We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very chic, beautifully designed hotel with excellent customer service”
Review of Heywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heywood Hotel
Ranked #5 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 June 2017

I love the design of the hotel. I want my home to feel like this. Every detail is deliberate and discovering them all is a nice little treat that delights you throughout your stay here. The front desk staff was especially helpful and every single food recommendation was spot-on! A few important considerations:
1. The cancellation policy requires a week notice.
2. The coffee is average and certainly adequate for hotel coffee but not great. If you are picky about your coffee, there are lots of cute coffee places nearby- notably flat track coffee. This doesn't detract from the overall experience.
3. They give you 2 free cans of local beer and the charges for in-room treats are so reasonable! Such a nice surprise which again justifies their well deserved 5 stars!!

Room Tip: All seem super cute!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelfoodiedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Heywood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2017

I had the pleasure of staying with Cathy and her staff at the Heywood Hotel for my birthday staycation last year. I can't believe it took me this long to post a review but visiting again I just had to. Stellar stay every time.

I have lived in Austin for nearly ten years and thought I knew all the cool spots to stay. I discovered the Heywood after moving to East Austin. I decided to book here after I realized I couldn't travel for my birthday like usual. The hotel is located just down the street from my own house but it was a great get away.

The room was great! I was greeted by a nice personal note from Cathy and the rest of the crew wishing me a happy birthday. There was also chocolate from a local shop here in Austin! The bathroom was my favorite part. I am sucker for bubbles baths.

The common patio area is a great place to hangout and enjoy the complimentary Zilker beer they provided. The patio area attached to the King Room was also great. It provided a nice private space to relax in before hitting the town.

The hotel is in the heart of the bar district on the east side so everything is very walkable. I enjoyed dinner and drinks at Stay Gold then got up early the next morning to try out La Barbecue.

It was great to feel like a tourist for a day and experience my neighborhood in a different way.

I will most definitely stay here again and again. I can't say enough about Heywood. Everything about it is great!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! Get one with a patio/balcony on the top floor
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Wonderfully quiet and elegant accommodations. Limited service, but that was perfect. Close to so many east Austin greats - coffee, BBQ, and other restaurants. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Bikes available to get around. Very close to the town lake bike and running trail.

Could not recommend this place more if you are looking to spend time in east Austin.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

If you're looking for a small boutiques place this is a must try. Hospitality amazing- they go way overboard to make your stay feel like home. Clean nice rooms -super comfy and nice outdoor patio and chair swings to relax in. Mile from city center-amazing foodie restaurants nearby.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Seriously my only regret is that I couldn't stay longer. Found this little gem in an effort to take work colleagues out for a fun night in Austin and man oh man I'll be back on personal time. Completely Austin "chic" and the staff could not be any better. This is a little hidden gem!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed downstairs but if you're with a group the upstairs with the shared courtyard looked awe...
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,146 reviews
1.5 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
1.1 km away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#17 of 201 in Austin
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,992 reviews
2.0 km away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
1,206 reviews
1.8 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Hotel

Address: 1609 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78702-4455
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $299 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heywood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An artisanal boutique hotel and unique Austin experience. Half upcycled bungalow, half courtyard hotel, the Heywood embodies the intangible elements that define Austin: Creative. Easy going. Thoughtful. Cool. Located smack dab in the middle of the vibrant East Austin neighborhood and surrounded by local restaurants, lounges, and shops, this modern boutique hotel is an easy walk to downtown, Sixth Street, the Convention Center, and Lady Bird Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Heywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing