We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Altoona
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here so we could check-out the amusement parks. Liked the hotel very much. Staff was very nice. Altoona does need to get some nice places to eat tho. We tried to find the Applebees. Staff told us wrong where it was. We drove around for a long time and finally ate in Chil's which we did not like at all. Hotel breakfast was very nice and always stocked,. Place was quiet for sleeping too.

Room Tip: rooms away from parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seymour E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

I am very glad that you enjoyed our hotel. I do apologize that our staff gave you incorrect information for directions. We will make sure that all of our people understand the importance of giving correct information at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 380 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a VERY clean establishment. They have everything you need and it's right off Highway 99. Horseshoe Curve and many other restaurants are about a 20-minute drive. Breakfasts and Wi-Fi are free. Although it's called a suite, I am not sure if I completely agree. It does have a quarter wall separating the beds from the couch and chair setting along with a nice size office desk. The bathroom is a very nice size. The only complaint I have are the walls are thin. We could hear our neighbors which I am not a fan of.

Room Tip: A/C runs from the thermostat on the wall not the unit itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dk6499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for mentioning how clean our hotel was doing your visit. We feel that there is nothing more important to our guests than a clean hotel and friendly service. Please ask our front desk staff for directions to area restaurants upon your next visit. We have over 20 restaurants that are minutes from the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stay here when visiting my mother who lives across the street in the "home" as we affectionately call it. This is an interstate hotel.....only there because a highway runs by it but for me it is a great value. The rooms are big, nicely appointed, clean and include breakfast (not great but toast and cereal is ok). The rooms are a bit noisey so we use the fan as white noise to buffer it. I would not stay on the first floor near the lobby... too noisey but other than that no complaints. We used to stay at the Marriott Courtyard which is the only other hotel in Altoona I would stay at, but this is better (except if you want restaurants, shopping then stay at Marriott).

Room Tip: Noisey so stay away from lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beentherefromKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our property. I am so pleased that you found our location to be convenient for your visit. Many of our guests tell us how much they like that we are at both a quiet location and also easily accessible to I-99. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Back in Altoona and reminded why the "Comfort inn" isn't my first choice, woke up by housekeeping @ 9am could of sworn that "Do not Disturb" was up, funny I can't find it in the room housekeeper that woke me up must have it... oh well I'm just not happy here next time its my favorite in Altoona or its my car cause atleast no one will wake me up early there...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

I appologize that your sleep was interupted by the housekeeper. I can assure you that we would never intentionally disturb a guest. I hope that you will try our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We chose this location over a couple others in the area based on the excellent reviews we read on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we were somewhat disappointed. Like another reviewer around the same time, the main problem was the front desk. We arrived at 5 pm and were told that there were no clean rooms available, but that they would have one within 10 min. They claimed this was because they were sold out the previous night. No big problem. We waited and were given a key to a room, only to find that the maids were still working on it!
We took a look at the pool, but decided against trying it, as it just didn't look that inviting.
The room was clean and fairly large. I would have traded in the marble in the bathroom for more water pressure.
The breakfast was good and the lady working the breakfast bar was very pleasant. The forks were awful flimsy for cutting a nice waffle.
On our return to the room the 2nd day of our stay we discovered that the key card no longer worked. A trip to the front desk remedied this, but it should never have happened.
Also I asked if they had any pillows which were firmer, but they didn't.
It was a good hotel with a nice lobby and room appearance, but because of front desk problems, not worthy of 4 or 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillZ299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

I am sorry that your room was not ready for you upon your arrival. I am also sorry that your room key quit working for you. Sometimes the cards loose their magnetic code if they are too close to a cellphone. I hope you will try our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
10.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Altoona
463 reviews
0.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
8.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
12.4 km away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
837 reviews
13.1 km away
Courtyard Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
#9 of 15 in Altoona
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Altoona

Address: 140 Stroehman Dr, I-99 and Pine Croft Exit #39, Altoona, PA 16601-9422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: $82 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all Suite Hotel located off of I-99 at Exit# 39. All of our rooms are equipped with either 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds, a Microwave, Fridge, K-Cup Keurig Machine, and a Pull-Out Sofa Bed. We offer free WIFI and a Complimentary Hot Breakfast for all of our guests. We have 2 meeting spaces available, a heated indoor pool, and a 24 hour fitness center. Group Rates and Package deals are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Altoona Hotel Altoona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing