We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Kenwood Guesthouses
Ranked #13 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2016

My husband and I spent 3 nights in Studio Azul. We had a lovely time in Austin and enjoyed Casa Kenwood as our home away from home. This is for sure a funky place, which was exactly what we were looking for while staying in Austin. Although it is located in a neighborhood, the location was very close and convenient to all of the things we wanted to do in the city via car. We had a few minor issues with booking the room. We were originally booked to stay in another room, but it turned out it was already booked. The owner offered us this room at a discount. I appreciated the issue being worked out so nicely and efficiently. Communication was open and easy.

Overall the room was huge and had a lot of personality. The grounds were beautiful as well, however, it was beyond hot and we did not spend much time outside. I loved having a full fridge and a kitchen. The owner was easily available via text and I loved having a code on the door rather than having to remember a key. My only complaint with the room was the sheer curtains. While they give the room a nice blue hue, they can be looked through. We saw a guest look through while they were on their way to their room. My husband went outside to see and you can for sure see through the curtains and into the room. I would just suggest adding an extra layer of the curtains or getting different curtains altogether.

We would recommend Casa Kenwood to anyone looking for a unique place to stay in Austin.

Room Tip: Studio Azul is huge!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank photopenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Casa Kenwood Guesthouses
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2016

Our 2 moms & 2 dots (twenty something daughters) had a fabulous reunion at Casa K. The Studio Azul was better than we expected. Arrived at dusk and our great space was prepped for our arrival, with glowing lamps and neon. The "barn door" window was open, letting in fresh perfect-weather-air. The bathroom was a hoot with colorful tile and repurposed materials. The wall didn't reach the high ceiling which could bother some, who love their privacy. But we were in the slumber party mode... no issue for us.

We walked down the lit up stone stairway to the yard area with chairs, fire pit and stone oven. Just amazing to find ourselves surrounded by towering trees and "jungle", tucked into a quiet neighborhood...with all the fun and activity just a few minutes away.

If only we'd had more than 2 nights and we hadn't been racing around Austin, hitting cafes, bars, art exhibits and shops... we could have made so much better use of the cozy space. Having 3 beds and 2 couches to lounge on while we talked into the night was ideal for us. The fun colors and art and great windows (showing trees) made the atmosphere just plain fun.

The temps were ideal so we needed no a.c. or heat. We ate out, so didn't used the kitchen area. No other guests staying, so all was quiet for us. Our hosts didn't intrude, but let us know they were next door if needed. Loved having a code and no key. (Codes are changed)

Great stay! Just too short!

Room Tip: There are levels in and out, which I love. Could be tricky for the old, drunk or unsteady. :)
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015

The Casa Kenwood guesthouses were a great idea for our stay during ACL. Everything is conveniently close and the care takers are very, very accomodating. Not to mention the ambiance of the place itself, it is CUTE. I would not hesitate to book a reservation at CKG next trip to Austin!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maurag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I hate to review this place , rather keep it all to myself.. but here goes.
This was more than perfect for me . Super cool casita , owners on site . Beautiful grounds. Fun , Funky and clean , with everything you need and more. Close to the area i want to ,eat and shop in. Take you bike , you won't need the car much .

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank thehej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

We have just returned from 4 nights at Casa Kenwood in Austin and we loved it! The property itself is incredible, so much to explore and enjoy outside. I wish the weather had been a bit warmer to sit outside a bit more than we did. There are two friendly dogs on site who provided us some cuddles everyday, loved them.

The location of the guesthouses is terrific, primarily if you have a car. Within minutes of driving to anything you could want. I ran a few times down to the river front and along the boardwalk, and back up South Congress. So much to see and do! If you don't want to drive, we found Uber to be terrific- very quick service and cheap!

We stayed in Casa Azul which was large, spacious, comfortable and very funky. We appreciate the amenities provided in the kitchenette, however a few more cutting knives and scissors would have been helpful. We also found the Casa to be quite dark inside, but just adds to the ambiance.

Christina was very helpful and responsive to us throughout booking and during our time there. We would definitely recommend this beautiful spot, and would return next time we are in Austin.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,142 reviews
2.1 km away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
2.1 km away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#13 of 202 in Austin
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
1.2 km away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#77 of 202 in Austin
366 reviews
0.7 km away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#2 of 35 in Austin
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Kenwood Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kenwood Guesthouses

Address: 1401 Kenwood Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $174 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Kenwood Guesthouses are one treehouse cabin (Casita Roja) and one cool "artist's" loft (Studio Azul) in the neighborhood of Travis Heights in Austin, Texas. We're not a hotel, not a bed and breakfast, and not a traditional vacation rental... We live on-site and we have two cool guesthouses and a great outdoor property that we are excited to share with travelers to Austin who are longing to discover a hint of that something special that makes Austin "weird." Visit Austin and still feel like you're home, not in a run-of-the-mill vanilla box! We're colorfully laid-back, we're artsy, we're pet friendly. There's a link to our website on this listing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Kenwood Guesthouses Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing