We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Guaranteed reservation" was not guaranteed. No room available”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Ranked #154 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Did you know that Extended Stay means you can extend your stay as long as you want, screw whoever made a reservation after you? It does not mean stay for an extended period of time if you have reserved it in advance.

After booking my hotel stay at the Extended Stay in October and traveling over 1,000 miles in February, I was told by Yosinda, the least helpful front desk employee, that she was, "sorry, but we do not have your room available. Guests extended their stay and your room is unavailable." So now what? She offered to put us up in another Extended Stay location, 20 minutes away on the highway, but since we didn't have a rental car, that wasn't a reasonable alternative. That was all she offered. Not to help us find another hotel, no apology, nothing. We ended up finding another, better hotel, La Quinta on 11th Street and San Jacinto. I will never EVER stay at an Extended Stay. They are dead to me.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank AEN0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 296 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2011

Good staff, very clean appartment, everything you need, in Downtown Austin. It is realy cheap for so high quality.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We were checked in by a guy who clearly wasn't excited to be there. The first room we were given smelled like something had died in it, so we went down to swap it out. One of their two elevators was broken, so getting up and down took forever. Our second room smelled ok, but the bathroom was gross. The shower had no pressure and there was mold all around the sink. This place is in a decent location on 6th street, but the condition of the rooms aren't worth the location. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Towleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I've been here twice, visiting University of Texas.

The rooms have cheap furniture, linens and towels have seen better days (rough, sometimes tiny holes due to consumption), but the overall opinion is ok.

The location is really central, a few blocks away from the main part of the 6th street. It's really close to this big organic supermarket, very convenient if you want to have good meals at reasonable price. You also have a kitchen with fridge, oven and microwave in the room, so it is perfect for long staying.

If possible, ask for a room that looks on the parking of the hotel, the 6th street is quite noisy at night on weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorenzo_Tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I recently stayed at Extended Stay America with my boyfriend who was in town for Memorial Day Weekend. Neither of us had been to Austin before, but we knew the nightlife was on 6th Street, so I looked for a hotel in that area. This hotel was far cheaper than any of the other hotels on/near 6th street and for people who don't mind walking it was only a few blocks from the major nightlife area on 6th street. The room was clean and the hotel staff were courtious. The only thing I did not like was the shower head location in the bath area because it was setup for a handicap person and made no sense for anyone who would stand up to shower. Aside from that everything was great and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFflygirlF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
1.4 km away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.7 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.7 km away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.9 km away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

Address: 600 Guadalupe St, Austin, TX 78701-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $161 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking Fees: 1-6 night stays: $10/night 7+ nights: $5/night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. Texas
Extended Stay Austin
Austin Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing