We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #41 of 205 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We had a group of 10 traveling through Austin and initially i was very disappointed with the residence inn (they overbooked and forced us over to courtyard). The next morning the manager called and promptly moved us back, upgrading the room. Also, as I've always experienced, the staff was amazingly friendly and super helpful.

Room Tip: The tv rm 519 has a scratch I the screen that should probably be fixed. We didn't watch enough...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Misoor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy Z, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you for your helpful feedback, we hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 82 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017

The Wifi did not work in the room so was unable to get work done. The water pressure was turned off for several hours so was unable to shower before checking out. Room was clean and breakfast was good.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vinnie776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy Z, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear vinnie776,

Thank you, for your review. I would like to apologize for the lack of water pressure in the hotel earlier this week. A main valve failed to our hot water heaters and, unfortunately, it took five hours to make the repairs. Obviously, this is not something we could anticipate or control and we made every effort to make all our guests as comfortable as possible as we expedited repairs. We hope you’ll reconsider a future stay the next time you’re in the area so that we may change your impression of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The staff was awesome and the room was nice; clean and the bed was very comfortable for a hotel bed. I did have a couple of problems which I brought to the attention of the hotel staff and they were very apologetic and in one case addressed my concerns. There was problem with the lock on the door to my room. Once inside the room the lock would engage automatically, but not disengage when you tried to open the door, leaving me stuck in the room and having to fight with the door to get out. A coworker, experienced the same problem with the lock on her door. When checking out, I mentioned it to the hotel staff, and they had someone look into the problem.

The concern that was not addressed by the hotel staff, had to do with the meal that I ordered in the restaurant (Champions Bar). The meal was horrible: My burger which I ordered "medium" was "well done" and tasteless. In addition to the bad burger, I received "coleslaw" served with the meal was old, brown and spoiled. I should have taken it back but did not feel like going back downstairs. I mentioned it to the staff and they apologized for the experience.

I would stay here again, as the hotel is nice and the restaurant does a better job with the breakfast buffet than with dinner.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pambU3538PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy Z, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review. It is great to read that our location made it easy and convenient for your travels and to the numerous attractions in Austin. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. I would like to apologize for any frustrations you may have experienced during your stay. We wish nothing more than for all of our guests to have the best experience possible while staying with us. Thank you for your helpful feedback, we hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

This hotel is a warm, inviting and relaxed atmosphere. The staff always make you feel welcomed. Great place to stay. It's in downtown and quiet. We went on Halloween weekend. Even though Halloween event in downtown but it's very quiet and safe inside hotel. It's easy access to highway, capital, restaurant/bar in downtown. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and the staff was polite and accommodating. My family enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dallas472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy Z, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your review. It is great to read that our location made it easy and convenient for your travels and to the numerous attractions in Austin. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you for your helpful feedback, we hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

From this location, you can walk to everything! The Red Line is right across the street, and there are amazing restaurants within a half a mile. There is also a small grocery very nearby. This is a great site!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 831theresan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy Z, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for your review. It is great to read that our location made it easy and convenient for your travels and to the numerous attractions in Austin. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities. Thank you for your helpful feedback, we hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 205 in Austin
1,890 reviews
0.4 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#12 of 205 in Austin
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Austin
#23 Business Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#24 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $293 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore virbant downtown Austin, Texas while retreating to the Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center. Guests of our hotel are served complimentary breakfast every morning before guests attend conferences, trade shows and networking events at Austin Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Marriott, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn
Residence Inn By Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing