We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza was very good.”

Brick Oven Restaurant
Ranked #266 of 4,248 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: USD 1 - USD 20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: The Brick Oven was established in 1982 in downtown Austin. We built the largest wood fired Brick Oven in Texas from original designs, using cast pieces over 100 years old. In 1989 a second location in Northwest Austin was added and a similar sized oven constructed. Each Brick Oven weighs over 20,000 pounds and burns three cords of oak wood every month to maintain temperatures of nearly 700 degrees. The massive size and high temperatures assure fast, consistent cooking and give our food a unique character and flavor. We feature house made breads from original recipes, high quality fresh ingredients and are locally owned and operated.
Reviewed 12 June 2018

I am a big fan of brick oven pizza. My wife and daughter were recently in Italy and I have a brick oven pizza at home. The pizza here was very good. The inside had lots of limestone on the inside making it much nicer than it actually appeared on the outside. The prices were very reasonable. My only "complaint" was that the garlic bread served with our Caesar salad was room temp and kindof hard. It would have been great to had fresh garlic bread heated up in the oven.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank TDPatterson93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cat K, Public Relations Manager at Brick Oven Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Wow, thanks for the great feedback. So glad you came in to try us out. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback and certainly take it to heart. We do heat our bread up in the oven, so I'm sad to hear yours wasn't warm. But we'll keep an eye on that. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Love this place! Great pizza & pasta dishes. Haven't found anything that has been disappointing. Staff is very friendly. Will definitely go again.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Sherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cat K, Public Relations Manager at Brick Oven Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Wonderful! Thank you for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

While visiting Austin on our way home, we stopped at this Italian restaurant hoping to find a decent pizza for dinner. What a pleasant experience it turned out to be. The interior was bright and cosy with an outside patio for those wishing to dine there. Our server quickly attended to us and the menu had a great selection of various Italian style dishes. We decided on a veggie pizza and sat back to enjoy a glass of wine while awaiting our meal. It arrived hot and fresh. It was absolutely the best veggie pizza I can ever recall eating. I only regret that we weren't in town long enough for a second visit. You gotta try this place.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Milton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cat K, Public Relations Manager at Brick Oven Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

We're so glad that we were able to be part of your trip in Austin. Thank you so much for the kind words, we hope to see you back someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Good food for a good price! We actually ate here twice during our long weekend trip for a college graduation!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PineappleKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cat K, Public Relations Manager at Brick Oven Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Wonderful! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Picked up a Large Family Pizza to go for Dinner....We like the sauce they use, feels like a Chicago Pizza...good.service,they have.great choices...

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cat K, Public Relations Manager at Brick Oven Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Awesome, we're so glad we could feed the fam and that you liked what you tried. Hope you'll be a long time custimer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brick Oven Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brick Oven Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing