We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, great front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Stayed in first floor nonsmoking room, two queen beds. Room was clean, bed very comfortable (I liked the pillows so much during my first HIE stay that I ordered them online for my home), room was quiet, a/c worked well. Wifi and tv channels came in clear. Extremely friendly and welcoming front desk staff at our check in. Paid $109 plus taxes for one night stay.

Room Tip: get a room away from elevators, ice and vending machines.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

This is our go to Hotel when visiting family in Pomeroy and Nelsonville as it is pretty central.
We also like that it is Pet Friendly and has a Great Dog Park located behind it.
Staff is always very friendly and accommodating.
We were there while some renovations were being done and that's always nice to see that property is being maintained.
I will say that our bed was VERY COMFORTABLE as were the PILLOWS and that's not something that is easily accomplished in most properties because there is no bed like your own, HOWEVER THIS BED & PILLOWS WERE EXCEPTIONAL!!
The only improvement that would be necessary would be our bathroom. Although it had been upgraded it needed some TLC as the wallpaper was torn and water damaged, ceiling had water damage, grout missing in floor tiles and the modern tub surround had shelves broken off.
We also noticed the new carpeting in the hallway was very nice, but a potential hazard as there are a lot of bubbled spots throughout that someone could trip on.
Please the above are only to inform you not criticize.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank MDLJ7512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, on a weekend trip to go to the Nelsonville Music Festival, The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was great, would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedf450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay. We can;t wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

They asked me my preference when I arrived. Additionally the internet was fast and breakfast was good. There is an indoor pool and hot tub and you can walk out back to get to the bike/walking trail. There is a nice park just next door with a lot of kid friendly things to do.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor and could hear the person above me dropping their suitcase but it wasn...
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KadieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you KadieKay for taking the time to review your stay! We are pleased you enjoy your stayed with us. We certainly hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

This place is nearly new and features better than average bathroom decor and beds. It is also very pet friendly--it's right next to the city dog park! If you are at all into outdoor recreation, it's perfectly situated by the riverside bike trail, the skateboard park, and the city pool. Across busy State Street is Stroud Park, which has an amazing set of hiking trails in the hills above Athens. Taking State Street West into town, it's a short drive to the excellent Village Bakery and then on to Ohio U campus.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
504 reviews
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
3.2 km away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
39.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
38.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Address: 555 E State St, Athens, OH 45701-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $143 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home with Holiday Inn Express Athens Ohio. This choice Athens, OH hotel is nestled in the Appalachian Mountains and is perfect for your leisure or business travel needs. Let our professional and friendly staff make your stay enjoyable in our brand new facility. We know you'll fee at home with us. Families will enjoy their stay at this Athens, Ohio hotel, located in one of the most haunted towns in America. Our hotel is close to several haunted attractions including Mt. Nebo, the Koons Spirit Room, the Ridges Cemetery and Old Lunatic Asylum. Our smoke-free hotel is conveniently located near Athens' attractions including the Dairy Barn Arts Center, Fur Peace Ranch, Stuart's Opera House and The Kennedy Museum of Art. Located one mile from Ohio University, our hotel is great for corporate travels. We offer easy access to U.S. Hwy 33 and 50. Columbus OH, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh are within one to three hours by car. Ohio University is one mile and Hocking College is ten miles away. O'Bleness Hospital, Diagnostics Hybrids and Health Recovery Services are each 2 miles from us. Kerr Distributing is 15 miles away. In addition, we offer a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to our guests. Stay Smart in our lovely Athens, OH hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, a large indoor pool with a spa, and a new fitness center. Let our hotel in Athens be your home in Athens on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing