We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Staff Make This a #1 Hotel In My Opinion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Ranked #110 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“The Staff Make This a #1 Hotel In My Opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed for 5 nights total at this hotel during a girls weekend/week visit to Austin. The hotel offers shuttle service to the airport, downtown and to other places, when available, which is absolutely fabulous! The hotel is 1 mile from downtown and right on the walking path of Town Lake which you can walk to Congress St. Bridge along. There are also bike and segway rentals which were way too much fun!

It is an older hotel but we had everything we needed. Being a HI priority member gave us a lake view instead of the highway which was simply lovely. Check in was easy and welcoming. We went through a couple of room scenarios to insure that the 3 of us were comfortable. When we realized we were across from the ice machine Stella, FABULOUS!, agreed to move us if we wanted the next morning. We offered to give it a try and it wasn't a problem at all. The walls are a little thin but the hotel was filled to 100% capacity the Sat. night we were there.

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast each morning and the buffet and the orders from the menu was very good along with being very fair prices. Troy was the best waiter ever and was friendly and extremely helpful in giving us local tips. The bar was fun and we visited it a few times during our stay. We ate there a couple of times too too and were extremely surprised at how simply delicious the food really was. We even opted to go there to eat at the end of the day when one of the girls had to head back to the airport for a 6 p.m. flight.

Stella, David, Zach, Michael Thomas, Troy, Amber and many others encountered at this hotel are absolutely a joy to have met and spent time with. They were courteous, friendly, accommodating and just very nice people to know. We actually felt like we had made some very good friends.

I think what you need to keep in mind is that is NOT a downtown hotel. It is a mid-priced hotel with unbelievable services 1 mile from downtown. We saved a great deal of money by staying here with the access to the shuttle and even walked downtown one day along the lake. We tipped the drivers and the housekeeping staff as well. Why not start on the right foot? I don't think that would have mattered but it certainly didn't hurt.

We stayed 1-14 to 1-18 with 3 of us and then the 2 of us came back for our last night before flying out after an overnight to San Antonio on 1/19. All 3 of us could not get over how safe and truly appreciated we felt staying at this hotel.

We did have to take a few cabs because the hotel was busy with airport pick ups/drop offs or it was past the 10:30 p.m. deadline. They did come to get us once when I called at 10:29 p.m. They will even call for a cab for you when they can't come and get you. Cabs are so reasonable never more than $6 from where we were downtown.

True customer service is all I can say. Thank you so very much for another great visit. I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Join the HI priority club for a free upgrade. Free garage parking as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pahhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Thanks so much for this wonderful review. You experience is what we strive for with all our valued guests. Thanks too for your kind comments about our staff, they are our most important asset and we post these comments to make sure they get the recognition they deserve.

Its not always easy to provide good service and hospitality with a full house and I'm certainly elated that we made your stay special. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    220
    187
    89
    55
See reviews for
126
147
46
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Austin. The location is good as it is right off of the interstate and close to downtown. The hotel offers a shuttle to anywhere within a 3 mile radius which is nice.
We got a room in the round part of the hotel which is the "newer side". It wasn't that new looking. I would hate to see what the square side (old side) looks like. We really just needed a place to sleep for 2 nights as we were out doing stuff all day and into the night. The beds were comfortable and offered firm or soft pillows. The shower worked good but the tub backed up a minute into the shower so that wasn't fun.
We didn't eat at the hotel or utilize any of their services during our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the round part of the hotel vs the square part because the front desk told us the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waslka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
We're certainly glad you enjoyed your stay. I do have to correct you on one point. The round, or Capitol, tower was the first structure built in 1967 and is one of only 2 left in the US. The square; or Lake Tower, was built later in 1985 and includes the Fitness Center and the 6th floor pool deck overlooking Lady Bird Lake. Both were completely renovated in 2008 and current plans include further upgrading. The only read difference is the shape of the room and the configuration of the bath.

Come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed here as an overnight stop before moving on the next morning. The hotel was easy to find, but I had lived in Austin before and knew exactly where on I-35 it was located. Check in was quick, but the staff could have been a bit friendlier. No mention of hotel facilities or suggestions for activities in the area. The room was clean and well furnished. Plenty of towels and the bed was comfortable. The carpet did have a few stains, but I saw on other reviews that they are in the process of replacing carpet. Our room was on the side facing I-35 and the parking garage, not the best view but I got a heavily discounted rate and expected such a room. If you pay regular rate, be sure to request the lake side of the hotel. The highway side was rather noisy at night and a light sleeper might have some issues. Overall though the hotel was quiet and comfortable. I would stay again if I had the discounted rate - can't say I would stay for a full rate.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on our Hotel. We are hard to miss as "That round building on 35" I'm disappointed that the front desk didn't give you more information about what's close by. We provide transportation to our guests into the downtown area where there is dining and entertainment for just about any taste.

You may want to enroll in the Priority Club program. Members will always get an upgrade and a welcome amenity. At our property, the upgrade is usually a better view on a higher floor.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, please come again when you can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here while working at the flower & garden show and while it's a sufficient hotel, they really need to invest some money in renovations. The hotel is just plain tired and in need of a face lift. That said, the location is tremendous, it is clean and the staff are all at least friendly. The restaurant has a very low key menu and seems a little boring too. Pool is on the 6th floor and believe it or not, NO hot tub. What? I'd stay again if forced into it, but wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: south tower has the pool and fitness room, north tower is fading but has the bar and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thanks for the comment, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and our location. We were completely renovated in 2008 and are in the process of planning for further enhancements including carpeting and other soft goods that need updating. Our hotel gets heavy use so these step are an ongoing process.

I was elated to learn that you found our hotel spotless and our staff friendly and efficient. Our location is just the right mix of close to downtown and on the lake where you can hike, bike, stroll or paddle. In fact, we feature Bike and Kayak rentals available right in the lobby.

Enjoy your travels and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I guess I'm used to being treated well at Holiday Inn sites when I check in because I'm a platinum member. Though this is not like any other HI I've been to where the staff is always great, the staff at the front desk here was not very nice when I checked in. They were not great when we had breakfast the next day either. All that being said, this is a terrific location that is really within a mile and a half of whatever you need. I ran along the water and it was beautiful. The work our room is better than most. The amenities at this location are more overpriced than other locations so be sure to not forget anything (the deoderant I bought was the worst in overcharging). Bare minimum in amenties in the rooms so don't forget your conditioner or mouthwash. Also, there is no safe so don't bring those valuables.

Room Tip: Rooms in the south tower overlook the water and are closer to the garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyandEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
I was disappointed to learn that you were not recognized as a Priority Club member. Members are a vital part of our business and should always receive a welcome amenity along with a room upgrade. I'd love to learn who was at the desk that day.

The hotel gift shop is a contractor so we do not control pricing there but I will speak to the manager there. We do stock deodorant, mouthwash and other supplies at the front desk for just this purpose. There is also a convenience store at the end of the parking lot that has a wide variety of items .

We do have safety deposit boxes at the front desk for our guests but do not feature them in our guest rooms. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and the workout room. We invested in quality equipment that is holding up very well under heavy use. And...wasn't the view great from the treadmill.

safe ammenities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#20 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Address: 20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Price range (per night): $146 - $429
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing