We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokers Haven”
Review of Super 8 Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Altoona
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The staff at this hotel were kind and helpful. The room was clean and the housekeeper even made sure everything was great. That is where the good review ends.

When I arrived, the staff, manager, owner,(not sure who it was other than they worked there) was smoking in the lobby. Is that even legal in PA anymore? As an asthmatic, I immediately started into an attack, lost my voice, and had to leave the building until my paperwork was completed.

Then to get to my room the staff led me through the second floor which is the smoking floor. Finally I made it to my room, which was clean. However as the air conditioner continued to work and smokers came back to the hotel my room began smelling like smoke. All night, I would get spurts of smoke strong enough to wake me. I finally opened the window so I could breathe and left it open both days I stayed. My budget stay ended up in a dry cleaning bill because my business suit smelled like smoke enough that my colleagues smelled it on me. I also had to purchase a new pillow which cost $30.

If you smoke or don't mind smelling like smoke, I encourage you to stay here. It was quiet....no tv noise....no water running noise, and no one running the halls. The staff are friendly and will help you without complaint.

However, if smoke bothers you, do not stay here because even the lobby has smoke in it and your budget stay will cost you more in dry cleaning and medicine.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so you are carrying you items to the third floor. Smoking floor is the 2nd flo...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccermomalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Altoona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dorothy K, General Manager at Super 8 Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank 14leslym
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank jackhL3694XT
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 August 2017

overall very good. Smell of smoking in the hallways was a bit offputting. and the malfunctioning lock on the entrance door in front had to be worked around. Also I had trouble getting an internet connection in my room. It worked in the lobby but not on the 2nd floor. I will return again.








also but I'll return again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank P6274LVpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy K, General Manager at Super 8 Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for choosing Super 8 for your lodging needs, and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
2.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
0.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Altoona
451 reviews
10.5 km away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
85 reviews
10.7 km away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
4.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Altoona

Address: 3535 Fairway Dr, Altoona, PA 16602-4479
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: $79 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Altoona 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Altoona Hotel Altoona
Super Eight Altoona
Altoona Super Eight
Altoona Super 8
Super 8 Hotel Altoona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing