We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building”

The Blanton Museum of Art
Ranked #33 of 281 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This university art museum has a spectacular collection of 20th century American masters and the United State's largest collection of Latin American art.
Reviewed 26 January 2018

It was a lovely experience; enjoyed the special exhibit, the collection, the fabulous gift shop, and the hidden state room.

Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlantonMuseum, other at The Blanton Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Delighted you could join us! Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"permanent collection"
in 24 reviews
"interesting pieces"
in 8 reviews
"nice collection"
in 10 reviews
"current exhibit"
in 7 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 15 reviews
"on display"
in 15 reviews
"gift store"
in 5 reviews
"ut campus"
in 11 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 7 reviews
"bob bullock"
in 6 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 11 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 6 reviews
"parking garage"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 9 reviews
"two hours"
in 5 reviews
"visiting austin"
in 6 reviews
"installation"
in 22 reviews
Filter

48 - 52 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2018

By the time my friend and I got to the Blanton we had done alot of walking and were running out of energy. The galleries were interesting and we enjoyed speculating about the lives of people in the portraits. It would have been nice to have educational information in each gallery about the artists, period being covered, etc. so that those who are not art majors have a better framework for viewing. We spent 1 1/2 hours here, but I think you could extend that if you get in on a tour and your feet aren't tired.

Thank MomRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlantonMuseum, other at The Blanton Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our museum! We appreciate your feedback and will share this internally.

You provide a great point regarding our educational information. You might be interested to know that we have "Art Primers" on our website which go into more detail about our permanent collection, providing more detailed insight into the art and techniques. Alternatively, we provide public art tours on Thursdays (12:30pm), Saturdays (3pm), and Sundays (3pm). Our Thursday tour is also free to access for everyone as every Thursday is free entry to the museum.

We hope you find this information useful!

Best Wishes
The Blanton team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Parking is hardest part .finding it on campus garages or nearby is a challenge so I recommend weekends or winter/summer breaks. Brazos garage could work if you are ok with walking a bit. Museum is Inexpensive for the quality and quantity of major pieces. Temporary exhibits are always interesting.

Thank Italianlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlantonMuseum, other at The Blanton Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for this feedback. We appreciate the parking challenge around campus and will feedback to our team. If you ever park in the Brazos Garage, be sure to bring your ticket to our Visitors Service Desk so they can validate it for $4.

Our next exhibition "Form into Spirit: Ellsworth Kelly's 'Austin'"opens Feb. 18, 2018 and we'll have a special day of free events that day to mark the occasion. We hope you can join us!

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Super inexpensive for college students ($5). Tons to look at. Lots of interesting pieces. Great way to spend an afternoon

Thank Hatteras D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlantonMuseum, other at The Blanton Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you, we appreciate this review and are glad you hear you had a good visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Spent Sunday afternoon with family here. Wonderful artwork and the facility provided a wheelchair for my wife at no-cost! Will return!

Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlantonMuseum, other at The Blanton Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

You are very welcome, George. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and your wife was assisted.

Another highlight to look forward to is the official opening of "Austin" by Ellsworth Kelly, which will be on February 18, 2018. This event is free and will be followed by a Curator talk and public tour.

We hope to see you there!

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blanton Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to The Blanton Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing