We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant veranda bar/restaurant in the heart of downtown!”
Review of OP Italian

OP Italian
Ranked #116 of 3,984 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: USD 10 - USD 35
Cuisines: Italian
Description: PLEASE NOTE: We are temporarily closed until further notice. We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible. Fresh-made pasta, fresh seafood, slow-cooked meats, and wood-fired Neapolitan pizza are the traditional comfort-food classics that Italians have been roasting, baking, curing and making in their own kitchens for generations. OP Italian is a revitalized concept that is making the classics new again, all in a modern setting. With an open-kitchen concept, a lively wine bar, and a brand new outdoor bar, OP Italian combines the past and present to serve good food to good people.
Restaurant details
Description: PLEASE NOTE: We are temporarily closed until further notice. We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible. Fresh-made pasta, fresh seafood, slow-cooked meats, and wood-fired Neapolitan pizza are the traditional comfort-food classics that Italians have been roasting, baking, curing and making in their own kitchens for generations. OP Italian is a revitalized concept that is making the classics new again, all in a modern setting. With an open-kitchen concept, a lively wine bar, and a brand new outdoor bar, OP Italian combines the past and present to serve good food to good people.
Reviewed 16 March 2020

Exemplary service and food quality. We sat at the veranda bar and the ambiance was elegant yet easygoing in the heart of downtown. Michelle was my server and she was friendly and attended to our needs superbly. Some of the best tiramisu I've had thus far. I highly recommend dropping by here for dinner or drinks if you're looking for a great spot downtown!

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lgsas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2020

Visiting Austin for the weekend and was looking for a good Italian restaurant and found this gem!!! Our server, Kat, was awesome! Friendly and efficient service and great wine recommendations. Saturday’s promotion is a complimentary pizza when you buy a bottle of wine and the pizza was incredibly good wood fired pizza! This was such an enjoyable dinner. The restaurant is lovely and the food is homemade and really fresh. Loved it!! Thanks Kat!

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank E1615XKtanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalm970, Owner at OP Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Hello Tania,

Kat is an absolute superstar and we are so glad that she took great care of you. We would love for you to try our Wednesday promotion where we price our carefully selected wine bottles at only $20, $30, $40 and $50 dollars. Our 'Wine Down Wednesday' promotion is a guest favorite and we'd love for you to come back in and try this. Take care and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely, the OP Italian Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

I stayed at the JW Marriott where this restaurant is located. I had apps one time with clients and dinner there too with other clients. The apps were decent, meatballs and burrata were both quite good and filling. Drinks at the bar were good too and the bartenders all friendly and efficient.

The dinner I had there was just average. The roasted chicken disappointingly bland and unoriginal, the linguine with clams was better but still not memorable.

Service at the meal was good and friendly.

I am not sure that I agree with the high rating of this place for Italian food, it was overall passable but not magic or even close.

It will work in a pinch I suppose but there are other choices, many of them, within a 3 minute walk.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank finesilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalm970, Owner at OP Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Hello finesilver,

We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with both of your meals when you dined with us. Any and all feedback only makes our operations better and we appreciate your feedback! If you could please email Julie.saliba@whitelodging.com, we would love to get more insight on your visit with us. Take care.

Sincerely, the OP Italian Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

Excellent pizza and an extensive wine list. Fantastic service. Bartender Charles was super nice and knowledgeable. Go for the pizza and wine special

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank NMO941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalm970, Owner at OP Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Hello NMO941,

Thank you for the generous feedback! Charles is an awesome bartender and a great conversationalist! We are so glad that he took great care of you. Please stop back in at your earliest convenience. Take care.

Sincerely, the OP Italian Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2020

This place was amazing! The food was great and the service was even better. Colleen was so sweet and offered great service. And the chocolate cake is a must order dessert! Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank Kayla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalm970, Owner at OP Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Hello Kayla K,

Colleen is a sweetheart and we are so glad that she took great care of you. Please stop in again at your earliest convenience. Take care!

Sincerely, the OP Italian Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed OP Italian also viewed

 

Been to OP Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.