We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not great”
Review of Ashland Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashland Creek Inn
Ranked #6 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good not great”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The hotel has many good qualities but fails to justify the steep prices they charge. Our room and the room of some friends were somewhat clumsy in design. The food was decent but in no way exceptional. As some other reviewers have noted, the hotel has a somewhat worn look.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaPalos, Manager at Ashland Creek Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your measured and honest review. We appreciate the feedback as it helps us improve greatly. Many of the rooms are filled with antiques and things purchased abroad, and in this way we certainly are not as shiny and new as any corporate hotel one may stay at, but on the other hand, we're not trying to be. What I'm most concerned about is that your dining experience was not exceptional. Our Head Chef came over from Lela's and receives consistent praise. I will be looking into the matter personally to see what was different during your stay.
Again, thank you for the review, though it was negative I'm glad to see we still got four stars, and I would love to have you again sometime in the future.

Best,
Sophia Palosaari
Manager
Ashland Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    10
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
129
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fortuna
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

There is just no better place on earth as far as I am concerned.
The Staff, Graham, Heidi and his entire staff, are like family. They take every oppurtunity to make you feel at home and they provide you with the utmost in comfort.
The rooms are incredibly clean, the beds are incredibly comfortable, and the sheets are soft and smooth.
The breakfasts they provide are delicious and healthy ! I think you get quite a bargain when you include the breakfasts.
The chef is amazing. I had a different delious breakfast all 4 days along with great fruit smoothies to star.
The dining room is light and quiet and comfortable.
I always sleep great there, and I never wan to leave.
Seeing the theater is great, but I would just consider it a vacation in itself to just be there!!!
Thanks for another great stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjpphn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaPalos, Manager at Ashland Creek Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your review! As a small staff, we appreciate reviews like this immensely, and really take them to heart. I will certainly pass on to Jasmine how much you enjoyed her cooking. I'm glad too to hear how comfortable you were while staying here. We use sheets with thread counts of 540 and above, and I agree, it truly makes a difference.

Thank you again for the kind words and hope to see you again in the future.

Sophia Palosaari
Manger
Ashland Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed in Matsu, a suite decorated in Japanese style with a kimono on the wall. The suite and the atmosphere of the inn are conducive to achieving a state of peace and harmony with nature. Breakfasts were served out on the deck that overlooks the creek--a summer luxury. Breakfast is served at 9AM, usually includes a wonderful smoothie, and is always tasty, nicely prepared and graciously served. The sound of the creek could be heard at night, lulling us off to sweet dreams.

Room Tip: Check the website to find a suite that matches your taste and needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwulkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaPalos, Manager at Ashland Creek Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for the review! Don't you just love that creek? We are really one of the only places in Ashland that as a lodging facility have access to such a gift. I think it makes all the difference, there's nothing like falling asleep to that sound.

Hope to see you again soon,
Sophia Palosaari
Manager
Ashland Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Had we known how delightful our rooms at the Ashland Creek Inn were going to be, we would have sacrificed a couple of plays to sit on our private deck, above the roaring creek.

Gourmet breakfasts were served in a woodland setting on a beautifully landscaped brick patio alongside the creek. The food was generous, inventive and served individually. It was the beautiful environment and the personal attention that captivated us. Graham, one of owners, sat with us and recommended restaurants for our week’s stay. Not only did we not have a bad meal in Ashland (and Talent), we didn’t have a bad course! Homemade afternoon snacks and drinks were available in the office.

The Inn is situated 2 blocks from The Plaza and therefore we were able to leave our car and walk everywhere. Our suite, which included a kitchen, living room with fireplace and 1 ½ baths, was huge, comfortable and well kept--with a Moroccan decor.

One early evening, the Inn arranged a wine tasting party with a local vintner and hors d’ oeuvres on their deck; it was a good opportunity, if one chose, to become acquainted with other guests.

Curb your enthusiasm for 8 plays in 7 days and relax and enjoy the virtues of the Ashland Creek Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaPalos, Manager at Ashland Creek Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
What compliments! Thank you very much for the review, your words mean a lot to all of us here at the inn. I hope you are already re-booked with us and that I will get to meet you in person sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sophia Palosaari
Manager
Ashland Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We recently traveled to Ashland with our two adult daughters and stayed in the beautifully decorated "Taos Suite" at the Ashland Creek Inn. The suite has two bedrooms, two baths, a living room and small kitchen. It was a perfect set-up for the four of us. We could play cards on the large porch overlooking the beautiful creek, and we could hear the rushing water from the master bedroom all thru the night. I liked the fact that there was a private entrance, and absolutely no noise through the walls, or from up above, which is rare at a B&B. The breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the creek were fantastic, with great service. The Ashland Creek Inn is ideally located on a quiet street, but only a short walk from restaurants, theatre, Lithia Park, and shops. We hope to get to Asland again and if we do, we will definitely try to stay here.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaPalos, Manager at Ashland Creek Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for the review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here. I'm happy to hear the sound proofing worked well for you. Though this building has some history (130 years to be exact!), we worked hard to ensure few sounds enter the room. It makes for a nice reveal when the door to the creek is opened as we aim to have the only sound entering your room be that of the creek as you drift off to sleep at night...

Warmly,
Sophia Palosaari
Manager
Ashland Creek Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 km away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.4 km away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#4 of 19 in Ashland
682 reviews
4.5 km away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
807 reviews
4.6 km away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.7 km away
Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Creek Inn

Property: Ashland Creek Inn
Address: 70 Water St, Ashland, OR 97520-1843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price range (per night): $164 - $537
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashland’s finest all-suite boutique hotel. Luxury suites featuring sitting rooms, private decks, and kitchenettes all overlooking Ashland Creek in a private park setting. Style, comfort and privacy only 3 blocks from the theatres. Gourmet breakfasts each morning. Featured in Sunset, NY Times, NW Palace, Fodors, AAA, and Moon Guides. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing