We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Peaceful Oasis in the center of the Live Music Capital” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brava House Bed And Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brava House Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 40 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Peaceful Oasis in the center of the Live Music Capital”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Here you are in a quiet Austin residential neighborhood in a wonderfully restored Victorian residence. A place of peace and tranquility. But a few steps away and around the corner you're at the center of the Live Music Capital of the world - Austin's Sixth Street. But you would never know it as the house and garden courtyard are a quiet retreat, an oasis. Robin and Mary are fantastic hosts always ready with helpful suggestions and ideas and ready to recommend great restaurants and debate the finer points of bar-b-que. Their breakfasts are a great way to start the day and the rooms are perfect. Go have fun playing hard in Austin and the Hill Country and come back here for comfort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    55
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
148
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Justin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

A bed and breakfast experience in historic architecture is often compromised by, well, historic architecture and reconstruction that stresses style over substance. Many such facilities focus on the bait and hook and not the fact that you will actually have to live in the space for at least a while. Not so at Brava House. The historic charm is there, the architecture ambiance intact. But, the functionality is superb. It works! Individual heat and air conditioning controls, large and comfortable separate dining area just a bit away from the rooms, great beds, spacious bath area, gracious and friendly service-- perfect! This was our first visit. We will be back. it is to be our "home" in Austin. Thank you, Brava House!

Room Tip: Fitzgerald suite extremely roomy and comfortable. And gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanna_Explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This beautiful 19th century home is in a convenient neighbourhood - walk down to 6th street or just stroll around and admire the gorgeous older homes. We stayed in the Garbo room which had it's own living room - access to a comfy porch and even sitting out back on the patio. We like staying in more personal spaces and not always a hotel room. Conveniently located and Robyn was wonderful. All the rooms are unique - it's tough to decide!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having the Garbo Room for extra space and being on the main floor we didn't have to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I've stayed here three times and each was great. The house is beautifully maintained and each room is unique. I've stayed in a different one each time. All were great but the Garbo was my favorite. Rooms are perfectly clean and very comfortable allowing for a good night sleep. Location is good too. You can walk down to sixth street if you are so inclined. On my last stay I took the recommendation of the owner and drove a few minutes farther down sixth and had some great pizza. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleveland216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My girlfriend and I wanted to take a road trip to Austin just for the heck of it and I wanted to surprise her with something more out of the ordinary than a Motel 6. Brava House was just the ticket! I had a couple of key criteria in my search, mainly close proximity to downtown Austin and cozy accommodations. Brava House delivered!

It's an older home in an old neighborhood, but the people who live around there are obviously proud of it and keep it nice. The Brava House is no exception. We stayed in the "Casablanca" room on the 2nd floor. I'm a typical guy and even I found the place charming with its four-poster bed, iron tub with the little feet on it in our own bathroom, polished hardwood floor, etc. The bed was nice and spacious, and though the mattress was a little firm for my taste, it was still very comfy. We happened to be down on a weekend when the temps dipped below freezing but the heater worked well and we had no clue even when we woke up. Most importantly, I'm a light sleeper and the room was nice and quiet.

Outside was a really nicely arranged patio with plenty of benches and a grill set up, but because of the weather we didn't get to try it out. The kitchen/dining room on the other side was fantastic, though, and we made good use of that on Sat and Sun morning for the free breakfast. The first day were some very tasty breakfast tacos, and omelettes on the second made fresh while we stood and chatted with our hosts, who were super knowledgeable about the neighborhood and Austin itself. The first chance you get, talk to Robin or Mary and they will give you the lowdown on what to see and do around town.

Checking in and out was a snap. There were only 4-5 parking spaces in back but we always had a spot. It's about a 10 minute walk to 6th street, and it's actually just far enough away so that by the time you get back to Brava you're well within the a nice quiet neighborhood where people are trying to sleep instead of still in the party zone. And even though we returned late at night, we both felt perfectly safe. That's a huge plus.

All and all it was a great trip. Robin and Mary seem like the type who would bring you whatever you needed at 3 AM, but quite frankly we didn't have to call on them at all because everything went so smooth. I think if another Austin trip were to come up for us, we'd check availability at Brava before looking anywhere else.

Room Tip: If there's just two of you, the Casablanca room is perfect. There were four ladies staying in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElectricZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
The Driskill
#25 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#20 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brava House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brava House Bed And Breakfast

Property: Brava House Bed And Breakfast
Address: 1108 Blanco St, Austin, TX 78703-4920 (Formerly Southard House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price range (per night): $259 - $382
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brava House Bed And Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austin's only downtown B&B nestled in a quiet historic neighborhood boasting some of the best walking in town. Surrounded by restaurants and shopping, Brava house offers the best of both worlds: quiet serenity, in the heart of all Austin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Wotif.com so you can book your Brava House Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brava House b&b
Brava House Bed And Hotel Austin
Brava House Bed And Breakfast Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing