 North, Austin, TX 78751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $82 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of downtown Austin, the La Quinta Inn Austin University Area is only minutes from the Austin Convention Center, Texas State Capitol, Travis County Expo Center, and the University of Texas. Visit Bob Bullock State History Museum, 6th Street and the Wareho...see moreuse District, and the LBJ Presidential Library and Museum. No visit to Austin is complete without seeing the famous Congress Avenue Bats and the Star of Texas Fair and Rodeo. The La Quinta Inn Austin University Area has everything you need for a pleasant stay, including a helpful courteous staff. Spacious guest rooms come with such amenities as a free high-speed Internet access, a hair dryer, coffee maker, voice mail, HBO, movies on-demand, and video games. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool for your relaxation. Enjoy our Free Bright Side Breakfast every morning. Located near the Highland Mall, just north of downtown Austin at the southwest corner of I-35 and Highway 290. Stay here for the Republic of Texas Biker Rally, Austin City Limits Music Festival, the Austin Film Festival, and the South by Southwest Media Festival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Highland Mall Hotel Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Austin
La Quinta Inn Austin University Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing