We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend filled with Roaches, roaches and more roaches ”
Review of Hollowell's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollowell's Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at Hollowell's motel for the past 5 years. The motel rates can't be beat but the decor is really outdated and need some TLC.

We arrived on a Friday evening to stay the weekend, got checked in put our luggage in the room and went to grab a bite to eat and buy a few some groceries.

It was after office hours when we returned to the hotel room. When I was putting away the food that is when the first roaches appeared on the counter and from behind the microwave. GROSS!! We killed what we could and decided to go to bed. There was nothing else we could do. As we were laying in bed watching TV roaches started crawling out from behind the crown molding. We killed the ones we saw. Needless to say we hardly got any sleep!

I reported it to management the next morning. He didn't appear surprised. He told us that the pest control had just sprayed the day before. I asked to please have the room sprayed again and he said he would. It still didn't make a difference, we kept seeing them everywhere.

The hotel was fully booked so we couldn't change rooms (not that I totally believed that would help because wherever there is one roach there are more and they travel). We looked elsewhere for another room but there were no vaccines anywhere close by that we could find for just one night. I should have taken pictures but didn't think about it I was just too grossed out. We won't be going back.....so sad we really used to have a great time.

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

People are super friendly. Rooms are comfortable. Clean. Quiet area. Pool is nice. Great place for the price. We stayed in an efficiency. Equipped with everything you need. Beds are comfy. Within walking distance of everything you need.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SparklingLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here after visiting their sister motel. It was clean and well maintained for an older motel. The pool was clean and refreshing after a long day. Staff was knowledgeable and freindly. For the price and location and cleanliness it would be a easy choice to stay here again in the future. Can't wait to get back.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Not a lot of extras but the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. I liked the kitchenette, it provided everything we needed for the weekend. Over all we enjoyed our stay and will stay there next time.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We've been staying at Hollowell's for years, but this will be our last. The folks who work there are super nice, as always, but the place has gone downhill. The shower in our room only dribbled water and we had to pour cups of water on each other to take a shower. We informed the office but nothing was done. The bathroom was so small that you could barely turn around. The grounds were all overgrown with weeds. The support posts for the second floor walkway are rusted out, and it looks like they could collapse at any moment. Of course, the location is great, but the diner almost on premises now closes at 4pm, which was disappointing but not the fault of Hollowell's.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SueLovesDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
0.3 km away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
273 reviews
4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
447 reviews
3 km away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
231 reviews
0.2 km away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollowell's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollowell's Motel

Address: 108 E Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5412
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing