We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Civil War Buffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sand Dollar Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Reviewed 19 February 2017

An affordable motel five minutes from Fort Macon State Park. Perfect for people who enjoy trails along the beach, and repeat visits to this historical destination. Also easy access to shopping and restaurants in Atlantic Beach.

Room Tip: Closest to office has better Wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Julyan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 91 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

The Sand Dollar is a small older motel, located near the beach. This was my first time staying there. I chose it for the location, and the off season price. The rooms are small, but all I needed. Everything was clean, the TV was up to date with a great channel selection. The showers were nice, colorful, and worked well The water temperature can fluctuate while your in there, so watch out.
I stayed in a regular room the first night, and a room with a kitchen and 2 bedrooms the second night. I had no problems with either one.
The management was friendly, and nice.
This is a no frills motel, but I would definitely stay there again
You do have to walk a couple of easy blocks to the beach. You can walk to Fort Macon, or drive and park there for a day at the beach.
I wasn't expecting luxury, but was very pleased with the basic accommodations.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016

We stopped into this hotel on a road trip without a reservation - not high beach season so there was a room available. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean and had all the basic amenities - microwave, fridge, soap, towels etc. Nothing fancy but everything we needed. The location was quiet and convenient, and a good area for a morning jog.

Room Tip: The rooms farthest away from the main road are quietest, but there was no noise to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The Sand Dollar is very clean and sufficient if you're not into lots of ammenities and want low rates. Public beach access about 3 city blocks up, with gazeebo, swing set, shower. Larget shell piles very close!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Caromyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We had reserved for one week starting August 3rd, 2016. We made the reservations in October of 2015. I called to confirm in late March of this year. Everything was "go." Imagine our surprise (among other things) when we arrived after traveling almost 500 miles to be told that OUR RESERVATION DIDN'T EXIST! We had a car full of luggage and beach stuff, and no place to go.
The Sand Dollar has changed ownership and our reservation was lost in the shuffle. They did not have any room to accommodate us for a full week. We could stay 3 nights, but after that we would have to move out. The front desk clerk was very nice about it, even helping us locate another hotel. During high season, we were lucky to get ANYTHING.
So be warned. If you're going to the Sand Dollar, call them or take your chances "sleeping with the fishes."

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank GogoGSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorie L, Manager at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

On behalf of the Management team at the Sand Dollar Motel, we apologize for the mistake that was made. I discussed with you in person, on the how and why that mistake was made. I assure you that this misunderstanding will NOT happen again. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to give you the best experience on your next vacation.
Lorie L
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.7 km away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
273 reviews
6.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
12.3 km away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
796 reviews
4.9 km away
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
#5 of 5 in Morehead City
91 reviews
2.2 km away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sand Dollar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sand Dollar Motel

Address: 101 Henderson Blvd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-7465
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: $65 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sand Dollar Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sand Dollar Motel is a small family owned motel.We are on the beach side with a short walk to the beach.Quiet and safe area. Mile and half to main intersection of Atlantic Beach. We have regular rooms with 1 or 2 double beds.All rooms have a small fridge and coffee maker. We also have apartments with full kitchens, separate bedroom. Great for families. We try our very best to make our guest comfortable and enjoy their stay with us. We have clean and affordable rooms with a family atmosphere. Sorry no pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your The Sand Dollar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sand Dollar Hotel Atlantic Beach
Sand Dollar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing