We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Heywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heywood Hotel
Ranked #5 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

On our first trip to Austin we decided that we wanted to choose a hotel that was like Austin - funky but nice - and not a big box hotel. The Heywood is that and more. It's small, only 7 rooms, and high end. The staff is exceptionally nice and welcoming, and meet your every need. Just say what you want and they'll get on it. It's tucked into a neighborhood, but still very convenient to anywhere you want to go. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I loved sitting on the shared patio and having coffee every morning. A truly lovely place. We highly recommend it!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank wildrice311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Heywood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2016

Spent wonderful 3 day weekend in Austin TX. Stayed at great boutique hotel in East Austin called the Heywood. We were 3 couples and stayed at this perfect place with 7 contemporary rooms and had wonderful outside patio sitting area . The rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff, including Maris and Margaret, were unbelievably helpful with restaurant suggestions and activities. The hotel has bicycles that can be used by guests. The hotel location is near the Lady Bird Johnson Park and Margaret gave us a great 7 mile bike route that had a beautiful site of the city. Hotel in walking distance to terrific breakfast taco truck, special pizza at Bufalina, drinks and super music at White Horse Bar. Don't miss dinner at Emmer and Rye., Jazz at Elephant Room, breakfast /lunch at Dai Due. Wonderful weekend for couples . Can't wait to come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Marion V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

What a little gem of a hotel, in a great area of a great city. Loved the hotel and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. They offered lots of recommendations for things to do and places to eat & drink which I'm really glad we followed. They have bikes available too which we used to take a quick spin along the lake trail - well worth it. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We live in Austin and booked a night at the Heywood as a much-needed break from deadlines at work and a construction project at home. It’s amazing how well it worked! We felt like we were on a luxurious, slightly adventurous, and wholly relaxing getaway.

Our king patio was spacious, comfortable, stylish, spotless. The private patio was great for reading & chatting, and we enjoyed the twinkly lights at night. The shared patio, too, is gorgeous—I admire whoever does their gardening.

The Heywood seems to think of everything—complimentary Shiner beers started the evening off right; we enjoyed talking restaurants with Maris (we walked to dinner at Launderette and half a block away for espresso and tacos in the morning); the pillows are now on my must-have list; the bed was super comfy; two elegant, local chocolates were a thoughtful bedtime treat. The tub is nice and deep, and I loved the morning light from the skylight on the shower walls.

This is the exact type of spot we like to stay when we travel to any city. A cool spot in a neighborhood with character and great walkability. Thanks, Heywood, for making us feel perfectly pampered.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MollyOatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The Heywood is located in an up and coming area on E Cesar Chavez in East Austin. There are 7 rooms and we stayed in one of the King Deluxe rooms upstairs. The design is incredible with modern crisp lines, beautiful colors and attention paid to details. The staff was wonderful and very attentive. The hotel is located within walking distance of 3 great places to eat-Buffalina Pizza, QUI & The Launderette. This is a Home Run!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ArizonaDooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,142 reviews
1.5 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
1.1 km away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#17 of 202 in Austin
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 202 in Austin
1,990 reviews
2.0 km away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 202 in Austin
1,205 reviews
1.8 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Hotel

Address: 1609 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78702-4455
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $294 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heywood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An artisanal boutique hotel and unique Austin experience. Half upcycled bungalow, half courtyard hotel, the Heywood embodies the intangible elements that define Austin: Creative. Easy going. Thoughtful. Cool. Located smack dab in the middle of the vibrant East Austin neighborhood and surrounded by local restaurants, lounges, and shops, this modern boutique hotel is an easy walk to downtown, Sixth Street, the Convention Center, and Lady Bird Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Heywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing