We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Dime

The Dime
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 463 Restaurants in Allentown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Dime is an upscale dining experience like no other. Our menu features locally inspired and locally sourced Pennsylvanian American cuisine. Our inspiration comes not just from our own Lehigh Valley, but from all regions of the state, including, Lancaster County, the Greater Pittsburgh area, historic Philadelphia and a continually evolving list of culinary landmarks. Our dining spaces are a timeless and elegant homage to the Lehigh Valley's rich history as well. The Dime's full-service bar features Pennsylvanian specialties among its extensive list of craft beers, wines and made-from-scratch cocktails. And our incredible assemblage of renowned chefs and restaurant professionals will ensure that every meal with us will be among your most incredible and memorable dining experiences.
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Part of the Renaissance hotel I ate and drank at the bar here and found it to be although a bit pricey for cocktails they were very well made and tasty.

I had a really nice chicken burger and beer and was pleased with the service and overall experience.

Thank crystald629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd P, General Manager at The Dime, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for the 4/5 review, Crystal.

It's excellent you enjoyed your time with us so much. We're delighted you appreciated our food and service. We strive for excellence so we look forward to sharing an even better experience with you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for The Dime
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

I met two friends who were staying at the Renaissance Hotel. We decided to try Sunday brunch in the hotel’s Dime restaurant.

Both the lobby and the restaurant interiors are contemporary in design, but not in the overused retro, corporate sleek style. The design elements make good use of lighting to define spaces, and are the right balance of hard and soft visual elements. The Dime offers a nice view of Center Square.

The brunch buffet was well prepared. The pancakes were fresh and light. The berries were flavorful, as was the orange juice. The oatmeal was a pleasing, creamy consistency, not thin and watery, or a sticky, impenetrable glob. The tea selection is that of Taylors of Harrogate, and the English Breakfast Tea was comparable to the Taylors of Harrogate Yorkshire Tea I prefer at home. The waitress was on point. I recommend the Dime as a breakfast venue.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TLinHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd P, General Manager at The Dime, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thanks for the 4-star rating and review!

We're thrilled you had such a pleasant time with us.  We strive to offer top-notch service alongside our delicious food.  It's fantastic you enjoyed our decor and lovely views as well as our breakfast selections.  That's what we like to see!  We appreciate your valuable feedback.

We look forward to sharing an even better experience with you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Short Rib Taco from the bar menu was AWESOME! The service was polite and thorough. I travel for work and spend 5-10 days per month in Allentown. This restaurant and the short rib taco is my new favorite! Thank you

Thank jjgoanejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd P, General Manager at The Dime, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review, jjgoanejr.

We're happy you had such a fantastic experience with us.  You simply cannot go wrong with the short rib taco!  It's one of our favorite dishes on the menu.  We're glad you enjoyed it so much and that our team took such great care of you.  If there's anyway we can accommodate you during a future visit, please let us know.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I held my wife's 50th birthday party at the Dime. We could not have had a better experience. All 10 couples who attended agree the food, drinks and service were perfect. Sarah, the event manager hosted our party and everything done exceeded our expectations

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd P, General Manager at The Dime, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thanks for the fantastic review, David!

It's wonderful you had such an excellent experience with us and that we could help you celebrate such a special occasion.  We're happy our team took such great care of you.  We look forward to sharing another amazing experience with you soon.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

This place has great potential, but beware of event nights. Although they have a special event menu, they were severely understaffed and everything from our drinks, our food, the pace of food delivery and just about everything else was affected. To begin, we love calamari and the pricy pretzel coated option sounded amazing but quickly turned into a fun family game called, "find the calamari. Go ahead, you try in the picture attached. There were three coated and fried lemon slices, tons of onions and we think carrots or sweet potato strips. We counted about seven actual pieces of calamari. Then, the drinks, also a 14 dollar offering, each. We know and love bourbon and these were clearly made with rye and tasted like the dishwater. Then, they put the largest block of ice in the glass which leaves no room for the actual liquid. We ordered very simple dishes, wedges, two appetizers and two kids meals, a grilled cheese and pasta, yet, it took over an hour to get everything.
Just a thought, put service and staffing before the attempt at a Chic big city menu.

Thank Just-Joey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd P, General Manager at The Dime, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

We appreciate the feedback, Joey.

We're disappointed your time with us was less than ideal.  It's unfortunate our service and dishes didn't meet your expectations.  We regret that you didn't enjoy your drinks or dishes.  We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll be sure to address your concerns with our team moving forward.

We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dime also viewed

 

Been to The Dime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing