We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Nice Surprise”

The Blanton Museum of Art
Ranked #33 of 281 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This university art museum has a spectacular collection of 20th century American masters and the United State's largest collection of Latin American art.
Reviewed 6 January 2018

An accessible, well annotated museum with a range of art to enjoy and learn about. The atrium area, which is also an art installation, is beautiful. The docent at the main podium near the entrance was quite helpful. My only concern was they could use more seating in the galleries. We enjoyed our time here and had a leisurely late lunch in the nearby cafe (across from the gift shop). Much to our delight, we heard about an upcoming concert that same week and returned to hear one of the best Christmas concerts of a local choir, featured signers, and musicians we've ever heard. Good find!

Thank Loretta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlantonMuseum, other at The Blanton Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Hi Loretta

We are delighted you were able to join us on these occasions! Thank you for your feedback concerning seating, we will relay this to our Visitors Service team.

Another highlight to look forward to is the official opening of "Austin" by Ellsworth Kelly, which will be on February 18, 2018. This event is free and will be followed by a Curator talk and public tour.

We hope you can join us again!

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"permanent collection"
in 24 reviews
"interesting pieces"
in 8 reviews
"nice collection"
in 10 reviews
"current exhibit"
in 7 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 15 reviews
"on display"
in 15 reviews
"gift store"
in 5 reviews
"ut campus"
in 11 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 7 reviews
"bob bullock"
in 6 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 11 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 6 reviews
"parking garage"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 9 reviews
"two hours"
in 5 reviews
"visiting austin"
in 6 reviews
"installation"
in 22 reviews
Filter

54 - 58 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2018

There are so many pieces here to look at and many different styles and eras represented. No liquids allowed but you can place such items in a locker near the entrance.

Thank Felora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

I love art galleries and museums. I have been to the Louvre, Vatican Museums, Uffizi Gallery, London's National Gallery and many more. When I stepped into the Blanton Museum in Austin I felt like I was in a smaller version of one of these world famous galleries. The art was displayed wonderfully and the staff was courteous and professional. The European art section (my favorite) included some real heavy hitters including Rubens, Parmigianino, Veronese, Tiepolo, Tintoretto and many others. I will certainly visit this wonderful collection again.

Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlantonMuseum, other at The Blanton Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

This is an exceptional review, thank you so much! We have some new exhibitions coming soon too, including the official opening of "Austin" by Ellsworth Kelly, which will be hosted on February 18, 2018 at 12:30pm.

This will be a free event, followed by a Curator talk and public tour of the exhibition. We hope you are able to attend!

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

The Blanton Museum of Art is located by the campus of the University of Texas, at Austin. The best bet for parking is the Brazos Garage (for which there is a fee) at 1210 E MLK Blvd. The art museum has received good reviews, and for a university museum, it is quite impressive. However, for a museum in general, I found it quite disappointing and not offering any artworks that were truly exceptional or interesting.

Thank Andi55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlantonMuseum, other at The Blanton Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear the museum did not meet your expectations. If you have any further feedback to share, please feel free to contact us on info@blantonmuseum.org

Our exhibitions and artworks regularly rotate so we also recommend checking our website listings for more information.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017

My husband and I visited the Blanton Museum of Art on the University of Texas campus in Austin, Texas on Friday, December 15th. We have visited the Blanton multiple times in the past and have always enjoyed it for its good mixture of various different types of art work. Our visit on December 15th took about an hour and a half.

We enjoyed the special exhibit on “The Open Road: Photography and the American Road Trip” where photographers took to the road to document changes in the country’s landscape and society. The exhibit was interesting, informative and nicely done.

The other exhibits in the museum offer a nice diversity of different types of art and time periods reflecting both art and life in early and more current times, being very rich in culture with well-done detailed write-ups explaining them. We liked the art of the Spanish Americas, representing territories in the Western Hemisphere under political and economic rule of the Spanish monarchy from the late 15th century to the early 19th century with paintings, books, sculptures and furniture reflecting the combined history of European and indigenous cultures. The Art of the Ancient Americas (Mesoamerica) was very interesting, reflecting art from 1200 BCE to the early 16th century showing artifacts from diverse civilizations developed in Latin America prior to being influenced by European cultures. The Ancient Greek and Roman Art was also quite interesting with ceramics and sculptures from 800 BCE – 300 CE. The European Art was beautiful and had paintings and sculptures from 1350 – 1800, including Religious Art of the Renascence (1350 -1600), Holy Family art work (1500 – 1750), British portraits (1600 – 1800), Fashionable Myths and Personifications (1600 – 1750), Portraits and Scenes from Everyday Life (1500 – 1800) among many more types of art work. The American Art included Native American Art with a mix of historical and contemporary examples with textiles, Navajo rugs, vases, pots and drawings on display. This art nicely depicted traditions and forms of artistic expression and art making practices. The American Art also had an exhibit on “Visions of the American West” illustrating cowboy and Native American cultures, manifest destiny and the expansion into the west. This art included some very beautiful and vibrant paintings. There was also Modern and Contemporary American Art on display reflecting styles associated with the political climate and rich ambivalence in the art. This art included several 1960 paintings, art reflecting abstract expression, pop art, a section called ‘Austin Collects Contemporary’ among other types of art. Different techniques were also illustrated including minimal gestures, incomplete sentences, invisible histories and portraiture. In addition, there was Modern and Contemporary Latin American art from both South and North America reflecting conceptualism, figurative art and post-war abstraction as well as other types of art, including art from Argentina and Uruguay.

The Blanton offers a nice mixture of various different types of art, much more than what I mention here. I only provided highlights of some of the types of art that we saw. The art work is spread across multiple rooms/galleries and is very nicely curated. We enjoyed the museum. It is interesting, informative and educational and we recommend a visit to the museum if you are in Austin.

Thank kzsull01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blanton Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to The Blanton Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing