We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Place To Stay”
Review of Whitten Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitten Inn
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The bed was clean and comfortable, and I love the dial soap dispenser in the shower!!! But what made this stay really amazing was the staff. My mother in law had a mild heart attack while we were here for an overnight stay. Melissa and Angel at the front desk were really efficient and called 911 for us. We had to extend our stay for several days and didn't see Melissa or Angel anymore during our stay, but Donna at the front desk was wonderful as well. We kept them informed of my mother in laws condition, [she had to have 2 stints put in] and they allowed us to stay and only charged us the original room rate that we first check in at, [we had a coupon]. The ladies were so kind and thoughtful. My husband and I left the area after my mother in law had her stints put in, but my brother and sister in law came from Huntsville and stayed an additional 3 days to take the parents back home. We will all be glad to stay here again when passing through Abilene.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 944debraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

This is a basic, no frills hotel, but very clean. Staff is extremely nice and accommodating. Rooms are very clean. Complimentary continental breakfast is a little lean, but OK. Great value for nightly rate. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

A Clean bed and wifi were what we were looking for. If you are accustomed to using the hotel soap and shampoo, you won't find it here. I always bring my own so wasn't bothered by not having it. There was an iron, coffee maker, tv, wifi, table and chairs and 1 living room type chair. If you are low on money and in Abilene, this place is a thumbs up.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank colinebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Perfect for an overnight stay. The room was clean and tidy but the bathroom was a bit on the small side. The pool was not available which again was a bit of a disappointment to us. We got a bit confused at reception as they tried to sell us pillows....
Breakfast was simple.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Please don't stay here. This is what we saw the morning after. But they had to come change the sheets on the other bed day one. The manager changed us to a clean room and offered a $20.00 refund for the first night. They said it was no the standard but I felt it was. Every hotel was booked that weekend. Claiming they were 4 stars no way. Don't do it

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank clow99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
10.5 km away
Candlewood Suites Abilene
Candlewood Suites Abilene
#24 of 37 in Abilene
46 reviews
10.8 km away
MCM Elegante Suites
MCM Elegante Suites
#18 of 37 in Abilene
257 reviews
10.4 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
3 km away
Best Western Abilene Inn & Suites
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#12 of 37 in Abilene
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitten Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn

Address: 1625 Texas Highway 351, Abilene, TX 79601-4745
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Abilene
#3 Family Hotel in Abilene
Price Range: $78 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interior corridor rooms with exterior accessing doors. All rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Happy hour nightly. Fitness room, outside pool, breakfast cooked daily and business center. RV lot and deluxe suites also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Whitten Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Inn University Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel University
Whitten Inn Abilene, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing