We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wood fired pizza ”
Review of Backspace

Backspace
Reserve with OpenTable
Backspace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #142 of 4,248 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 30 - USD 30
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 6th Street
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Small restaurant with great character. Better for small groups as they have just a few tables and a small counter. The menu is simple with just a few options of appetizers and pizzas. If you are up for a good pizza that reminds you of little restaurants in Italy this is the place for you. Tasty tomato sauce, good quality mozzarella and the special touch of a nice wood fired oven.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Schutz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2015

Lovely small restaurant with fresh ingredients. Pizza oven perfectly bakes the crust and all the toppings were so fresh.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wakespeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

This small restaurant serves gourmet pizza made with house-made cheese as well as other Italian small plates. I arrived mid-week for an early lunch so no waiting. From the short menu, I choose a white pizza that was created with a combination of homemade ricotta, mozzarella and romano cheeses which had a yummy salty tang to them. The pizza was topped with arugula lightly dressed in a lemony vinaigrette. The pizza crust was thin and chewy with just the right number of blackened spots.

The restaurant is small so limited seating but I had no problem getting a walk-in table. The service with quick and friendly. Although some reviewers have criticized prices, I thought prices were typical for gourmet pizza. The pizza was larger than I expected so I took half home and finished it later that day. I got a high quality pizza for my money.

I will definitely go back to try some of the other dishes and wines.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank msm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

We found this place via Trip Advisor and by the comments, it looked ideal for a hot 6pm light dinner.Two of us shared a peperoni pizza and I had a wonderful glass of Italian Lambrusco. It was the perfect combo - the flavours matched 100%. The pizza was light and terrific, the service great. There are very few tables here so either book or go early. It was a small, but good menu. Plenty of drink options at the bar.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Tasilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

My office is two blocks from the Backspace and eat there all the time. Great small plates and sides. Try the pork/lamb meatballs and spicy cauliflower. Nice roasted beet salad and delicious small pizzas. Intimate clean interior with a nice wine selection.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DLPAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backspace also viewed

 

Been to Backspace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing