We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion”
Review of Super 8 Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Altoona
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank jackhL3694XT
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Altoona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

overall very good. Smell of smoking in the hallways was a bit offputting. and the malfunctioning lock on the entrance door in front had to be worked around. Also I had trouble getting an internet connection in my room. It worked in the lobby but not on the 2nd floor. I will return again.








also but I'll return again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank P6274LVpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy K, General Manager at Super 8 Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for choosing Super 8 for your lodging needs, and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Unbelievable it's gotten this bad in about 4 years. Hairs on bed sheets, weird smell in room, TV didn't work, had to get last room, breakfast gone, 1 person trying to handle everything, smoke filled entrance ways (smoking areas at doors), no elevator, no late check out with AARP, etc, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank catmomsheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

The hotel clerk was sitting outside smoking when we got there, and we got to the front desk before she did. We got our room, and told where it was. The room had a funny smell - not really bad, just weird. We planned to go get some air freshener to solve that. But then the TV didn't work ("no signal"). I called down to the front desk, and the poor woman was breathing hard like she had just run a mile. She quickly told us to turn on the light switch by the door - that would turn the TV on. She quickly hung up before I could say that it was on, just getting no signal. I called her back - she was way out of breath again - and sounded panicked and said there was nothing she could do, she didn't know how to fix it - could we wait until the 2nd shift guy came? We had to leave to go to a double-header across the street at The Curve, and wouldn't be back until late. So she said she had ONE more room, on the 3rd floor. We jumped at it, even without an elevator it would have to be better than this one. Lugged our stuff up 3 flights, and the room's TV did work. However, there was a big long hair in the sink (we both have short cropped hair), and there were what looked like pubes on my blanket and top sheet. So I tore them off and used my own blanket throw. My husband said they weren't pubes, but they were either that, or some small curly black hairs. Also, be warned that the frame for the bed sticks out way far, right by your feet as you get out of and into bed. My husband hit his ankle on it and it was very painful. The pillows are 3 small squishy squares, that swallow your head, give not support, and when you stack them together, give you a headache and a sleepless night. The bed (mine, at least) was so soft and bouncy it was hard to get out of. Breakfast the next morning was less than Continental, with almost everything gone by 9:10. It runs until 10:00 am. The front desk clerk was running around like a chicken with her head cut off trying to keep up the breakfast nook, and completely ignored me when I said Good Morning. When we checked out, there was no one to be found in the lobby or front desk, so we just left our pass keys on the desk, and got the hell outta Dodge! Never again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

this was the first time we vacationed as a three generation family including my granddaughter .We had stayed at Altoona,Pa Super 8 MANY TIMES over the years our selves and this time made it more special .Everybody at Super 8 WAS POLITE AND HELPFUL ,rooms were clean and cool we look forward to returning just us next month and making our family vacation a annual return destination at Altoona Super 8.!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy K, General Manager at Super 8 Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
2.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
0.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
451 reviews
10.5 km away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
85 reviews
10.7 km away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
4.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Altoona

Address: 3535 Fairway Dr, Altoona, PA 16602-4479
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: $79 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Altoona 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Altoona Hotel Altoona
Super Eight Altoona
Altoona Super Eight
Altoona Super 8
Super 8 Hotel Altoona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing