We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Austinburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Was driving to Ohio to visit my brother, was going to stop in Erie for the night but all the hotels were sold out because of a festivle . Tried another place first right near here they wanted over 200 dollars for a night ,which I though was a little outrageous for a motel. So I found this place about midnight was able to get a room to rest for few hours .The girl at the desk was wonderful. I wish I got her name she was very friendly and helpful even at midnight . The breakfast was great in the morning .Room was clean I will defintly stay again if I am in this area again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank mag429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We (1 adult 6 kids) recently stayed here while going to GOTL. Staff was great. We had a 2 room suite. Room was clean and spacious. Kids loved the pool and afternoon snack. Breakfast was also very good. On our next visit to GOTL we will stat here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank MT H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

I am a Platinum Spire IHG Member and use Holiday Inn Express exclusively. I reserve online and I am always a late arrival with my reservation noted as such. I arrived at 9:30 PM on July 29th to find my room was not only "no longer available," but some how my reservation had been modified to Nov 5th by someone other than myself. The agent insisted I made an error in booking the reservation. I located the SMS to my cell prior to 6 pm with the correct data. I asked him to verify how and by whom the reservation was modified. He was unable to provide that information. I was offered the last room available, not the room type I reserved, at a reduced rate for the inconvenience. Another person, seeking a room, arrived as we were speaking and was told the hotel was full and no longer had rooms available. In all my YEARS of using IHG hotels I have NEVER had this happen before. The individual at the desk was not wearing a name tag. I asked his name, but instead was referred to a table with business cards to the right of the front desk, should I need further assistance. If you are arriving late, call ahead to let the desk know you are coming and get the name of the individual answering the phone. Otherwise you may not have a room when you arrive.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mommyskot07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear mommyskot07,

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel and for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate the above average rating given on cleanliness and value. While our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations, I apologize for the disappointment experienced surrounding your reservation and the inconvenience this may have caused you. We sincerely care about your experience and what you described certainly isn’t what we want for any of our Elite members like you to encounter. I have already brought your comments to the hotel's attention and necessary actions will be taken to avoid the same inconvenience in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. Your IHG Rewards Club membership is valued and we hope that this experience will not deter you to give us another opportunity to pamper you with exceptional accommodation on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Grace P.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We had a large party to stay at this hotel for a family reunion. They also had a large wedding party in the hotel. I overheard the people at the front desk say they were sold out over the weekend. The staff did a nice job stocking up the breakfast area during peak times. The common areas were well kept despite the heavy traffic. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Everyone was friendly and helpful. My kids enjoyed the indoor pool and the gym was good although on the small side. I was returning pool towels one morning and an attendant saw me and offered to take the towels to save me a trip. Nice. Also, we had to leave a few minutes before breakfast officially started but the person setting up the food let me in anyway. And everything was set up and ready to go. Excellent!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lacsatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed June 7th, 2017. One night 3 kids, mom and dad. The front desk was very inviting and helpful. The room was very clean and accommodating, the pool was great and the breakfast was good. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Zero issues to report.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austinburg
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
451 reviews
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
0.1 km away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
444 reviews
34.8 km away
Quail Hollow Resort, A Trademark Collection Hotel
0.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva

Address: 1831 Austinburg Rd, Route 45 North, Austinburg, OH 44010-9762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Austinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Austinburg
Price Range: $134 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashtabula offers the finest accommodations in the Ashtabula area. Easily accessible, the Holiday Inn Express is located just off I-90, at exit 223. The Holiday Inn Express is between Erie and Cleveland, with Erie being 45 minutes east, and Cleveland being 50 minutes west. Cleveland Hopkins Airport is also only 45 miles away. The Holiday Inn Express is located 45 miles from the Presque Isle Downs, near Erie, which offers horse racing and slot machine gambling. We are also conveniently located 10 minutes from Thompson Speedway. Located only 5 miles east of Great Sports Complex. Amenities include an indoor heated pool, exercise room, business center, & deluxe complimentary Express Start breakfast. All rooms include free wireless high-speed Internet access, iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 25" TVs with full cable, two - two line phones with data ports, in room movies & Nintendo for a nominal fee. Several types of suites are available as well, including: business leisure, two room family suite, and super luxurious two room theme suites with whirlpool tubs. A meeting room is available for special events. The friendly and dedicated staff is Smart Service Plus trained, and will ensure your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel is a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva Hotel Ashtabula
Holiday Inn Ashtabula
Ashtabula Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing