We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific brunch with friendly staff”

The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 471 Restaurants in Allentown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A welcoming approach to old-world hospitality with an urban vibe and new- world flair. The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar will take you back to the days of the public house, where both locals and visitors gathered for a heartwarming, good meal, great conversation and flowing libations. The Hamilton Kitchen will showcase seasonal American cuisine, featuring takes on regional classics from around the country and the family dinner table.
Reviewed 12 June 2017

This is a cool restaurant centrally located in town square. We had cinnamon pancakes and the waffle sandwich. Our food was served hot and tasty. The coffee was weak and the cups were way too small but overall a very good restaurant. We made the mistake of eating at the Dime the night before. This is way better.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OCC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher D, General Manager at The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the 4/5 rating! We're thrilled you had such a pleasant experience with us! It's lovely you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes so much. That's what we like to see! We strive for excellence so we look forward to hosting you again soon for an even better experience.

Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Boyfriend took me to dinner here for Valentine's Day - they had a special just for the occasion. The food was excellent, the service was attentive esp. considering how busy they were. We enjoyed the evening. A little pricey for regular visits but definitely good for special evenings.

Thank Suzanjoy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher D, General Manager at The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thanks for the 4/5 rating, Suzanjoy!

We're thrilled your time with us was so pleasant! It's fantastic you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes so much. That's what we like to see! We look forward to hosting you again soon for an even better experience.

Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

This place has the best bourbon selection in the Lehigh Valley. If you are looking to taste a rare whiskey, this is the place to go first. They have a huge selection and even do barrel buys from distillers, where they buy all the whiskey in the barrel and have it barreled for their restaurant alone. It adds a nice touch.

The old fashion is the best old fashion I've ever had and it's my go to drink whenever I have the chance to go here. That drink alone would get this place a 5 star review.

The down side to this place is that to be able to maintain stocks of all the rare whiskey you could want to try, you really have to have to want to taste it. Pours are on the very high end of the market, also to the point they don't really want anyone to drink it and use the price to deter you from buying it and choosing something else. It's really a shame.

The food outside of happy hour is slightly over priced, especially for the appetizers and flat bread pizza and other bar food type selections. The dinner portions in the restaurant are good and the food is high quality. The chef does a great job and the specials are usually top notch. You will be paying on the high end of market again for the local area, but the prices are in line with several of the other establishment within walking distance.

But the location is right in the middle of the downtown revitalization effort. It's a great atmosphere and they have outdoor seating which is great in the summer. It can get very busy when there is a hockey game at the arena across the street, so check the schedule before making a special trip.

It's a great spot for a happy hour get together or a nice meal, but the prices are a tad high, perhaps a touch too high to apply the old saw "you get what you pay for."

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher D, General Manager at The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Thanks for the 4/5 review, Leo!

We're thrilled to hear that you think we have the best bourbon selection in the Lehigh Valley - that's what we like to hear! We're also very pleased that you enjoy many of our dinner selections and specials. We'd love to host you again soon for an even more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

I would NOT recommend...pricey and service was very slow, mad many excuses but the place was not crowded. We were not happy!

Thank brynnrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher D, General Manager at The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback.

We're deeply disappointed to hear that your dining experience with us was less than ideal. We strive to offer our guests quality service and delicious cuisine. However, your experience is not on par with the service we're accustomed to providing. We'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team. Please consider allowing us another chance to provide you with the excellent service we're capable of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We went here for a dinner on a Saturday night and the place was busy (so our food was a little slow in coming out). Everyone was pleased with their choices. There was only one main dish option for vegetarians. Worth mentioning are the cocktails, which were well crafted and delicious - we had the whisky sour and the amaretto sour, which were both great.
The ambiance is nice - it has a very Italian flair to it, and we enjoyed ourselves.
Parking is a bit of an issue but there is valet parking for 7 bucks but don't forget to have the restaurant validate your ticket.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank culehmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher D, General Manager at The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thanks for the 4/5 review!

We're thrilled to hear that you had a great dining experience with us! It's wonderful that you and the rest of your party all enjoyed your dishes - that's what we like to hear! We're also very pleased that you loved the cocktails! We're looking forward to hosting you again soon for an even more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
Allentown, PA
 

Been to The Hamilton Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing